We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd place to stay, some good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Odd place to stay, some good facilities”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hmmmm. Some stuff good, particularly facilities - spacious room, decent outdoor pool (though under filled), tennis courts, indoor pool, golf course and lovely grounds. Not so good - stained carpet with chocolate and others that could easily be remedied, pool towels tiny, expensive for type of accommodation, staff highly disinterested, breakfast at best average, and despite my call to reception mid afternoon, offensive,stinking garbage can not emptied till following morning.....clearly hadn't been emptied for some time. All in all tired and in need of some care and customer care training......certainly not remotely worth the $353 dollars for one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities, guest rooms and grounds. As with any high traffic area, stains are bound to occur. Our renovation team has been working diligently to access the condition of all carpeting throughout the facility; devising a plan to either deep clean or replace the carpeting as needed. We appreciate your feedback with regards to the pool towels and will address any opportunities for improvement at our next operations meeting. We would appreciate the opportunity to have an open dialogue with you with respect to our staff being “highly disinterested”. We kindly ask that you message us, as we would like to know which department(s) you felt lacked the appropriate amount of customer service. We are also very interested as to the location of the garbage receptacle that had not been emptied. We will be able to address these concerns more readily with this added information. We sincerely regret that you felt your stay was overpriced. We do offer several promotions that are packed with added value items like winery tours, lift tickets and in room amenities. We hope that you will visit us again and maybe take advantage of one of our exciting promotional packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    97
    56
    59
    70
See reviews for
97
103
36
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutchess County, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Had a relaxing and enjoyable getaway here.Our room was spacious and pleasant. Spa services were top-notch, and I enjoyed a facial from Tracy and a massage from Terry. Additionally, took a yoga class with Nick, so I got quite a lot for my (Travelzoo voucher) money. As has been mentioned elsewhere, the grounds are lovely and quite well-maintained. We did not experience any of the noise problems mentioned in previous reviews. We were here during the weekdays, so it was far from full to capacity, and generally quiet. We took to heart previous reviewers' dining room concerns, and found dinner in town at the outstanding Aroma Thyme Bistro, and the next day at European Deli. I would have given this review 5 stars but for the fact that the outdoor pool appears to be closed during the week. Since it was a very hot and humid couple of July days. We would have appreciated a dip in the pool.ore than that, we would have appreciated knowing that this facility would not be available when we made our reservation.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
It definitely sounds like you had a wonderfully relaxing getaway! We were glad to hear that you got a lot for your (Travelzoo voucher) money and appreciate you taking the time to share what you loved about our property. The resort’s outdoor pool is open daily throughout the summer season (weather permitting). Unfortunately, we were forced to close early several times last week due to some severe thunderstorms. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a concert at Bethel let the front desk know they never mentioned an available shuttle ;-(
Inquired about paddle boats at front desk how and where they were they sent us to lake where we were promptly informed the paddle boats need to be rented at front desk ???
Used the indoor pool, no towels available for hours
Was promised one rate them charged another rate when I questioned it with the children at the front desk they walked back and forth to booking with one word answers unable to own or resolve the problem
Will get refund through booking.com but honestly the room wasn't worth the hassle
Facility floors are not sturdy meaning when walking in the hall we stepped into multiple "sink holes" and sounded like elephants the bathroom in our room included the dreaded moldy caulk and old tub. The mattress and pillows where not great quality and no top sheet was provided on either bed.
Oh also, when I came back from concert I was one of two people asking for additional room keys and without a single question or request for ID keys were turned over ... Very disconcerting !!
Overall no stars for service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northstar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize that you were not made aware of the available shuttle service to and from Bethel Woods and that our Front Desk attendants did not provide you with accurate information with respect to the pedal boats. Please know that it is our goal to provide each of our guests with first rate service. As such, our team is working diligently to create a recreational manual that our Front Desk attendants can use as a reference tool. We anticipate the implementation of this manual to be very soon. We are also looking forward to the addition of a dedicated Concierge. Additionally, please be assured that your other concerns will be addressed at our next operations meeting. Again, we thank you for sharing your feedback with us and hope that your recent experience does not deter you from visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A beautiful hotel, spa, golf resort. The staff were amazingly helpful. We were attending a concert in Bethelwood. We had shuttle bus that drove us to and from the concert site, which was about 30 minutes away. The staff were very helpful from start to finish. Will definitely make another visit!

Room Tip: Rooms are available to look out over the golf course or on the other side the valley and mountain vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were so glad to hear that you enjoyed your getaway and were able to take advantage of the Resort’s complimentary shuttle service to and from your concert at Bethel Woods. We look forward to you returning in the near future and hope that you are able to stay more than one night, so you’ll have time to enjoy all that we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I've been coming to Stardust dance weekends at Honor's Haven Resort and Spa for several times and always had the most amazing time of my life. The venue is located in a bus/car accessable area of Ellenville. The grounds are well maintained and kept in working order. I found the staff to be welcoming, courteous and willing to help. My privacy was always respected and if I needed something it was arranged. The dinning staff did their very best to provide courteous service to over 400 people at the same time and satisfy everyone's needs andrequests. I had an opportunity to partake in numerous dance workshops, social dancing, fitness activities including Yoga, Zumba, swim pool and more. I have to take my hat off to the wonderfull hospitality staff of Stardust and everyone associated with the event. Job well done! Looking forward to the next event.

Room Tip: Selection of rooms and suites on multiple floores
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We were so pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us again! We appreciate your kind remarks about our staff, the fitness activities provided, swimming pool and grounds. We also appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It delights us to know that you have enjoyed several weekends with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurleyville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stardust has had 15 wonderful weekends at Honor's Haven Resort. We average 400 guests on each event four times a year. As in life, there are always bumps in the road along the way during a given weekend. This past weekend, the hotel and Stardust were challenged with several bumps in the road. It's easy to have a positive attitude when things are going smoothly. However, the true test is how you handle yourself when things are not going well. Unfortunately, the maitre d' and entire dining room staff walked off the job so a new leader was brought in and was given a team of new, very young, unexperienced waiters. I realized that when life squeezes you, what comes out.. Are we angry, impatient, ready to shut down? Are we going to be a victim of this circumstance? As the saying goes, life is 10% what happens to us and 90% how we respond. We can't control what happened with the previous staff, but we can control how we react to it! Kudos to all our guests! You all stepped up to the plate and showed kindness toward this new wait staff and lifted their spirits during a difficult time (this was probably their most challenging thing in their young life). Kudos to Jung Mi Lee, Eugene Carey (the new dining room manager), and Chef Walter Herrmann. You kept us positive and worked so hard. Your caring and presence never let us down. Many did not get to meet our new Maitre D' Eugene Carey because he was in the kitchen motivating the young staff and helping them to recover from feeling as if they failed us. By lunch on Sunday, yes we did go from a 2 to a 6....What a Recovery...Keep up the training as this young staff are incredible. They smiled even though they were so sad inside trying to do a job that they never did. I feel that this is the new generation that has come to the Catskills and it can only get better. These kids put everything they had into this weekend. When all of our guests came together Saturday at lunch and brought them out to the floor to celebrate their determination and wonderful attitude, you could see those million dollar smiles. It only take one person to change your life..and Stardust Guests....you did that for them!!! Thanks Jesse Atkins, the hotel room manger for your dedication during a rough time...I don't think any other hotel would have survived an ordeal like this other than the wonderful staff at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa. See you in September and November for our 100th Anniversary Weekend!

Room Tip: Overlooking the mountains and lake are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 113LInda421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It has been an honor to host your event over the last several years and we look forward to continuing a long and mutually beneficial partnership. It warmed our hearts to see your guests rally to together to offer our new dining room staff encouragement and above all the motivation to maintain a positive attitude during their first large scale event. While they experienced, as you so eloquently stated, a few bumps in the road, we are confident that this new generation of hospitality workers will be nothing less than shining stars of the industry in a short period of time. Again, we are honored to have been afforded the opportunity to host your events and look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in September and November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
188 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

First of all, the room and public areas are nice. They are dated and a bit worn, but still quite nice. The food was very good. I don't even know where to begin about the food service. I waited over an hour to even get my order taken. The waiter put the plates on the table and we had to pass them around the table. We often bussed our own tables because the staff was busy elsewhere. The waiters shouldered overfilled trays which more than occasionally dropped a meal or two. One man was hit it the head with a full dinner. Coffee was self-serve. Desserts were delivered en mass to the table and we had to divvy them up ourselves. They ran out of napkins and plates and had to resort to giving us paper products. At a cocktail party, they ran out glasses. Our drinks were served in plastic cups. A dessert table (that included cheesecake) had no serving utensils, forks, or napkins. It was hard to get a waiter's attention to ask for refills and when requests were made, they had to be repeated more than once to more than one person to get results. One waiter used the S-word when he couldn't get a coffee pot to work. Housekeeping had a few issues, too. My room was not made up when I went into it the first time. Housekeeping came quickly and redid the room and security came quickly when I said the in room safe wasn't working. The shower was nice and I loved the walk-in closet. I was there as part of a large group and had a wonderful time, despite the very frustrating food service. However, I'm not sure I'd go back on my own.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisterTiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We were so sorry to hear about the various issues encountered during your stay. We are currently in the midst of training an entirely new dining room staff and while we are confident that they will be able to provide the stellar service for which we are known, we are currently contending with a few hiccups. We hope to have these service issues resolved quickly. We were delighted to hear that you found our accommodations and other facilities enjoyable and hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ellenville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellenville
10.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
15.8 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
16.5 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor's Haven Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor's Haven Resort & Spa

Property: Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Address: 1195 Arrowhead Rd, Ellenville, NY 12428-2174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Ellenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honor's Haven Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rolling landscapes, lush gardens and a crystalline lake, Honor's Haven Resort & Spa can be found tucked away on over 200 acres in the heart of the Shawangunk Mountain Region; the gateway to the Catskills. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Honor's Haven Resort & Spa is the ideal destination; combining multi-faceted conference facilities and wedding sites with a wide range of recreational opportunities and 232 well appointed rooms and suites. Offering countless catering options, this unique four season resort will make you next vacation or event nothing short of extraordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Honor's Haven Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor`s Haven Hotel Ellenville
Honor`s Haven Resort And Spa
Honors Haven Hotel
Honors Haven Ellenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing