We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for the buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
NYC
1 review
“Best bang for the buck!”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

As one of the few remaining Catskills' hotels, Honor's Haven (formerly, Fallsview) still captures the grandeur of the past. Recent renovations have enhanced the landscape and remodeled interior to bestow a most tranquil and relaxing mood upon entering the property.
The dining room, led by Juan (manager), is elegant, neat and orderly. Food (buffet) was delicious, well-prepared and most importantly, relenished timely! The staff was courteous and professional.
Although indoor sports center showed some wear and tear, it was comfortably heated so we could enjoy tennis, volleyball and basketball.
Room accomodations were clean and amenities well stocked. Beds were comfortable.
With recession and recent changes (e.g. name, ownership, renovations, etc.), its value may be a well kept secret, but it won't be for long.........
All in all, this resort beats expectations!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    99
    59
    61
    72
See reviews for
102
103
36
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Honor Haven has no business being open for business, the entire resort is under construction with numerous saftey hazzard throughout the entire resort. This so called resort is affiliated with an intercity high school group, who took over everthing from the dining area, fitness center and created a major saftey hazzard in the swimming pool area. Please keep in mind that most of the recreational activities for children on resort grounds are not available to registered guest this includes snow tubeing chutes, rock wall, laser tag etc. This group of 100 or so high school youths were basically left unsupervised. My kids were riddled with bordem that we cut our stay early.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockQuarrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, management representative at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2010
First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel! We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. Our hotel, as you saw, is undergoing Multi-million dollar renovations and we are extremely proud of how far we have come. We realize that it can be a bit confusing and a bit inconvenient getting around the hotel due to the renovations of the main lobby, but when we are finally done it will be really amazing!

Normally the hotel offers a full compliment of activities, but the weekend you were at the hotel we had two groups, (the one you were with, and another) that both were providing their own activities for their attendees. The activities that you mention were offered by the other group in house. We have a working relationship with them and they always allow all of our guests of the hotel to partake in any of their activities. I wish you would let us know while you were here; we would have gladly spoken to the other groups’ representative to ensure you that there was no problem in participating.

We never want to read negative reviews about us, we want all of our guest to be happy when they come to visit, however, we also recognize that one person's coal is another person's diamond. Everyone will have their own opinion and taste, its just human nature. In this industry it can be challenging to please everyone, although we try hard, that's just something we cannot control. Regardless, Ownership, always insists that the environment is safe and that the staff gives 100% to provide the best service, because that, we can control.


You are very important to us, we do apologize if you felt Honor's Haven did not meet your personal expectations. We hope that give you will us another chance in the future after our renovation's are complete to make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ellenville hotels

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Service is horrible. They broke my safe and stole my money from the safe. Be careful they are big crooks. The management is horrible and did not want to help me sole this problem.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike12234243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, management representative at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit to the Honors Haven Resort & Spa. I am saddened to hear that you misplaced your money. Before people are hired at the Honors Haven they must undergo a stringent background check to make sure they have not been involved in any known criminal activity in the past. Although we realize that nothing is fool proof, we are like family and are confident that our guests are safe and secure around our staff. We have never had any incident or complaint of any theft in the time we have owned this property.
We do provide in-room safes in all of our guestrooms. These safes are not able to be access by anyone but the guest once they put in their secret number. For added security, we even have safety deposit boxes for guests use at the front desk with 24 hour accessibility. We always recommend the utilization of one of these safety deposit boxes or keeping your valuables in your possession at all times.

We take these matters very seriously. We are very confident that none of our staff were involved in any criminal behavior, We have cooperated to the fullest with the investigating officers and to this date, the allegations have been unfounded.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope to have another opportunity to be of service again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Nice Gallery of pictures BUT:
The Notice that this hotel is Under-Construction is HIDDEN in between other pages, meaning that they're not upfront about it.

Picture Galleries were a lie, only the pool was accurate, everything else is covered in plastic and wasteland-like construction sheets.

Front-desk staff were defensive, unfriendly (especially the night staff on Jan 17th) and ineffective (see below). Cleaning staff were unable to communicate in English.

SInce the Hotel was Under-Construction, we had to go through a web of elevators and hallway arrangements (take the stairs to go to the middle elevator and then go through the hallway to walk to the elevator at the end of the building down to a non-existing Lobby/Dining - says the front desk staff who kept sending us into wild goose chases and destroyed our weekend). Sent on a wild goose chase to a bar in the hotel that wasn't opened for the night (why don't they communicate with each other?? They could've just told us the bar was not opened!)

The Under-Construction Map
Both Front Desk and Cleaning Staff insisted that the Lobby/Dining Room was next to the Coffee Shop, but the MAP that was posted all around the hotel said that it was on another floor!!

Wasted 2 hours to try and figure out the hotel "facilities". Charged $33.99 (Under "Use of Facilities") for the non-existing facilities.

Huge inconvenience, unhappiness and wasted time.

Free Internet was surprisingly fast and easy to get on, after all that's happened - used it to post this review onto the web.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank consumervigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, management representative at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2010
First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel! We are sorry for the
inconvenience you experienced. Our hotel, as you saw, is undergoing
multi-million dollar renovations and we are extremely proud of how far we
have come and where we are going. As you mentioned, the pool area is
completed and really did come out spectacular, it's just a small slice of
what we are striving for and a taste of the future here. We realize that it
can be a bit confusing and a bit inconvenient getting around the hotel due
to the renovations of the main lobby. We had to make a few major changes
to accommodate our guests in an effort to make them feel comfortable during
their stay, such as temporarily relocating the dining room to lower level
near the coffee shop. It's the only way we can continue to service our
valuable customers and continue the renovations. We are putting a lot of
personal time and energy renovating this hotel and take a lot of pride in
our property. If you will choose to come back in the future, we think you
will be amazed and pleased with the results.

Ownership of the Honor's Haven Hotel is firmly committed to guest
satisfaction and our guest's experience during their stay. We pride
ourselves on customer service excellence, and demand nothing less. I am
sorry you feel like you were treated inadequately at the front desk. We take
our guests seriously so we will investigate the matter. If ever
someone feels they did not get satisfaction from a member of our staff, we
have a management team that is always available to address any issues or
concerns personally. In an effort to continually improve our
service, our staff is updated daily on the renovations that are being done
from start to completion and are given specific instructing on how to lead
our guests through the hotel the easiest and shortest way to their
destination. Prior to our guest's arrival, when an individual guest makes a
reservation our reservationists explains the extent of the renovations to
ensure that the guest is fully aware of what's happening. If a reservation
is made over the internet, we generally call the guest at the phone number
provided within 48 hours and leave a message if we are unable to speak to
the guest on our first attempt. Our objective here is very clear, to respond
accordingly to all situations that arise big or small. There are no
exceptions to this objective. Full staff evaluations are constantly being
conducted as well as continuous education and training for the management
team and staff. Anytime a guest is not satisfied for any reason it becomes
a top concern for all of us, as guest satisfaction will always be our number
one priority.

You are very important to us, we do apologize if you felt Honor's Haven did
not meet your personal expectations. We hope that give you will us another
chance in the future after our renovation's are complete to make it up to
you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Our group has came to the Honors Haven Resort & Spa atop the Catskills Mountains every Christmas weekend for the past several years. We were treated to a fine dining experience, nightly entertainment and recreational activities included swimming, vollyball, tennis, pingpong, yago, karaoke, dancing, internet cafe, movie center and so on. Rooms were comfortable complimented by their friendly service staff. They serve a variety of meals ranging from beef, chicken, lamb to name a few entrees and after our meals, we embark on a leisurely stroll admiring the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort grounds. If you have not planning any trip for this year, I strongly recomment it.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This year I got married. After the honeymoon, I went to Honor's Haven Resort with my maid of honor and my lovely bridesmaid. We, 3 girls, took a short road trip up on Christmas day. We were not expecting much from the resort since we knew it would be a quiet Christmas weekend. We arrived early and took a tour of the resort ourselves. We were very impressed by the size of the indoor pool and the secluded private jacuzzis. As soon as more guests arrived, the guests gathered together for sports activities. The staff there were very accommodating to our requests of setting up volleyball nets at the gym. The buffet style for each meal was very impressive, the staff were quick on their feet, and also accommodated my picky requests. The food itself was delicious, steak, lamb, shrimp, spaghetti & meatballs just to name a few. At night, there is karaoke and a DJ for 1 night. Everyone partied until after midnight. Checkout was very easy, with no hassle. To sum it up, it was a lot of fun, many activities planned by the resort and relaxing at the same time (since you can choose to go to the spa and jacuzzi). I strongly recommend it and would go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kchungqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2009

my exteneded familly of over 50 people just stayed in this hotel. the rooms were super clean and spacious. the staff was so acomadating and went out of their way to make sure we got anything we needed. the pool was huge and the kids enjoyed it so much. i would definitely recomend this hotel to anyone looking to get away with a mid size to large group and have all the benefits of a great hotel and the privacy of a small one! 5 star!!!!!!!!!!1

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmm1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellenville
7.9 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
10.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
287 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
149 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor's Haven Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor's Haven Resort & Spa

Property: Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Address: 1195 Arrowhead Rd, Ellenville, NY 12428-2174
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Ellenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Honor's Haven Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rolling landscapes, lush gardens and a crystalline lake, Honor's Haven Resort & Spa can be found tucked away on over 200 acres in the heart of the Shawangunk Mountain Region; the gateway to the Catskills. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Honor's Haven Resort & Spa is the ideal destination; combining multi-faceted conference facilities and wedding sites with a wide range of recreational opportunities and 232 well appointed rooms and suites. Offering countless catering options, this unique four season resort will make you next vacation or event nothing short of extraordinary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Honor's Haven Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor`s Haven Hotel Ellenville
Honor`s Haven Resort And Spa
Honors Haven Hotel
Honors Haven Ellenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing