We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the only thing good is the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Edelweiss Lodge

Edelweiss Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edelweiss Lodge
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the only thing good is the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

The place had an exhaust leak from the furnace into the bedroom. We all got very sick,. They refused to help fix anything or compensate. The bathroom sink leaked water all over the floor when used. Its a dump. Mice Traps everywhere. Good location but not worth the money. Owner was very disrespectful about our concerns with the gas fumes and degraded us. I was forced to call the gas company myself to get the situation addressed.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizard429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    19
    16
    13
See reviews for
15
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Not a good experience. Good location for ski hill and the town. Room was ok but we suffered from a blocked toilet twice. The next day the manager could not recall unblocking it and was argumentative. Staff unfriendly, would not give owner's name for us to complain to. Party in room above us until about 3.30am. I slept through it but wife/friends didn't. Very noisy, either people outside, party upstairs, or noise from hotel equipment or machinery. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garycantliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ellicottville hotels

Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

While the price of a room here is the cheapest in town ($75/night), you definately get what you pay for. The rooms are clean and the location is fantastic, but each of the last three times I've stayed here I've been frustrated at the lack of pleasantness from the owners, especially the owners wife. (I'm assuming the woman at the desk is the owners wife......anyone else who is that uncaring and blunt would be fired). When we checked in, I was actually relieved when a young girl was working the counter, but lo and behold, in the morning the woman was there. No smile, no thank you. She barely looked up from her desk to speak and I felt like I was a burden to her. The man at least smiles.

Be careful walking to the office door. While they do run a snow blower up the ramp, they don't take the snow off completely, and it's very slippery.

As for the rooms, good luck regulating the heat. One minute it's blasting hot and the next you're freezing. Expect your coffee condiment plastic to be opened.......in three stays, there's been an open one with a stir stick missing. I'm all about not wasting things, but if you're going to recycle these things, just take them out of the plastic and put them in the little basket!
The breakfast is adequate, as long as the oatmeal is cooked right. This last time, it was as thick as paste, and then cold by the time you put milk on it to loosen it up.

I could put up with all the material things, but the hospitality of the owners is just horrible. But.......if you want to save money and can deal with this kind of thing, this is the place to stay in Ellicottville.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

The Edelweiss was the only available accomodation for my cousin and I, and I would have given it a no-frills crash pad review had I not been bitten by bed bugs. Sleep here at your own risk.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oktoberfestgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We had read the reviews before we went so we were prepared for chalets that smelled mouldy, and musty and also a breakfast that was pathetic.. and it all was true. (Guess they don't read Trip Advisor in order to make upgrades based on comments) The front desk staff when we checked in seemed to not enjoy being there.. asking questions was too much work. We were in the lodge and our room was big, roomy and clean and had a fridge. Only issue was the hotel was empty other than us, we asked for a quite room.. which they did.. except they put our friends right below us.. thus we could hear them and they could hear us yet there were many empty rooms.. and we asked to move and it was too much work to just change the room number on the paper card????
Our other friends had a chalet and it was smelly and musty but was good that we had the use of kettles, microwave etc....The pool was closed due to time of year, so we don't know how nice it is? Location is Fantastic you can walk to downtown and you are driving distance to all amenities. Breakfast could have been a lot better, if they know how many are staying can't they go out and buy fresh fruit, offer more than peanut butter and jam and whole wheat bread? We would stay here again in the Lodge - because of location and now we know what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybuggyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

Wow, this place is noisy! Beginning at 6:30 a.m., we heard everyone that moved on the floor above and coming down the exterior stairs. We switched to a room in a different building, and the owner (who lives in Florida, but was contacted by the manager) charged us the rate for the more expensive room in the lodge. Oh, they did offer us a gift certificate, but we won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cftraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We made last-minute President's Day weekend reservations, and were assigned rooms in the Annex. Mid-week price of $75.00 is fair, given the simplicity of the room, cold walls and bathroom, (heater adequate but noisy), no alarm clock, no shampoo, primitive old tv with very blurry picture. But the price went up to $135.00 for the weekend, and I bristled at that price given the scene described. Breakfast was simple: cold cereal, juice, coffee/tea, toast and small bagels. Again, ok for $75 but not ok for weekend price.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobluecsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
0.9 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
15.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
14.3 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge

Property: Edelweiss Lodge
Address: 27 Jefferson St, P.O. Box 593, Ellicottville, NY 14731-9652
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edelweiss Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Edelweiss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing