We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe is not "deluxe"”
Review of Tamarack Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarack Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
cleveland, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Deluxe is not "deluxe"”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

My family and our friends love to ski Holiday Valley at least a few times each year, splurging at least one long weekend at the rustic Inn slopeside. The Inn is not a perfect place but wonderful for so many reasons. I persuaded everyone to try the new Tamarack Club this year, though it is slightly more expensive than the Inn. Imagine our surprise to find accommodations marginally two star. The "deluxe" room was not as suggested in the pictures. Small windows in each, with one of the rooms having a single pane that our friends aptly called their "dorm room." Smaller tv on small dresser and no desk at all. No hair dryer, no luggage rack, one tiny waste basket in the bathroom for the whole room. The main bed is really a small "double" that some couples will have a hard times sharing, though the pullout sofa was very comfortable. (You can also order a rollaway.) The small counterspace in the little kitchenette is completely occupied by the microwave, leaving no real counterspace to use. We had to put the coffeemaker (found under the sink) on the floor to use. (Maybe this is why the hotel offers free coffee downstairs). Forget about using the small counter in the bathroom, which is not enough for leaving more than one person's toiletries overnight. I asked management whether we were just unlucky and happened on rooms poorly furnished by an "owner" but was told all of the deluxe rooms cannot be changed. One room had a problem with poor soundproofing with the adjoining room (every room has a connector door). Also, who ever heard of a resort with checkout at 10 with no exceptions? Both the hot ubs outside are small and were packed like sardines with intoxicated people the whole Saturday evening we wanted to use them possibly since the Club lets cans and bottles of booze to be consumed inside. Seems like the place was designed and furnished and still run by investors without consulting with hotel people. Parking is very limited but we were lucky to find spaces and were happy that the Club offered free valet if we had not. Valet for the skis was also very nice, but the ski-in-ski-out is no comparison to the Inn. Maybe the other non-deluxe rooms are better, but I would never go back to a "deluxe room" again, certainly not for anywhere close to the nearly $300 per night charged. We are going back to the Inn. Holiday Valley is first class in most respects, which made this experience so surprising and disappointing. They should modify their ads, change the name of the "deluxe room" to "express room," and drop the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unsavvytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    62
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
79
38
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We got the studio room with a murphy bed, fire place, and a full kitchen. It really did feel spacious, but somethings felt unfinished.
My husband discribed the bathroom as "big but small." It had lots of floor space but small vanity and small shower. It's bare wall felt empty given the size.
The murphy bed was missing a light and just had an empty hole. The dishwasher was louldest I've ever heard. The fridge made strange noises all night. And the door frame was at least 1 1/2 inches off. Strange stuff to pick on, but the building just screams quick construction.
On the up side, there were 2 closets, one with drawers. A mop in room. The counter top was very nice. Ipod charger/cd player, DVD player, big flat screen, and a cumfy leather couch to watch it on.
The service was odd at the front desk. They didnt tell us when checkout would be, and when we asked where the waffle cabin was, she had never heard of it, and it took her 10 mins to find out its at the bottom of one of the main chair lifts.
Sergio at John Harvards is one of te best waiters we've had in a long time. :)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dessny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

The Tamarack Club is conveniently located at the base of the mountain, just steps from the kids' ski school, shops, and slopes. Your skis and poles can be checked in and out of a room on the lower level so no need to lug them up to your room. We stayed in a room with a queen bed and a sofa bed, which was used by our kids. The suite seemed to be recently built or renovated. It was not luxurious but everything was very clean. The bathroom was pretty with a granite countertop. The kitchenette included a little fridge and microwave, which was great for storing and heating our leftover pizza from a delicious dinner in Ellicottville. Our mattress was too soft for my taste, but otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelady042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I have been to Ellicottville many times and was delighted to find that Holiday Valley has opened up a new Hotel! The Tamarack Club was absolutely beautiful! We had room overlooking the mountain/golf course. The room was new, clean and the staff was very accomodating. The room came with a full kitchen, (stove, microwave, coffee maker, sink) kitchen supplies which is great for families so you don't have to eat out for every meal. We were provided a crib for my 16 month old son upon arrival. The amentites were great. The new pool area was fun for the entire family. My son played in the kiddie pool all day. There is also a play area next to the pool that kids can go to as well. My husband and family members enjoyed golfing and on the Black Diamond Course and the restaurant in the Hotel was very good as well. We also went to the spa at the hotel and it was wonderful. We have decided to go back again next year!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mitzicat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Stayed at Tamarack recently on a weekday night. Got a deluxe single. Was a bit larger than a good hotel room. Had a little kitchenette with dishes. Nice, large bathroom. Couch. LCD TV. Limited channel selection, though. Wonderfully comfortable bed - slept great. No radio reception on the first floor (I like waking up to the radio in the morning). Fantastic location. Workout room seemed nice, but didn't have the time to enjoy that. For the price paid, definitely a great deal. My fiancee enjoyed the garage parking. Two small complaints: 1) Their reservation website is horrible and 2) it could be difficult to find someone at the front desk in the evening. But it's a comfortable and beautiful new hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2010

My boyfriend and I are both snowboarders and loved everything about the Tamarack Club and Ellicottville.

First, Holiday Valley: We could not believe the convenience of the resort to the slopes, which were well groomed, especially considering the two feet of lake effect snow that came down while we were there. We were pleasantly surprised by the number and variety of trails, especially having many experiences with typical East coast ski resorts that were not nearly has impressive. We loved the various resting places around the mountain trails including warming huts, fire pits, and even a couple of different places to stop and have lunch or a snack, a warm drink or, if you're like us, a nice frosty beer. Then, at the end of the day, there was nothing better than being able to drop off our gear and go straight to the hotel room, where after a quick turnaround into bathing suits, we walked 15 feet outside and jumped in the hot tub to unwind. There is nothing more relaxing then being toasty and warm in an outdoor hot tub while snow is whirling above your head and in a view of the mountain in the distance.

Now, Ellicottville: A quaint town with several block of shops, bars and restaurants, as well as a conveniently located supermarket. The Gin Mill is an excellent place for all-you-can-eat spaghetti and meatballs on Monday nights- - but get there early. The local microbrew Ellicottville Blueberry Beer is a must have at the Gin Mill or anywhere.

Finally: There is truly something for everyone who needs a relaxing weekend (or week) away in this winter hot spot. If you do not ski, relax and enjoy a book in front of the fireplace in your room, work out in the hotel gym, enjoy the indoor or outdoor heated pool and warm up in the sauna. However, as snowboard enthusiasts, we highly recommend that you try it. Lessons are available on site.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

On our recent trip to Holiday Valley we stayed at the Tamarack Club at it was truly amazing! The resort was first class and the staff was great. There is nothing better than walking out of you room onto the slopes. When we were done for the day, we easily checked our skis (in the clubs ski check) and were soon in the two slope side outdoor hot tubs/pool. The tubs were a little small, but we never had any trouble finding a spot- a perfect day to end a hard day on the slopes.

John Harvard’s Brewery is inside the Tamarack Club and has great food and great drinks (24 drafts on tap). I have stayed at other resorts in the area such as the Inn at Holiday Valley and the Wingate Inn and for the money; I would pick Tamarack every time.

They are in the process of building two additional outdoor pools (I am told they will be open by summer) which I am looking forward to trying out this golf season.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
0.2 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
209 reviews
8.8 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
16.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
16.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Club

Property: Tamarack Club
Address: Holiday Valley Road, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Club 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Southall Travel and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarack Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Club At Holiday Valley Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing