We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room smelled like an out house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Holiday Valley
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Certificate of Excellence
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Room smelled like an out house.”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here for one night. The rooms are large and very conveniently located. They provide a nice storage facility for ski/snowboard accessories right outside the room. The beds were comfortable enough. The problem we had was the smell of the room. Right when you walked in, it hit you like a ton of bricks! It smelled like an out house in the whole room but the bathroom. How they could rent this room with good conscious is beyond me. I was visiting Niagara Falls when my husband got the room so by the time I got to the hotel, my husband and son who were in and out skiing, had already used and had the room for 5 hours. (The room number was 113. make sure you request any room but this one.) Otherwise I would have requested a new room immediately. The smell never went away. Even our friends who were staying there said our room smelled disgusting. The staff were very average, not very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbl4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnManagerHV, General Manager at Inn at Holiday Valley, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for bringing this to my attention! We will take a look to determine the source of the odor right away. We take pride in our rooms and I agree this is not the product we want to provide our guests.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you regarding your stay. I can be reached at 716-699-2345

Katie DiDonato
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    91
    25
    10
    9
See reviews for
97
48
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at Holiday Valley every year since it opened. We have always found the location, complete with ski in and ski out accommodation to be top notch. We have stayed in the 2 Queen lift view rooms facing the Sunshine chair. If you have a ground floor room, you can ski in and out but the second floor rooms have a nice view of the slopes.
The breakfast is included in your room price and lift tickets are offered to Inn guests at a reduced rate. During the Canadian March break, rooms and lift tickets are reduced further and pricing is much cheaper than skiing in Collingwood, Ontario.
The town is quaint, but food in the town eateries is pricey and we have often found service is not great. We take a double hot plate and prepared foods with us and eat in our room. Sort of like a picnic. We have had some great meals. Took a bread maker one year and while we were skiing, a came back to a fresh baked loaf of bread.
The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much to ask. There is a small bar off the lobby that makes great drinks. Hot tub and sauna are big hits with our adult kids and there is a heated pool with inside and outside access.
All in all, a really nice, location for a family vacation.

Room Tip: 2-Queens lift view and the Presidential Suite are great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnManagerHV, General Manager at Inn at Holiday Valley, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
We appreciate your continued business and your kind words. I will make sure to share your review with the staff here at the Inn. We look forward to your next vist!

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed here for a conference in September, so unfortunately my snowboard was not among my luggage.

The lobby was warm and very nice. The staff were very friendly.

I shared a room with a colleague and we both agreed it was very clean and a decent size. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had all the amenities we needed.

If I ever decide to hit the slopes in Ellicottville, I will definitely go with the Inn @ Holiday Valley as my accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed here for a wedding I was attending. The Inn was gorgeous, right by the mountain, and we had a wonderful time. There was always a nice fire going in the main lobby and we were able to play board games one night provided by the hotel. The room was a good size and the bed was comfy. The hot tub was great too! (we couldn't get the sauna working just fyi). Complimentary breakfast each morning.... absolutely recommend!

Room Tip: First floor for easy access in/out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bananon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

this hotel was very good I was totally satisfied. Some nice features complimentary ski valet the underground parking meant no dealing with the crowded lots at the holiday valley ski hill. The hotel was at the base of Holiday Valley ski hill so very easy to ski in or ski out. Very happy the pools were heated however the environmentalist in me thinks having them outside in the winter is a little bit wasteful. Book early in winter it fills up fast i lucked out someone must have cancelled I had to check back 4 times to book

Room Tip: book very early in winter it fills up fast even on weekdays
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
192 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Without a doubt an awesome place to stay. Modern spacious rooms with private balcony, numerous swimming and whirlpools, great view, gorgeous scenery. All ideally located at the very base of the ski hill and minutes away from town. Staff was friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend the Inn at Holiday Valley to everyone looking for a beautiful getaway or simply need a nights lodging on route. Excellent!

Room Tip: You can request a balcony view of the ski hill into the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyers PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Had a very nice relaxing summer time get away at the Inn at Holiday Valley, in NY. Golfing was good, and our room was perfect. Food at the John Harvards Brew House is fantastic. Return visit is on our list.

Room Tip: We liked first floor rooms made it easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonidesteelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
8.8 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Holiday Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Holiday Valley

Property: Inn at Holiday Valley
Address: 6081 Route 219 S, Ellicottville, NY 14731-9720
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Holiday Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 50 miles south of Buffalo NY the Inn at Holiday Valley is located in the middle of Holiday Valley's Double Black Diamond Championship Golf Course, and at the base of the Sunrise Chairlift offering ski in ski out access. Complimentary Winter Shuttle Service to Base Lodges available. Walking distance to the great shops and restaurants of the village of Ellicottville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Holiday Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Holiday Valley Hotel Ellicottville
Hotel At Holiday Valley
Inn Holiday Valley
Holiday Valley Ellicottville
At Holiday Valley Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing