We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, incredibly friendly owners”
Review of Black Dog Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Dog Lodge
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, incredibly friendly owners”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent a Saturday night here this July and it was absolutely fantastic. Cozy house, a little outside of town so it's nice and quiet. We were very comfortable, slept well with the windows wide open and loving the fresh air! Breakfast was fantastic and Linda and Rick made us feel like family. We're already planning to come back with friends for a ski trip!

Room Tip: Rick and Linda are fantastic hosts, and will even come into town to pick you up after dinner if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieranfromwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penfield, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Linda greeted us at the door on our arrival and took us to our room. Our room was very nice, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Linda shared some places to eat with us and we were off to explore. The next morning a family style breakfast was served where all the guest sat at a big dining room table and talked. Linda and Rick served us the most delicious breakfast...Scottish eggs (oh my!!), potatoes, and fruit. It was fun to sit around and hear where everyone was from. The grounds and gardens are gorgeous, and the two black labs Angus and Mac are sweethearts. Walking around the grounds, or sitting on the little pier by the pond, or sitting upstairs on the wrap around porch.......is great to help you be still and relax. Thank you Linda and Rick for a great home away from home B and B!!! Candy

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Thank you Linda and Rick for such a wonderful B & B. I wished we could have stayed another night to enjoy your beautiful lodge, gardens and setting. I especially enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of your B & B. The openness of the lodge and its gardens invites your guests to look around and relax. You make it look so easy and yet I know B & B ownership takes a great deal of hard work and dedication. Much appreciation!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBappreciators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Upon arrival I was shown all the rooms & could have my choice; I confess we would have been happy in any of them as they were all so adorable. We choose the Rebecca room with the most comfiest of beds. Linda & Rick are warm & welcoming: I felt like I was staying at my sister's. It was so cool to be able to roam about this lovely (& spotless) home & grounds including a sweet little hiking trail out back. Breakfast was extraordinary with our hosts tending to all their guests dietary needs/likes. I especially enjoyed the baked French Toast. We loved that coffee that kept on coming! Had a great week-end. The dog therapy was an added bonus! Thank you Linda & Rick

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We tried to get into this B&B last fall and not surprising, it was full. We were determined to get in having family who have stayed here in the past and raved about it so we came back to celebrate our anniversary. We loved this place, from the gorgeous property and gardens, to the clean and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, the friendliest hosts you could ask for, to the dogs, Mac and Angus! We had a great 2 days here! Highly recommended and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Honestly did not know what to expect. Arrived a couple hours later than I wanted to but we had to deliver our children to their overnight accommodations..aka.....Gramma's. First of all very deceiving from the outside looks very simple but nice. Once inside all I could think was WOW. Place is stunningly decorated with pictures, memorabilia and wonderfully insightful quotes. Our room was the Americana, the Bed was great as was the complimentary bottle of champagne. Linda had it in our room with glasses, strawberries chilled ready to go. A gift from her to us for our anniversary. That being said as great as the lodge was the owner really made it better. She was such a treasure I would have been happy just staying at the lodge drinking wine and talking with her. Really great place, can't say enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is the best Bed & Breakfast I've ever stayed at. The rooms are good size and clean. The house is beautiful with a large fireplace in the gathering room. Barb, the cook, was so friendly and conversational and prepared a delicious breakfast. The whole place is warm and inviting and owner Linda and her dogs are truly exceptional hosts. We plan on returning in the summer to see our new friends.

Room Tip: take a downstairs room. We stayed in the Scottish room. Great views. Right off the deck. Off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
5.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
5.9 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
209 reviews
10.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
5.1 mi away
Edelweiss Lodge
Edelweiss Lodge
#6 of 8 in Ellicottville
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dog Lodge

Property: Black Dog Lodge
Address: 7975 Rt. 219, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Black Dog Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing