We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Dog Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Dog Lodge
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The place was fantastic, great food, friendly people. I was able to work with a colleague in an amazing atmosphere with no interruptions. Was able to get lots accomplished in such a perfect environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Black Dog Lodge is an amazing place to stay!!! This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience. Linda and Rick are the most welcoming, generous, sweet and thoughtful hosts. We can't wait to go back again next year!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainsboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed in the pet friendly Dog House. LARGE suite with plenty of room for our bulldog and us. Owners couldn't be nicer and more than accomodating. Even offfered to take our dog out for a walk while we were attending our event. Less than 5 miles outside of Ellicottville, NY. Fresh baked comfort goods every day. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_Laura_Abbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast and it exceeded all of our expectations. Linda and Rick are warm and welcoming, and take much pride in their beautiful home. Everything is very clean with attention given to even the smallest details. Linda gave great recommendations on where to eat and activities to do while in Ellicottville, and her breakfasts we're out of this world - definitely not your standard continental fare! The Scottish room was nicely decorated with a sliding door leading onto the wrap around porch. We have been raving about The Black Dog Lodge since we got home, and will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolBeanMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Linda and Rick are very hospitable! You are not treated like guests, but more like family. The home is warm and inviting with attention to every detail. Breakfast was delicious and we especially enjoyed the conversation while it was being prepared. This was the best B&B experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My fiancée and I just spent the weekend here for the Ellicotville Fall Festival and had an absolutely fantastic experience. Beautiful room (The Scottish Room), beautiful lodge and great hosts. Rick and Linda treat you like family and leave you wanting for nothing. We're definitely planning on returning again sometime!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Such a great relaxing place! We cannot wait to come back. The owners are very hospitable and breakfast was delicious! It is on beautiful property! our room was so nice and they really think of all the small details!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
5.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
5.8 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
14.3 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dog Lodge

Property: Black Dog Lodge
Address: 7975 Rt. 219, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Black Dog Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing