We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, comfortable stay.”
Review of Black Dog Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Dog Lodge
Toronto, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly, comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed in the "Dog House", which is actually a self-contained apartment located in the basement of the building (which isn't so apparent from the photos). As such, it doesn't have any windows, and it smelled musty (and a dehumidifier in the corner spoke to the dampness, although to be fair the region did have torrential rain just before our stay). Those are the negatives. On the positive side the owners are incredibly friendly and the breakfast was amazing. The grounds and gardens are nice just to walk around and Linda allowed us to use the barbeque to cook - thank you! This is also about the only accommodation in the area that will allow a dog (although only in this unit, not the B&B proper). The B&B is located a short drive from Ellicottville and Holiday Valley, but this means you can be in the jacuzzi outside or walk on the forested trails right behind the house...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

My husband and i go up to new york every October to enjoy the leaves and visit the Fall Festival. We have stayed at 5 different B&B's and the Black Dog Lodge is our favorite by far! We have gone to the Black Dog 2 years in a row and probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Ellicottville area.

Rick and Linda truly make you feel at home. At some B&Bs, i have felt uncomfortable walking around the common spaces, but not at the Black Dog. You really do feel like home. The grounds are beautiful - you can walk in the woods with the 2 black labs, Mac and Maggie. The grounds are very quiet and peaceful. Rick and Linda are such fascinating and friendly people and make such great conversation. Also, her food is always interesting and delicious. You can tell she puts a lot of love into her breakfasts. She has always accommodated our vegetarian requests without having to be reminded. She has also put out snacks (cheese & crackers) and wine for the guests to enjoy in the evenings. The rooms do not have Tvs, so come prepared with a book or playing cards. We have stayed twice in the Scottish Room beacuse it has a private entrance off the deck. The first time we stayed there, their dog Maggie was waiting outside our sliding door in the morning. It was so peaceful to have my morning coffee and sit on the deck spending time with the dogs. The Scottish Room was a little on the small side, but has a cozy fireplace and is a great value.

This place is wonderful. Rick and Linda are just simply wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MabelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canda
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2009

One of the best B&B's. It was our first time staying at the Black Dog B&B. The food was great!! Great property and great owners, plus 2 beautiful dogs. I can understand why they have so many guest that return year after year.

Steve and Colleen

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveOntario_Canda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We recently stayed for the third time at the Black Dog Lodge, and I felt I must write a review. This is a beautiful property, with gracious, friendly hosts, lovely comfortable rooms and sumptuous breakfasts. This newer property was designed as a B and B and therefore rooms are well appointed each with 4 piece baths including jacuzzi tubs. (Great after a day on the slopes!) We had use of a beautiful great room with wood burning fireplace, and complimentary apres-ski liquers.

Breakfast menu included baked apples, cranberry scones, and sweet potato pancakes with maple syrup. The atmosphere at the table is leisurely, with the company of two sweet and well behaved black labs, and much conversation with the hosts, Linda and Rick, and other guests.

The property is a 7 minute drive from Ellicottville, in a gorgeous and quiet country setting on Hwy 219. One of the best B and B experiences we've enjoyed. We'll be sure to return.

  • Liked — Friendliness, room, breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing not to like!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Some say you can never go back, but we would disagree. Our second trip to the Black Dog Lodge was as good if not better than our first. This time we stayed in Beauty's Room...with a king size bed, double jacuzzi, gas fireplace and all the ambiance you could ask for. Last year we were the only guests, but this time we enjoyed visiting in the evening and morning with two other couples and a single male traveller. The breakfasts (fresh melon, home baked orange/cinnamon rolls, quiche, French toast, etc.) were so filling that we had no need or desire to stop for lunch either day. Linda is a hands on hostess who makes her guests feel like well loved family members.

  • Liked — Comfortable and friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sewmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Ny
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Our stay at Black Dog Lodge was nothing less than wonderful. Linda and Rick were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The Lodge is decorated extraordinarily better than any others - very, very tastefully done. Breakfasts were amazing and so-well presented. Yum! We enjoyed the pond, decks and the patio. We enjoyed a fire in the chimnea at night - the stars are beautiful here. We, like so many others, did not want to leave. We cannot wait to go back and bring friends. Thanks Rick and Linda - you are very special people!

  • Liked — Everything! - Mostly the peace and quiet.
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobinandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Had an AWESOME time. If you are thinking of booking some where else, don't. Great people, great property and we had a great time. The grounds are beautiful in the summer and just as depicted on the Black Dog Web site.

We emailed Linda on a Monday evening to book a room for the following night. She was more than helpful and got back to us promptly.

We were all set to stay there Tuesday night. As she doesn't live on the property but lives right next door she met us there and showed us around. Very helpful and even offered to help with our luggage but as we were traveling light there wasn't much to carry.

We had originally booked the Scottish Room but as the ceiling fan wasn't functioning as it should, Linda gave us the larger suite with the double Jacuzzi tub. We had the run of the entire house as we were the only guests that evening. It is the off season in Ellicottville as it is primarily a ski town in the winter. Pretty sleepy place in the summer but a great place to relax.

Breakfast was AWESOME! Didn't need lunch after that. Linda was kind enough to ask if there was anything that we did not want to eat for breakfast.

The towels when it came time to try out that big double Jacuzzi were large and absorbent and if we didn't have enough, there was a decorative basket in the corner of the bathroom with a bunch more folded up.

If you go there in the winter there may be ice on the property and there may be some snow for that matter. In the northern part of the U.S. that tends to happen.

We had an awesome time and this B&B is going to be a hard one to beat.

Don't hesitate to book a visit.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SlyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
5.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
10.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
5.9 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
14.3 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
21.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dog Lodge

Property: Black Dog Lodge
Address: 7975 Rt. 219, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Black Dog Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing