We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - everything great. Wish it were closer to...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    286
    74
    13
    6
See reviews for
269
316
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel has an ideal location just off the main drag and walking distance to bars, shopping, restaurants, the historic area etc. It is close to the ski resorts (under 15 mins drive.) We were in town for an event. This was the selected hotel for the group - so we did not pick to stay here ourselves. We have never been to the area before. I am not sure where we would have stayed if we had been able to chose.

We arrived prior to the published check in time and were quickly given keys to a room. The room had two double beds, small desk, working chair, reading chair/ottoman, and a small refrigerator/microwave combination. There is an iron/board and extra blanket in the closet along with a safe.

The room was clean.

There were several minor issues:

- Door did not latch each time we left. Had to ensure to pull it fully closed
- The hairdyer in the bathroom was not working properly. It had to be plugged in to turn on and unplugged to turn off. Housekeeping must have known this and not had it fixed, as we found in in the "unplugged" position at arrival.
- The hot water lever at the sink was loose.
- One of our two keys did not work.
- The toilet did not always completely flush the contents away
- The beds are soft. No firmness to them at all.
- The tub bottom is slippery. They provide a rubber mat. Use it. I typically do not uset these as I have good balance/dexterity and no mobility issues. I needed it this time as I almost fell.

The entire room was "builder's grade." This property did not spend a great deal of money on materials. The shower head, sink, toilet, tub/surround, furniture, carpeting, bedding, appliances etc. are all "as cheap as possible to look good and work okay."

On the plus side

- Location
- Very friendly staff
- Very easy check in/check out
- Very easy parking
- Room size good
- Insane amount of towels in the bathroom. You will not need more.

We had breakfast included with our event. We did not sample the included breakfast aside from coffee. The coffee was a little on the weak side. (Dina's in town has good coffee!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzureMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsherb, Assistant General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Wingate on Trip Advisor. I do appreciate you letting me know about the issues with the room. If we do not get feedback, we will not know how to improve. Thank you for pointing out that we are located within walking distance of the bar, restaurants and shops. This make our location ideal for all the festivals Ellicottville is known for. We hope to see you back at the Wingate soon!

Amanda Walsh
Assistant General Manager
Wingate by Wyndham, Ellicottville
(716) 699 6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicottville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great hotel and staff! Upgraded our room to a suite! Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Close enough to enjoy the parks, reservation, and even Niagara falls. Wish all hotels were more like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsherb, Assistant General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review of the Wingate on Trip Advisor. We strive for 100% guest satisfactions and we are so thrilled to see that we achieved this goal with your stay. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the amenities the hotel offers such as the hot buffet breakfast, indoor pool hot tub and fitness center. We hope to see you back at the Wingate real soon!


Amanda Walsh
Assistant General Manager
Wingate by Wyndham, Ellicottville
(716) 699 6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This property has it all. It looks brand new inside and out, the whole staff is first rate and you can walk to a variety of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjsherb, Assistant General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your review of the Wingate on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to post your comment so the staff knows what a great job they have been doing. Being located in the center of the Village is very ideal during the festivals Ellicottville has. Just park and go! We hope to see you back at the Wingate soon.

Amanda Walsh
Assistant General Manager
Wingate by Wyndham, Ellicottville
(716) 699 6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
1.0 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
9.4 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
15.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springville
16.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
Address: 11 Mill Street, Mill St & Washington St Intersection, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Ellicottville Hotel Ellicottville
Wingate Hotel Ellicottville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing