We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jefferson Inn of Ellicottville
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had never been to Ellicottville before and took a chance on the Jefferson Inn. We were more than happy with our stay. Room was excellent, breakfasts were scrumptious and Jean and Ellie made us feel at home. Will definitely be back again. Karen & Don

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Jefferson twice for when we ski at Holiday Valley. Can't beat the location as it is within walking distance of all the great restaurants and shops in the town. It's a 5 minute drive to the ski hill. The rooms are lovely, food is great and hospitality is fantastic. Better than staying in any hotel. Keep up the great work, and we know you work hard because it shows. We have found a diamond in Ellicottville.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank delicateflower76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

There is so much to say about the Jefferson Inn, and it is all good.
Great location, one block from the main street of Ellicottville.
A beautiful home with a warm and inviting atmosphere.
A wonderful and quiet bedroom with a comfortable bed.
You can have a coffee, tea, chocolates and cookies any time.
An absolutely great breakfast with lots of choices.

We didn’t have reservations, we just knocked and Karen answered the door.
She was very friendly and efficient.
Next morning we met the boss, Ellie and her owner, Jean.
We all had a great visit and hope to return soon.
Did I mention the cookies?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As a B&B owner myself, this was my first experience staying overnight at another B&B. This was a spur of the moment getaway without reservations. I couldn't have walked into a more welcoming and Beautiful Bed and Breakfast. From the time Karen Greeted us at the Door and gave us a guided tour of the guest area, we were made to feel special. The King Bed was comfy in the Robert Shankland room and had it's own thermostat. We sat down to a delicious morning Breakfast with the owner Jean. Everything was perfect. Thank you again, Andrea & Al. Niagara Falls Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreasbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed at small inns, but this was our first time at a true Bed and Breakfast. And what a great experience it was! The location was perfect, the Jefferson was beautiful, homey and spotless and the breakfast was superb. We were so happy with our choice from the first moment we checked in until we had to leave. The main living area in the Jefferson was furnished with beautiful antique furniture and decor and had many amenities, from a hot tub, games, magazines, a refrigerator stocked with drinks, yummy homemade cookies, and a gorgeous big front porch with rocking chairs. Our stay was just not long enough to take advantage of it all. Then there was our room. We stayed in the Mary O'Rourke, which had a fantastic sitting room with fireplace (yes we used it even though it was warm out!) a spic and span full bath with many amenities and a great bedroom with a super comfy mattress and a gorgeous quilt. The many details, as well as the friendliness of Jean and canine pal Ellie, made our trip fantastic. We were a little apprehensive about sitting at a breakfast table with people we didn't know, but we so enjoyed our conversations with those we met and loved that Jean sat with us! Thanks Jean and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Where do I begin? First of all, the minute you arrive you feel like you are home. Ellie the most wonderfully polite dog in the world requires an immediate belly rub, so instantly you have a friend. The accommodations can't be beat., perfectly suited to absolute pure comfort, grace and lovely elegance. Well needless to say we didn't want to leave, because the convenience of the location to the heart of Ellicottville, the comfort and no lack of amenities, and the exquisite culinary talents of Jean's incredibly delicious breakfasts of bacon done in the oven , crustless quiche with sundried tomatoes and basil . All I can say is OMG, Thankyou Jean U R awesome. Laura

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabirdsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay at Jefferson Inn. We booked the Garden Suite online - not realizing until after booking that breakfast was not included for those not staying in the main house (it is not made clear on the website when you book that room). We sent two emails inquiring if breakfast could be provided to us, but received no reply. We asked again when we arrived, and the woman who greeted us said she would check when the owner returned and let us know. Unfortunately, no one ever came to advise us, and we had no contact with them until we checked out the next day. Also, walls in the Garden Suite were paper thin, and a crying baby in the next suite kept us up much of the night. The presence of young families in the outside suites would have been good to know about before we booked. Other reviews made Jefferson Inn sound wonderful. Unfortunately, from our experience we cannot attest to that ... only that it has a great location for exploring the downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiker-Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean K, Owner at Jefferson Inn of Ellicottville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have different types of rooms to meet the many needs of our guests. We make every effort to be as clear as possible regarding the different types of rooms we have at The Jefferson Inn. On our website, we distinguish between bed and breakfast rooms and efficiency units by using two different tabs. The two efficiency units are suitable for families and people traveling with pets since we do not allow young children or pets to stay in the main house. This is all stated on the website and in our confirmation. These units do not include breakfast but have a small mini kitchen for guests wishing to cook. “Breakfast not included” is restated twice in our confirmation email that we send. Unfortunately you chose the efficiency unit for your stay. Staying in the main house in a bed and breakfast room would have provided you with a more traditional bed and breakfast experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicottville
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
1.1 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
216 reviews
9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Lodge
Edelweiss Lodge
#6 of 8 in Ellicottville
97 reviews
1 mi away
Tamarack Club
Tamarack Club
#3 of 5 in Ellicottville
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Inn of Ellicottville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Inn of Ellicottville

Address: 3 Jefferson St, Ellicottville, NY 14731-9652
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Price Range: £67 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 1800’s Victorian Inn located in the center of Ellicottville. Beautifully restored and furnished with antiques and reproductions. Just steps to boutiques, restaurants and spas. Five bed and breakfast rooms and two efficiency suites. Full gourmet breakfast for five B&B rooms. Two efficiency units are pet and child friendly. Full private bath in all rooms. Air conditioned bedrooms. Free wireless internet. Complementary non-alcoholic beverages and afternoon sweets. Socialize around the living room fireplace or outside on the wrap-around porch. Outdoor hot tub available year round. One mile to the slopes at Holiday Valley or Holimont. Close to Allegeny State Park, Amish country, Seneca Allegheny Casino, and several antique stores. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing