We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok if you are in need of ornaments”

The Christmas House
Ranked #1 of 3 Shopping in Elmira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You'll find favorites for not just the holidays but EVERYday in our seasonal Queen Anne Victorian Shop. Check our on-line calendar of events as we almost always have something fun going on or become our Facebook friend to know the latest and greatest!
Elmira, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's ok if you are in need of ornaments”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

So, how many ornaments do you really need? If you need ones that are for special occasions then this is the place to find them, otherwise it's not worth the time or expense. The place is very crowded and it is hard to navigate the different rooms. The Staff is very friendly but I would not go out of my way to go there. The ornaments are over priced to say the least. I have always found it to be a bit curious that this is one of the "Must See's" while in Elmira-says a lot about the place!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed361, Owner at The Christmas House, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Brooke, We were disappointed that you didn't have a better experience with us but glad that you think we're the place to go for ornaments! As you can imagine, we listen to what our customers ask for and search far and wide for those "unusual" ornaments! Yes, we sure can get crowded (especially in November and December...and especially on weekends!) If you visit again, one tip I can offer is that it seems to be a well kept secret that we are open weekday evenings in November and December so if you would give us another try, please consider that. Thanks for writing Elf Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    10
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful store with so much to see!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

So many fun and interesting things to see and buy at The Christmas House! They have a huge selection of Christmas ornaments, Department 54, crèches, etc. But they also carry decorations for other holidays, plus jewelry, scarves, gourmet food, toys, teddy bears, etc. etc.. A very fun place to shop!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed361, Owner at The Christmas House, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Betsy, thanks for the lovely review. We sure do appreciate it! We often hear the comment about how much there is to see! Some customers think we're running around behind them putting out new treasures when they discover something they didn't see the first pass through....and that's not far from the truth! LOL We always look forward to our seasonal opening each year in July when we can "wow" you with our new finds. Until then, I'm off to shop to find more goodies! Thanks for writing! Elf Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eh, it's OK”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lots of holiday items, but many are a bit overpriced. So hard to walk around inside because of a lack of space.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nimicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed361, Owner at The Christmas House, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear nimicholas. Thanks for taking the time to post but we sure are sorry to hear we aren't all that you hoped we would be. We'll agree that we sure could use more room...especially come November and December! Maybe we'll talk to Santa about that:-) We are open in July each year so I encourage you to check out our calendar of events (not online yet for 2014 though) and maybe you'll find a fun event to join us earlier in our season. Although we feature Christmas year round (HEY! "Only" 300 days til Christmas as of today:-), our everyday lineup continues to grow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shopping...”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great place for local ornaments and general christmas items, great staff, very helpful and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A Treat for Xmas ornament Collectors...and Then Some”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were unsure of what the place held but decided to visit before going on the wine trail along Seneca Lake. My wife and sister in law loved the place, plus they had Xmas village pieces going back some years, many of which were retired. Then there was every possible ornament you could think of. I even was able to find a miniature Corvette ornament (I own a Corvette). If you are a sports fan, especially the Buffalo Bills, you will love the place as they have many ornaments with sports themes. I would suggest you give this stop some time if you like this sort of thing as much as my wife and sister in law.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ronDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed361, Owner at The Christmas House, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit...and thanks for writing! We DO get stumped with some ornament requests but you're right....we carry 1000s of different things so we absolutely LOVE it when someone has a specific one they are looking for (like your Corvette) and we can have it. I'll share your nice comments with the "elves":-) Julie (Elf-In-Charge)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Christmas House also viewed

Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Christmas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing