We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Internet, no HBO, no airport shuttle”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Relax Inn Elmira

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relax Inn Elmira
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Internet, no HBO, no airport shuttle”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Woman at front desk was nice, flat screen was a pleasant surprise, and bed was ok. On the downside, I paid $30 in taxi fees to/from airport even though Orbitz ammenities list said shuttle service is provided. Also frustrated that Internet did not connect and there was no HBO as advertised.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorendi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

most important to me away from home is cleanliness and a good night sleep. the motel is old but my room had modern touches. shower could use new head and faucets. I like a little more upscale if I was travelling with the wife but overall a good value and stay for an expensive stay area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

We booked in late August for October 9th weekend and were given a confirmation for a king non-smoking room. Got there and were given a room with 2 dbl beds which had a dirty q-tip in the corner of the room and dirty carpet. Bedspreads had holes and blood stains, room was stinking of smoke (non-smoking room?!?!?), bathroom door vaneer peeling badly, bathtub cracked on topside you step over to get in, and just overall nasty!
DON'T GO THERE! The day we were leaving we saw a live roach in the bathroom!!!!! UGH!!!!!! No hair dryer, iron, or coffee. (Not "American-Owned" either!)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBaby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

I stayed here last week and wasn't sure what to expect.  It's at the end of a (now) dead end street which gave the GPS fits trying to find the place.  I recommend using Google street view before heading out so you have a grip on the area beforehand.

The manager was very nice and helpful.  The room was a little small and needed some upgrading but you could tell they were, slowly but surely, upgrading the place.  The nice things included a wide-screen HD TV, fridge, microwave, comfortable bed and pillows, windows that open, and it's fairly quiet.  There's no hair dryer or iron in the room and they don't have a breakfast room but you can pick up some coffee or tea and a breakfast sandwich by the desk and take it to your room.  There's also a picnic table and barbecue.  What needs some work?  Room fixtures like doors, windows, and electrical fixtures.  The outside needs improvement also but for the price I consider it to be a good deal.        

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe44Blow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

I think that people may have too high of expectations from this cute little motor lodge if they have complaints after saving $40 -$140 compared to the other local places.

I travel the WNY, CNY, and WPA areas and often have to sleep over since my presentations are often in the evening. This motel is exactly the same as all other motels in the price range. It was clean, smelled like motel cleaning supplies, the bed was comfortable and the wifi was good quality - something that even pricey hotels sometimes don't measure up when it comes to signal strength.

The office was clean and the clerk was very pleasant.

If you need a place to crash for a night or two this place does the trick... if you are a family staying for a week you might need more space but other than that this place works.

  • Liked — Very convenient location... near many shopping areas and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Nothing was horrible
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTemptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towanda
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

If you are used to all the hotel anemities and the upscale of a hotel, then no, this motel isn't for you. It did have phone, internet access, cable, microwave and fridge. Yes the room has an odor about it, but nothing that a bottle of febreze or runuzit or a candle can't take care of. Otherwise the room was clean and comfortable. I like the fancier ones at times too, but for this overnight trip, the room sufficed.

  • Liked — Convienient Location
  • Disliked — The odor was the only bad thing, but easy to control
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dreamchaser1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2006

I booked a room for two nights at the Relax Inn under the pretense that it was a "rare find." Who wouldn't want a nice room at a discount rate? I should have read all the reviews first.

I was appalled at the stench that greeted me at the door. It was an overwhelming blend of mold and mildew covered with ammonia. I lasted about 5 minutes in the room, but the smell lingered in my nose and lungs for the next hour. Unfortunately ,the memory will stay with me forever! I left without securing another reservation for the night(sleeping in the car was a better option) and luckily found another room at a lower rate two exits east that was neat and clean and odor free(red carpet treatment.)

Aside from the olfactory assault, the room was tidy but small and somehow depressing. It did offer the promised amenities; microwave, fridge, Internet access(helpful when looking for alternate accommodations)

If your still reading this and thinking.....maybe this is just some high maintenance woman with too much free time and this is your kind of place....consider the serious lack of security. The flimsy door had a dime store door lock, the kind easily opened with a credit card. The chain lock was attached to a flimsy piece of molding that easily detached from the wall with the tug from a small woman and replaced just as easily. I must have not been the first to try that trick. The six foot strapping man at my side felt ill at ease as well.

In two words STAY AWAY!. Don't get stuck paying any penalty by booking ahead. If you did make that mistake, discuss the issue with reception. They will accept less than a one night fee. This place is no bargain even if it was free

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank slackerhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmira
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Elmira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
Courtyard Elmira Horseheads
#6 of 11 in Horseheads
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn Elmira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn Elmira

Property: Relax Inn Elmira
Address: 45 Fisherville Rd, Elmira, NY 14903-9778
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Elmira
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relax Inn Elmira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Relax Inn Elmira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Inn Elmira Hotel Elmira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing