We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”

Harris Hill Soaring Center
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Elmira
Attraction details
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Have been coming here for years. Now sharing experience with my 15 year old daughter. Great physics and history lesson(ww2 glider training site). If you get motion sickness be ready. It was worth it but the ride up and the circular route can leave you a bit queasy. Not as bad as a boat ride on choppy water but similar.

Helpful?
Thank Rygenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Painted Post, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun for the young and old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Year in and year out, nothing beats a hot summer day/night than heading to Harris Hill. For the kids there are the 4 or 5 kiddie rides. For the mid teenagers and up there is the put putt, the driving range,mini go carts, softball and baseball batting cages. Nothing, I can honestly say, nothing up at Harris Hill is over priced. Ya kidding me just today I was up there and got a hot dog and french fries for $4.25. If your into grilling there are plenty of clean grills with picnic tables. The old swings are a huge plus. The state of the art swimming pool looks beautiful. If you have no plains durning these summer months, take the family to Harris Hill....it's well worth the trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw, ny
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Peaceful and amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Took my husband up here for a special treat for his birthday. We waited in line a bit, but he was able to soar. His ride ended early and they gave him a complimentary flight at another date, of his choice. 2 for the price of 1 - thanks for the memories! Amazing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tattoojules12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our vacation decision at Finger Lakes region is mostly based on the location of the soring center. It is a unique experience that I know my kids will really enjoy. You will need to either call or go in person at the club to secure your flight. During your wait, you can visit the nearby museum as the flight ticket includes museum ticket. Flight time is about 20 minutes but the wait time can be long. All the pilots are young but all have had many years of training. Both my daughter and myself are afraid of height but feel completely at ease in the glider. My daughter is not heavy enough (less than 110) and sits at the back seat. Everyone else was able to sit at the front seat. I would recommend going on the high performance glider for only $5 more as it has a better view. You can also ask the pilot to do some weightlessness simulation. It only lasts for a split second but is really fun!
The reason I only give a 4 star instead of a 5 is the long wait. With the four of us, it took us 2-3 hours as all the gliders (2 for visitors and several are used by club members) require the only tow plane available to tow.
It is definitely an experience you do not want to miss. Just plan plenty of time for it and start checking on the availability as soon as you get to the area. It only goes out weather permitting. You also want to bring some light snack with you as there is no food vending but has tables available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wongfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent the afternoon on Harris Hill watching the soar planes being pulled into the air. There is a great viewing area on the side of the hill with several swings and park benches. Very relaxing and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harris Hill Soaring Center also viewed

 

Been to Harris Hill Soaring Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing