We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good option in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed here many times since meeting my wife in 2007 since her family is all around the area. I joined some kind of Holiday Inn membership that gives us free breakfast at this hotel. The breakfast has to be the best at any of the local hotels. It was very windy and cold when we checked in and I was very surprised to figure out that the window was open, I wouldn't have expected the window to open on the 2nd floor. I have never used the indoor or outdoor pools so I can't comment on them. I could not hear other guests at all during the night. My only complaint was that they had so many events going on during our weekend that not only was it nearly impossible to park but I didn't get a friendly vibe at all from the people going to these events, some of which were involving radio stations. They definitely made me feel that I was inconveniencing them by trying to park at a hotel I was paying to stay at. I will say that the staff members we came across in the hallways were the friendliest I have encountered.

Room Tip: we were on the upper floor looking out over the outdoor pool- it was a quiet spot because it was win...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy31Virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to bring these points to our attention. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate all feedback we receive. Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member. Please note that we do have rates that include breakfast!!! We hope you will stay with us again when you are in Elmira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed overnight for a weekend road trip with the wife. The motel was easy to find, and a very short drive into the downtown area. Area was a bit sketchy looking, so I'm not sure if walking into/through town would have been advisable, but it was too cold for that anyway.

Upsides:

The staff were very friendly. Our first-floor room, while not huge, was clean and very comfortable. Our view of the river was obstructed by a hill, but at least we were immediately across from the indoor pool.

Downsides:

The heater was very noisy, and woke each of us, more than once, during the night. Ultimately I had to turn it off. By morning it was quite chilly.

The pool itself is nice, but don't walk around it barefoot! The painted concrete around it is full of very coarse grit. If that was supposed to make it less slippery, it fails miserably. I was slipping and sliding frequently, and piece of grit cut my toe in the process. Also, the pool doesn't open until 9am, so the best hours for an early swim before families/kids come in are unavailable.

Breakfast is available, just not a complimentary one. Not so much as coffee or juice in the lobby. They'll bring an English Muffin and a cup of coffee to your room, for $5 a head. Sorry, but for a $110/night room, I expect better. A room half that price will usually at least offer coffee & bagels.

Not a bad overnight stay, but I wouldn't want to stay for an extended time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback!! We are happy that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Elmira and we value your comments. We appreciated you bringing these matters to our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here Saturday night (2/22/14) to Sunday (2/23/14). Upon arriving I was slightly concerned because there were a lot of teenagers on the second floor of the hotel being rowdy (hotel room windows were open) and I can hear / see them from the parking lot. Walking in I was greeted by an extremely nice receptionist who recommended a great delivery place for dinner. My room was on the second floor -- I was very surprised at how clean everything was! Bathroom / tub was immaculate! When making my 2nd trip down to get my bags I saw security down the hall where the kids were rowdy! I didn't hear another peep due to security presence which I was grateful for! They had a great pub attached with an awesome live band! Another perk (although my schedule did not allow me to enjoy it!) I had the voucher for breakfast but had to leave early and couldn't use it! I will definitely stay here again! The staff was more than helpful and the rooms were spotless! I definitely recommend this hotel!
(-Miss. K.)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ootara31oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy you had a great visit. Thank you for comments regarding the staff we will make sure to share your remarks with them. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Elmira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This Elmira-Riverview Holiday Inn is a great place to stay should you be in the area. I was shocked at how nice, new, and clean the entire place was. From the bar, to the public restrooms, the restaurant, hallways, and especially our room. We stayed there as a wedding guests and although we ran into some problems prior to check in/arrival, I was pleased with the way they handled a mistake of one of their employees and they did the best they could to fix the situation. The bartenders offered me very good service, but there were a few complaints of their timeliness to get drinks. I know they were probably a little busy, but they should at least greet waiting customers to acknowledge them and let them know that they'll be right with them--otherwise guest are left standing and waiting for a drink long enough to get irritated because they're being ignored. This would only help their tip in the end. One thing I was pleased with is that although I was ordering on my husbands tab all night, the bartender (the guy) would not let me close out his tab. He would only give the card back to my husband, who was on the dance floor. It shows that the bartender was well trainer and respects the safety and security of his guests.

Room Tip: You could request a room close to the lobby--otherwise you will have stairs, elevators, and long wal...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srb248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at our hotel. We take all feedback very seriously and will review all the information and suggestions you provided. We are glad that overall you had a great stay and hope you will come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Simply put, this is best hotel in Elmira, NY, so stop looking. The staff is amazing and the rooms meet Holiday Inn standards. I was offered free breakfast during my stay for my party as a Platinum IHG member. The pool is warm and has a lifeguard. Parking lot was cleared of snow and ice. The restaurant food is great! The hotel bar has a pool table and has Karaoke on Thursday nights with dancing on Friday nights; both which attract the locals. Drink prices are actually very inexpensive. There is nothing else around this hotel except for some shady apartments, but I felt very safe. This is the only place I will stay in Elmira, NY.

Room Tip: Riverside room will be quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview. We take great pride in our customer service and we are very happy that you were able to enjoy that experience. We look forward to you staying with us again when your are in the Elmira area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times while visiting our student at Elmira College. The college is less than 5 minutes away. The hotel has always been very clean, comfortable and quiet. The rooms are fairly large with comfortable furnishings. Hotel staff is very nice and responsive to your needs. The restaurant food at the hotel is good, however on our latest stay we were informed that Holiday Inns are no longer including breakfast with your stay. Easy checkout with the bills arriving promptly under the door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased we are able to meet your needs and provide you with a positive experience. Please know we always have rates available that include breakfast, feel free to ask us about them!!! We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Elmira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We give the Yaavi Pai Lodge at the Grand Canyon first place for mattress; the Elmira NY Holiday Inn second place for the mattress but first place for the pillows. AMAZING.

The front desk staff were really nice and helpful. Our room - immaculate not even a trace of dust; bathroom was spotless. The room looked brand new. We came to visit our daughter attending college in town w/e 1/19/14. Had a great time. Easy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Tell them if you do or do not want a pet friendly room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guilderlandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are very happy you had a great stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon when you return to Elmira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmira
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elmira Horseheads
6.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 5 in Elmira
138 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview

Address: 760 E Water St, Elmira, NY 14901-3317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Elmira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Price Range: £85 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Elmira-Riverview, completely renovated in 2012. Nestled in the heart of Mark Twain Country the Finger Lakes region, you'll find this friendly, full-service hotel a convenient location that will make the most of your valuable leisure and business time. Our hotel is located just minutes away from downtown Elmira, its business district, and many local area attractions. An Excellent Business Location! The Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview is conveniently located to such fine companies as Kennedy Valve, McWane International, Elmira College, EmHart Glass, FM Howell, Airgas East, Elmira and Southport Correctional Facilities, and many others. Great for a Vacation Getaway Our hotel provides an excellent location while visiting any of Mark Twain's historical sites, the Finger Lake Wineries, the Corning Museum of Glass, Watkins Glen International Raceway, and other historical Elmira attractions. Great Amenities and Service! Our friendly and professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to our wonderful hotel. We offer a full array of full-service amenities and services such as Free Wired or Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Flat screen TVs in all of our guest rooms, Indoor swimming pool, Anthony's Restaurant and Lounge with Live Entertainment on Saturday nights. The Holiday Inn Elmira, your home away from home!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview Hotel Elmira
Elmira Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing