We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, simply hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
254 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Basic, simply hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is your basic Holiday Inn. There seems to have been a relatively recent renovation. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable for sleeping. The air conditioner was a little loud and seemed to make the room a little damp. Breakfast was pretty mediocre, but I had a coupon for $10 off so it ended up being free. The hotel is on the expensive side for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize that we feel below your standards on some of our services and amenities. Our main objective is to provide every guest with an exceptional stay and I am sorry we were unable to do that for you and we will review your comments in an effort to improve our hotel. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to host you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    88
    32
    11
    14
See reviews for
68
41
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Staying again at the Holiday Inn in Elmira, we were pleased at how dog friendly they are. There is a $25 fee (one time, covers all dogs), but it was returned to us at checkout. We had the same room, and the staff is very friendly and accomodating. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who travels with their dog. There was also a couple with a Chihauhau staying there at the same time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Elmira!!! We are so glad that you were able to have a comfortable stay with your pet!! We truly appreciate your kind words regarding the staff and will most certainly pass that on to them. We hope you will stay with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Passing through town for a funeral, we found the staff to be pleasant and the view of the river from our second floor room nice. Room was very comfortable. Their parking lot foes fill up when a conference is in session though.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to review our hotel. We do appreciate all guest feedback and comments. We are glad you enjoyed the view of the river. When passing through Elmira again we hope you will choose to stay with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyser, West Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is nice - better than the average Holiday Inn. It seems to have been updated recently, and is kept up well. The room was clean and comfortable. The beds are modern and comfortable enough, but not outstanding. The indoor pool area is roomy and has a large pool, but no hot tub. They do have an outdoor pool as well, and it might have a whirlpool near it, but it isn't in season yet. The wifi is free, but the signal was weak and speed was slow in our room, but this may depend on where the room is relative to the wireless router. For the money, it would be nice to have breakfast included - but I chose this location for the pool, knowing that breakfast was not included. I made my reservation as a member of the Holiday Inn rewards program, but apparently that didn't afford me any extra perks like it does with other chains. Overall, I would return, but I will also be on the lookout for a hotel in the area with a pool and free breakfast.

Room Tip: The hallways are long and the walk to the pool could be a long one. If you will be using the pool f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeshultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to bring these points to our attention. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate all feedback we receive. Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member. Please note that we do have rates that include breakfast!!! We hope you will stay with us again when you are in Elmira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
500 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have stayed here many times since meeting my wife in 2007 since her family is all around the area. I joined some kind of Holiday Inn membership that gives us free breakfast at this hotel. The breakfast has to be the best at any of the local hotels. It was very windy and cold when we checked in and I was very surprised to figure out that the window was open, I wouldn't have expected the window to open on the 2nd floor. I have never used the indoor or outdoor pools so I can't comment on them. I could not hear other guests at all during the night. My only complaint was that they had so many events going on during our weekend that not only was it nearly impossible to park but I didn't get a friendly vibe at all from the people going to these events, some of which were involving radio stations. They definitely made me feel that I was inconveniencing them by trying to park at a hotel I was paying to stay at. I will say that the staff members we came across in the hallways were the friendliest I have encountered.

Room Tip: we were on the upper floor looking out over the outdoor pool- it was a quiet spot because it was win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy31Virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to bring these points to our attention. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate all feedback we receive. Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member. Please note that we do have rates that include breakfast!!! We hope you will stay with us again when you are in Elmira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biglerville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed overnight for a weekend road trip with the wife. The motel was easy to find, and a very short drive into the downtown area. Area was a bit sketchy looking, so I'm not sure if walking into/through town would have been advisable, but it was too cold for that anyway.

Upsides:

The staff were very friendly. Our first-floor room, while not huge, was clean and very comfortable. Our view of the river was obstructed by a hill, but at least we were immediately across from the indoor pool.

Downsides:

The heater was very noisy, and woke each of us, more than once, during the night. Ultimately I had to turn it off. By morning it was quite chilly.

The pool itself is nice, but don't walk around it barefoot! The painted concrete around it is full of very coarse grit. If that was supposed to make it less slippery, it fails miserably. I was slipping and sliding frequently, and piece of grit cut my toe in the process. Also, the pool doesn't open until 9am, so the best hours for an early swim before families/kids come in are unavailable.

Breakfast is available, just not a complimentary one. Not so much as coffee or juice in the lobby. They'll bring an English Muffin and a cup of coffee to your room, for $5 a head. Sorry, but for a $110/night room, I expect better. A room half that price will usually at least offer coffee & bagels.

Not a bad overnight stay, but I wouldn't want to stay for an extended time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback!! We are happy that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Elmira and we value your comments. We appreciated you bringing these matters to our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurtsboro, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here Saturday night (2/22/14) to Sunday (2/23/14). Upon arriving I was slightly concerned because there were a lot of teenagers on the second floor of the hotel being rowdy (hotel room windows were open) and I can hear / see them from the parking lot. Walking in I was greeted by an extremely nice receptionist who recommended a great delivery place for dinner. My room was on the second floor -- I was very surprised at how clean everything was! Bathroom / tub was immaculate! When making my 2nd trip down to get my bags I saw security down the hall where the kids were rowdy! I didn't hear another peep due to security presence which I was grateful for! They had a great pub attached with an awesome live band! Another perk (although my schedule did not allow me to enjoy it!) I had the voucher for breakfast but had to leave early and couldn't use it! I will definitely stay here again! The staff was more than helpful and the rooms were spotless! I definitely recommend this hotel!
(-Miss. K.)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ootara31oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy you had a great visit. Thank you for comments regarding the staff we will make sure to share your remarks with them. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Elmira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmira
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elmira Corning
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
6.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Elmira
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview

Property: Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview
Address: 760 E Water St, Elmira, NY 14901-3317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Elmira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Elmira-Riverview, completely renovated in 2012. Nestled in the heart of Mark Twain Country the Finger Lakes region, you'll find this friendly, full-service hotel a convenient location that will make the most of your valuable leisure and business time. Our hotel is located just minutes away from downtown Elmira, its business district, and many local area attractions. An Excellent Business Location! The Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview is conveniently located to such fine companies as Kennedy Valve, McWane International, Elmira College, EmHart Glass, FM Howell, Airgas East, Elmira and Southport Correctional Facilities, and many others. Great for a Vacation Getaway Our hotel provides an excellent location while visiting any of Mark Twain's historical sites, the Finger Lake Wineries, the Corning Museum of Glass, Watkins Glen International Raceway, and other historical Elmira attractions. Great Amenities and Service! Our friendly and professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to our wonderful hotel. We offer a full array of full-service amenities and services such as Free Wired or Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Flat screen TVs in all of our guest rooms, Indoor swimming pool, Anthony's Restaurant and Lounge with Live Entertainment on Saturday nights. The Holiday Inn Elmira, your home away from home!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview Hotel Elmira
Elmira Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing