We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

arrived at holidayinn on july 25/2014 at around 430pm the check in went very well excellent. the room was clean and spotless.the grounds are very well maintained. we purchased the breakfast package good value for the money. re gards to the restaurant we did not wait to be seatedwe did not have to wait for a waitress. once our order was taken their was a little wait but when your on vacation whats a few minutes. visited the bar had no problem with the service.the onlycomplaint was that their was a washer and dryer across from our room their should be a specific time to do laundry not at 1130 pm at night.you could hear it from our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are very glad you had a great mini vacation!!! We take all feedback very seriously and will review your comments to improve our hotel. We are glad you choose to vacation with us and hope you will stay with us again in the future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This looked like the best place in town when I visited, and I was happy with the value I got vs. the room rate. Room was clean, linens all freshly washed. Internet worked. Check In was friendly, I arrived early and they quickly moved the housekeeping crew to my room to finish.
Bar was low end with limited liquor assortment (assume this is a 3rd party operator, I'd fire them)
Had breakfast one morning, and food was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orv m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you found our accommodations meet your needs. We are sorry that the lounge did not meet your expectations. We will review your comments and use the information to improve our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the Elmira area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here for my high school reunion and grew up in the area. This hotel is in a not so great neighborhood, but I felt safe the entire time I was there. The rooms are updated and were clean. The staff that worked the reunion were friendly and helpful. I didn't eat at the restaurant since my family was close by. My biggest complaint is the cost. So NOT worth it especially for Elmira. I know they are gearing it towards the wine country crowd, but location is not appealing if you're not doing a wine tour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HBH2336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Elmira. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the reunion party. We hope you will stay with us again when you return to the Elmira area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Rooms were very good and clean. Good value for a stay. Worst restaurant staff.
We had purchased the breakfast package while booking the room and when we got to the restaurant in the morning at around 9am and got out at around 11am. the wait to get seated was close to 30min and another 15min to take the order and 30min for the order to be served. The staff working in the restaurant were extremely haphazard and had no value for people's time. The waitress would take the order of 4-5 tables at once and quite obviously brought us the wrong order. When we asked for a coffee refill, it took 15min and a 2nd waitress to get it. Although it was a holiday weekend, the restaurant was barely half full and not many tables were taken. So, that doesn't explain the delay and inefficiency of service. But the bright side was, the food was quite good. So, if time is of essence, skip the $10 for $20 breakfast value package and eat else where.
I would stay in this hotel again, just not go to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rak_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we take all feedback very seriously. We are very sorry you encountered some issues with the restaurant, we have reviewed your comments and will use the information to improve our hotel for future guest. We are happy you will stay with us again and hopefully give our restaurant another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Upon arrival, we found that the only "pet-friendly" rooms they offer have two double beds. Our room was in an older building and smelled very musty,damp and mildewed. It appeared to come from the air-conditioner, even though it was off when we walked in. The humidity in the room was so high that when we payed down the sheets actually felt wet! The night desk clerk warned us that "we ARE the only pet friendly hotel in the area", as if to say take it or leave it. Next morning the front desk clerk was apologetic and offered to move us to the other pet friendly room, so we thought we'd try it. We entered that room and smelled the same mildew along with cat urine, so we checked out. We moved to the Candlewood Inn in Horseheads where they DO accept pets and also offer king suites in beautiful updated rooms for the SAME price.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. We do take all customer feedback very seriously and will definitely review your comments to help us serve our guests better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was recently part of a wedding party, and we booked the lounge for our rehearsal dinner and we're told it was okay to bring outside food. When we got there the bartender rudely told us that we couldn't, after it was already okayed, and that we would have to move. We we're put in this tiny meeting room, not a very nice place to have dinner. The next day on the date of their wedding we booked the same lounge for the afterparty, and some kids around 20 years old we're rudely told by the same idiot bartender that they could not play pool of they were not 21. That is just ridiculous. There is no law that says that, and playing pool is not going to get someone drunk. Then he talked to his manager and she said that they could play. This male bartender obviously wanted to upset the whole wedding party and bride and groom. He caused nothing but problems. The floors were sticky and unclean. Lastly, the man was IDing everyone who wanted to buy alcoholic drinks, and took the brides (27 years old) parents word that she was of age because she forgot her ID. Yet, the man was SO RUDE about taking the grooms Parents word (he forgot his ID too) that he was 21 and WOULD NOT SERVE HIM. The groom is 26 and he would take the brides parents word and not the grooms. I'm sorry but that is so rude and contradictive. The man caused problems and the hotel service was not nice, and upset the bride and groom. They want you to pay money to get a continental breakfast. I would rather go somewhere else and get breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindscolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are very sorry your experience was less than satisfactory. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we take all customer comments very seriously. We will be following up on your comments which are very valuable to us and will help assist us in our constant efforts to improve our service.
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a terrific experience at this hotel! The entire staff was so pleasant, helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the pool was wonderful! The only complaint I have is that a double sink in the bathroom would be nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at the Holiday Inn Elmira. I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff and will definitely share them with the staff. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again soon!!!! Thank you for staying with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmira
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elmira Horseheads
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Elmira/Horseheads
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Elmira
141 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
13.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview

Address: 760 E Water St, Elmira, NY 14901-3317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Elmira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Elmira
Price Range: £65 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Elmira-Riverview, completely renovated in 2012. Nestled in the heart of Mark Twain Country the Finger Lakes region, you'll find this friendly, full-service hotel a convenient location that will make the most of your valuable leisure and business time. Our hotel is located just minutes away from downtown Elmira, its business district, and many local area attractions. An Excellent Business Location! The Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview is conveniently located to such fine companies as Kennedy Valve, McWane International, Elmira College, EmHart Glass, FM Howell, Airgas East, Elmira and Southport Correctional Facilities, and many others. Great for a Vacation Getaway Our hotel provides an excellent location while visiting any of Mark Twain's historical sites, the Finger Lake Wineries, the Corning Museum of Glass, Watkins Glen International Raceway, and other historical Elmira attractions. Great Amenities and Service! Our friendly and professional staff looks forward to welcoming you to our wonderful hotel. We offer a full array of full-service amenities and services such as Free Wired or Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Flat screen TVs in all of our guest rooms, Indoor swimming pool, Anthony's Restaurant and Lounge with Live Entertainment on Saturday nights. The Holiday Inn Elmira, your home away from home!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elmira Riverview Hotel Elmira
Elmira Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing