We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Affordable Somewhat Basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites White Plains - Elmsford
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elmsford
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Affordable Somewhat Basic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I had family member in the ICU at Wester County Medical Center so I needed a cheap place to stay for a night, and La Quinta Inn & Suites certainly fit the bill.

Check in, although I did not have reservation in advance, was a breeze. AAA rate for the night after state and county taxes was $115.36.

The main lobby was very nice, had a 4 chair w/table set up. It also had a 1 computer business station to be used by guests. Also in the lobby are was a long L-shaped shelf which housed the continental breakfast. The breakfast consisted of juices, cereal, assorted bagels, and french toast. Besides the lobby there was a nice seating area with lots of windows to let the light in.

The hotel also had a indoor pool and fitness center.

I had Room 223. It was a typical basic room. I got the king sized bed, and I have to say it was very comfortable, with 5 square pillows for sleeping. The bed did come with a sign that allows for either daily sheet changes, or sheets changed every 3 days.

The room has a 37 inch LCD TV, with about 25 channels to choose from, and the TV had a neat feature, which was something like a screensaver for TV. I had ocean waves coming onto shore. Other choices included a fireplace or a creek flowing.

The room also had a basic work desk with a power point and slots for old style telephone cord computer hook-ups. There was also the old basic chair/ottoman. There was also a cabinet that housed a refrigerator and microwave. The closet included a iron and ironing board. The carpet was just satisfactory, I found what looked like a fruit punch stain, and some old stuck gum on the floor. The room had a wall mounted heating/air conditioning unit, which kept me nice and toasty, but was a little on the load side when it was running.

The bathroom was the typical toilet, bathtub, sink area. The sink area included the bucket for the ice, and cups, and also the small tea/coffee maker. There was also a hairdryer mounted to the wall, and had to reset plug fuse to get it to work. The bathtub has curtain rods that bowed out. I found the water pressure to be nice, with a choice of 3 water flows, regular, high pressure, and massage. There was no shortage of hot water. Only beef was that there was a stain in the tub where it looks like one of those rubber mats once stood.

The room didn't have a safe in it.

Around the corner from my room in the hall was a soda machine, with sodas only $2.00. Next to the soda machine was another vending machine that had item to buy if you forgot them. The most expensive thing in that vending machine was $6.00 for pantyhose, but, most items were $2.00 or less.

I should also mention that the hotel does not have a restaurant, but there are plenty of eateries within a mile of hotel on either side, and the front desk says there are plenty of places that will deliver right to your room.

Had the strangest checkout, I swear a housekeeper checked me out.

Overall, if you want a clean affordable room, then La Quinta Elmsford is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    78
    98
    53
    39
See reviews for
124
53
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

a very basic hotel..good price and location. Was surprised upon entering the newly refurbished reception area...but that is where they spent the last money. The room are located at the rear of the hotel and are dirty, old and drab.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elmsford hotels

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here for one night, as my son was interviewing at the New York Medical College. The proximity was perfect, it took all of 2 minutes to drive over to the school.

Check in was fast, the desk clerk was very friendly. Got our key and went up to the room which was on the third floor, and immediately smelled smoke. I guess the second floor allows smoking, but you know how that goes, smoke drifts everywhere!

The carpet in the room was quite stained, and the television looked like something from the 80's!! It was huge, and the sound wasn't working properly. The volume was either soft, or too loud!

The bedding looked sparkling clean though, super white crisp sheets and duvet cover. The pillows had no bad odors, thankfully!

The breakfast was fine, coffee is offered from 6:30 on, and was good, (would prefer something better then styrofoam cups!!). The belgium waffles were very good, also offered was cereal, hard cooked eggs, toast, bagels and juice. Not bad, and it was very clean in the breakfast area.

I guess for the money it was worth it, but I think all hotels should be non-smoking, unless there is a completely seperate wing.

Room Tip: I believe smoking is allowed on the second floor, so I would request the first floor if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank party-of-5-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed here for one night and id rather sleep In my car before I stepped foot in that place again. Staff was awful room slept terrible and it was dirty as poopt. I will never stay there ever again. I have stayed in numerous hotels and this is by far the worst. If you want to stay in a place that is dirty smelly and loud stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyd5643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We needed a place close to the Westchester County Medical Center for several family members during Thanksgiving week. The hotel did a great job in meeting our changing needs because of the fluid medical situation. The property is "tired" and in need of renovation. However, we were well taken care of by the day and night front desk managers, Beverly and Norman, and housekeeping met all of our requests. The hotel was reasonable priced. Our rooms were quiet, large by comparison to newer hotels, and we found the beds comfortable. The rooms, although dingy in appearance, were clean. They also supplied a fridge, coffee maker & microwave although minimum bathroom amenities were provided ( a very small bottle of shampoo & bar soap). The continental breakfast is not on par with other large chain hotels and until this meal, I did not know you could get a bad bagel in NY - to my surprise La Quinta pulled it off. We used the indoor pool for the kids who were too young to be allowed to see their grandfather at the hospital. It was clean and a pleasant place for them to enjoy. Because of its location I cannot see any reason, other than business or medical needs, for someone to stay at this hotel. There are no services within walking distance. But, If I was required to stay in this area again, I would not hesitate to stay at this La Quinta.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmsford
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Hawthorne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - White Plains - Elmsford
2.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites White Plains - Elmsford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites White Plains - Elmsford

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites White Plains - Elmsford
Address: 540 Saw Mill River Rd, Elmsford, NY 10523-1023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Elmsford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites White Plains - Elmsford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites White Plains - Elmsford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elmsford Hotel Elmsford
La Quinta Inn And Suites Elmsford
La Quinta Elmsford
Elmsford La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites White Plains - Elmsford New York - Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing