We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large park with beaches and pond”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fair Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fair Haven State Park Campground
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Large park with beaches and pond”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights here in the beginning of July. As usual with campgrounds, you never know who your neighbors will be, and we weren't lucky in this instance. Across from us for the first night were a family with a dog that did a lot of barking. The other three nights we dealt with a partying congregation of about 15 people and about three vehicles...obviously the park staff weren't checking the two-vehicle, 8 person limit...
When we checked in, the young lady couldn't help us with any of our questions, saying "I don't usually work here." Nice.

We were in the bluff area, but if you want a lake view, you'll have to be on the strip of sites beside the lake; very nice view and more quiet due to less neighbors.

The playground is very nice. You have to drive to the beach or take a long walk, about 2 km from our site. The beach itself is nice, but the roped-off area is too small and too shallow. The lifeguards were a bit too vigilant if that's possible...they used a bullhorn to say "no masks underwater!". Talk about paranoia!!! You can basically wade in the "swimming" area and there's no swimming outside of that area. If you want to swim "without supervision" you'll have to go to a neighboring county beach or even Sandbanks National Park in Ontario which has amazing beaches.

This park is nice, especially if you have very young children. But like a box of chocolates, you never know what you're gonna get insofar as neighbors are concerned...I didn't notice any park staff patrolling the grounds to ensure that camp rules are respected. That's really a shame since so many parks have great rules but so many don't enforce them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Spent 2 nights at lake view site. Was clean and quiet. Had to walk to the showers but not a big deal. The water was very hot, though. Bathrooms were always clean with ample supplies. Beach was clean as were the bath houses in that location. Ice cream stand had good food and value for the dollar. There was alot of poison ivy noted, though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura6446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Been there to camp in a popup. This time we went to the cabins. Had a nice cabin in an isolated area on the bluff. There are only two cabins on the bluff, rest are normal sites. The rest of the cabin colony is down by the pond and most there have to share a bath house. Ours (# 35 and also # 34) have water and kitchen areas. I attached pix of the two cabins on the bluff. Ours had 3 bedrooms and the other had 2. Lots of hiking, trails, boat rental, beaches, bluffs and long break wall to walk on. Diving area in the channel also. Concession stands and camp store on site. 1 - 2 miles from village of Fair Haven if you get bored or forgot something.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deckboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterport, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The park itself is beautiful for the two days we were there it was great boating and beach going. Bathrooms were clean and the beach facilities were nice.

We got the $50/night cabin number 14. However there were no reviews on this at all. it was unfortunate because it was Very Dirty and not very well maintained.

Wish we had stayed in a tent instead.

had riped screens that were replaced with cardboard. Roof leaked when it rained and bugs ate us alive while we tried to sleep at night.

I had every intention of taking a picture for the review however we were so disgusted i forgot all about it.

We booked for a week but only stayed one night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank NY-travalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Haven
16.4 mi away
K&G Lodge
K&G Lodge
#5 of 10 in Oswego
72 reviews
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast
16.7 mi away
All Seasons Inn
All Seasons Inn
#6 of 10 in Oswego
90 reviews
12.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Haven State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Haven State Park Campground

Property: Fair Haven State Park Campground
Address: 14985 State Park Road, Fair Haven, NY 13064
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Fair Haven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Fair Haven
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Fair Haven State Park Campground Hotel Fair Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing