We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't sit outside and expect good service!”

Mulconry's Irish Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 99 Restaurants in Fairport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't sit outside and expect good service!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I met a friend here after work and we wanted to sit outside and enjoy the sun. We got our first drink at the bar and took it outside. When we wanted to order food, we were told at first that you couldn't get appetizers outside (makes no sense to me - food is food!). Out waitress said she would try and we also ordered another drink. After 10 minutes, I got my drink, but the waitress couldn't read her writing for my friend's drink, so another 10 minutes went by. When we got our food (after a lengthy wait), we asked for silverware and napkins. Apparently, this was also a no-no if you are outside, as we never got either. Also, the quesadilla we ordered came without the chicken, so we had to have the bill adjusted. Next time, we will just go for drinks and eat someplace else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WineDivaRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but LONG wait!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We waited over 2 hours for our food. It was DELICIOUS food, but we were so hungry when it came. There was only 1 other table of people, so I don't know what the deal was. The Shepard's pie was incredible, but be prepared to wait for drinks and food!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ahuffman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, New York
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Mulconry's is a very nice Irish pub. The food is always good and a good portion size. The staff is attentive, but not overbearing. They offer all the typical pub fair as well as some Irish specialties.
they have a decent wine list and of course a full selection of great beers by the tap. The location is nice as after dinner we took a stroll along the canal. It is worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place to go to drink beer, but it's not Ireland!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I can't recommend Mulconry's for an authentic Irish pub experience. The food is American food with Irish names thrown in. The decor in the pub is lovely and Irish, but the music was American, loud and very difficult to converse with our fellow diners. The waitress had little experience and didn't get our drinks or dinner choices correct or our bills for that matter. She was also not taught the importance of understanding food allergies and communicating this to the cook staff. It was not worth the drive there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Irish Pub on the Canal”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived for dinner and were pleasantly seated immediately. Food was excellent, large portions and inexpensive. Menu had great variety, including a giant plate of Shepherd's Pie! Fish Fry any day of the week (that is good to know!). Large brew menu. This looks like a locals place and could get loud at night.. so having the bar separated from the dining area is great planning. Very nice dining experience. Attentive server, with excellent timing. Although we ate indoors, there is an outside eating area WITH a fireplace for those cooler evenings!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank platelet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mulconry's Irish Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 
Fairport, Finger Lakes
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mulconry's Irish Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing