We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Falling in Food Quality”

Golden Phoenix Chinese
Ranked #35 of 99 Restaurants in Fairport
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sadly Falling in Food Quality”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have frequently patronized this restaurant for over ten years. Within the past six months I have purchased two take-out meals of poor quality. I often order Chicken with Cashew Nuts. Several months ago, the order came with very dry and tasteless chicken which was far over done and appeared old. I attributed the poor quality to someone in the kitchen perhaps having a bad day. Sadly, a few days ago, the take-out Chicken Cashew was even worse. Old, dried out, hard to chew chicken, approximately 6 cashews, and so little sauce that the meal was flavorless. Egg rolls were also dried out and flavorless. A very disappointing meal. Something has changed for the worse. I hope they fix it. This restaurant has now slipped, sadly, in my rating to a 2.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get it to go, or delivered, and watch your step.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lots of choices on the menu, but atmosphere is lacking, huge step at the top of the stairs to enter the restaurant, have seen people fall on their face, very dangerous, be careful. Just not a place I can strongly recommend based on the atmosphere, décor, and very small restaurant. But the food is pretty good, tastes even better when you are eating it at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fishfrylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food as usual!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has excellent service and great food any time we have gone. We came on a Saturday night and enjoyed great food and fast service once again :-)

Helpful?
Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
384 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Spicy as ordered!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Met some freiends for a quick casual meal and were not disappointed. The service was prompt and friendly, and all our dishes came as ordered. I particularly like my Chinese food spicy, and the chef prepared it perfectly. Our water glasses were kept filled, and our waiter kept a close eye on us. Definitely a "must eat" when in Fairport!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiffBiffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese, Vegetarian, Gluten Free - allow extra time to read the menu!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Most places that try to do too much, excel at a few and fail at the rest. NOT SO with Golden Phoenix. We've yet to have a bad selection, including appetizers. And we've brought our vegetarian and "hot and spicy" friends along and they're all amazed at the selections!

Place has nice decor and extra special wait staff...definitely a winner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank db_victorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Phoenix Chinese also viewed

Fairport, Finger Lakes
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 
Fairport, Finger Lakes
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Golden Phoenix Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing