We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try The Lobster Mac n' Cheese”

McArdle's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in Fairport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub
Description: Welcome to McArdle’s Restaurant. We are a family owned and operated restaurant located just outside the village of Fairport near the Erie Canal. The attention to detail, quality and superior service makes McArdle’s a locals’ favorite. As you enter McArdle’s the first thing you will notice is the warm interior woodwork and the high backed wood booths crafted from hand selected pieces of white ash. These private booths provide the perfect setting for an intimate date night or family night out.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to McArdle’s Restaurant. We are a family owned and operated restaurant located just outside the village of Fairport near the Erie Canal. The attention to detail, quality and superior service makes McArdle’s a locals’ favorite. As you enter McArdle’s the first thing you will notice is the warm interior woodwork and the high backed wood booths crafted from hand selected pieces of white ash. These private booths provide the perfect setting for an intimate date night or family night out.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Try The Lobster Mac n' Cheese”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had just flown into Rochester from Florida; my Brother and Sister-in-law picked us up at the hotel for dinner. They recommended McArdles and we were not disappointed. It was a bit of a drive but well worth it. Property has been maintained to a high level; very clean. Service was friendly and prompt. Everyone ordered something different, chicken, beef, pasta and the best was lobster man n' cheese. We all got a taste of that dish and wish we had ordered it ourselves. All and all a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ready_For_Sun10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Local restaurant & Bar with a friendly atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Most of my reviews are of far off exotic places. I spend about ¼ of my life on the road outside of the USA in places most people will never visit. Today I will review a local bar and restaurant that my wife and I choose to visit over many others. McArdles is one of our favorite places to enjoy a beer and some dinner when our day at work was just a little too much and cooking dinner at home doesn't exactly float our boat. Yes, they have very good burgers and sandwiches. They also serve a delicious lobster bisque and a variety of other soups and starters. Rochester is home of Rohrbach’s Scotch Ale; on tap at McAdles…….which if you haven’t tried it……….is totally delicious. They offer a pint or the larger 24oz? They also offer a McArdles ale which is brewed down the block at Fairport Brewing. The owner John, is almost always onsite and walks the floor talking to patrons. He works hard to offer patrons a variety of choices. Some nights have special offerings such as Pasta or steak night……….other extras include donating 5% of your check to the local animal shelter on Wednesday evenings. Some of their more upscale specialties include Chicken or Haddock French which are just wonderful.
Tonight our waitress was Samantha, she was nothing less than friendly & helpful……and right there whenever we needed something. She also helped my wife choose between two different vegetarian dishes.
So if you are looking for a relaxing, friendly place to eat, McAdles is your place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Not the best food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

May have been a bad day for the kitchen but we found the food only mediocre. The exception was my wife's wedge salad which was very good. I had the lobster bisque which was too thick and chunk to be called bisque and was mostly missing lobster. The roast beef samndwich was covered with luke-warm gravy which makes it not very appetizing. Service was OK, but there won't be a return visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service and a Fun Place to Eat”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This is another charming place to go for food and spirits. The menu is full of delicious items. I have eaten here several times and haven't been disappointed yet. It's worth the short trip.

Helpful?
Thank Lcswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lousy Fish Fry”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We have had many fish fry dinners at Mc Ardles over the years. Both in house and takeout. Seems like they have a new supplier. Fish fry we ordered was shaped like a triangle! Did not look or taste like freshly cooked haddock. Breading was heavy. Seemed like it was straight off the Sysco truck.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McArdle's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McArdle's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing