We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service, ok atmosphere”

Durf's Family Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 99 Restaurants in Fairport
Restaurant details
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, ok atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Durf's a great place to catch breakfast of lunch. It is a hole-in-the-way atmosphere but the service is good and it is definitely a family-friendly restaurant. Breakfast are very good. They have a daily special board and I recommend looking along with the menu. They board features some outrageous pancakes worth trying.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AC585ROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A classic diner”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you have a breakfast favorite in mind Durf's probably has it on the menu. It is a place where you are sure to find the locals having 'the usual' anytime they are open. Nothing fancy, but for a good stick your ribs plate of eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc - you are going to like it here. The service is fast and the coffee is good. The prices are also a welcome treat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppipub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Old, decent food, decent prices, nothing special”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Recently had breakfast at Durf's. I've lived in the area for many years and never tried it. Well, I probably won't go back. It's a diner, serving breakfast, and I don't know if they serve lunch and/or dinner. It's small, beat up, run down, but the food was very good. They offer typical diner breakfast choices along with some specials. Prices were about what I expected. Service was good. There was a line waiting to get in on the Sunday morning I was there. Coffee is available to those who are waiting in line - which is a good idea. For me, I find other places nearby that also offer good food, good prices, but a much nicer environment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B_in_Penfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good Food,Good Prices”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Durf's can be a little hard to find. I had breakfast there and there was quite a selection of regular menu items and specials. The waitstaff was very accommodating and patient with 3 young kids. Their prices are very reasonable. It is a great, homey feeling place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Picked Up From A Small Town In Alaska & Dropped in Fairport”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Maybe it's just because I was in Alaska this summer, or maybe it's all the hunting and fishing photos and mounts on the walls - Durf's feels like a hometown restaurant in Alaska. But forget the decor for a minute - Durf's makes a better breakfast than you'll get at most five-star hotels. There are eggs and omelets cooked to perfection, creative pancake combinations, and toasted homemade bread with homemade jam which could be a breakfast by itself. I love the self-serve coffee, or the waitresses will serve your coffee if you prefer. Durf's is open only for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durf's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Durf's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing