We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, needs some management focus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairport
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice property, needs some management focus”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I feel bad leaving this place a "3" because it has a lot of good points. The public areas are nice, if a little bland. Guest rooms are nice, large and comfortable. Food service that I had (catered brunch, plus their breakfast buffet) were definitely B+ or A-. The staff was for the most part nice, but . . . I really can't make sense of the place. It bills itself as a spa but there is precious little catering to the guest or even an awareness of hospitality industry basics (N.B. - pls. see my other reviews; I am not looking for a whole lot of bowing and scraping when I travel). It's location is odd - sort of in an office park, but not terrible (it's hilly and there are nice views from the rooms). But . . . I can't understand why it's here in sort of generic suburbia, and what it is really supposed to be . . . It can't be a destination property.

Some of the problems, in order of importance:

(1) I chose this hotel partially because it boasted a nice pool. I wanted to go for a swim at 8:00 a.m. on a Saturday before my day began. No dice. Spa manager told me that I couldn't swim without a lifeguard and they didn't have one coming in before 10 a.m. Maybe the state regs are true:

https://www.health.ny.gov/regulations/nycrr/title_10/part_6/subpart_6-1.htm

but - it's a freakin' spa - no swimming until 10:00 a.m. ? By that time I was well on my way. Pool actually kind of small with a dated deck and furniture; somewhat less good than the literature.

(2) This time of year hotel seems like a wedding factory. No significant impact except it's 11:23 p.m. and I was told the DJ blasting out the hotel "might stop" in 20 minutes. Great. I am thinking this place's identity might be all about the weddings b/c there are several large suites here.

(3) Lobby Starbucks not so professional. They are only open until 10 each day (wouldn't have guessed this). When I showed up at 10:04 - no dice.

(4) When I arrived rather late (1:00 p.m.)l place was sort of dark, no one to help me with luggage, parking (not sure if this is a legit gripe).

Frankly, not sure if any of the gripes are that big a deal - you decide. Since starting this review, I've upped them to 4 stars, b/c I felt guilty that I am being "petty."

Anyway, I need to travel tomorrow, it's 11:31 and the music is still blaring. But don't really feel like raining on someone's wedding. Why do places put you in a bind like this?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanks_in_Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    134
    49
    18
    21
See reviews for
152
159
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent one night here on our way to Niagra Falls. I cannot say enough good things about the accomodations and staff. We got off to a bumpy start but the staff remedied the situation and we could not have been happier. We played at the golf course and really enjoyed it. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was absolutely delicious and the staff in the restaurant was well above average. We actually returned on our way back home and met some old friends in the hotel restaurant for their amazing brunch. Delicious! My husband and I are trying to find a reason to head back up there for another stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Beachlover0803,
Thank you for sharing your most recent experience on Tripadvisor.com and especially for the 5 STAR review! It is great to hear how much you enjoyed Horizons Restaurant. The Woodcliff is proud to announce the addition of Executive Chef Matthew Laurence. Chef Laurence has revitalized and updated Lunch and Dinner Menu's which created new and exciting offerings. I have also shared your wonderful comments in regards to our Staff with the team. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was there for my niece's wedding and the hotel did a wonderful job. The location was absolutely beautiful, the food was outstanding and the all of the staff were wonderful. Our room was great as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aficarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear aficarro,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor Review and especially for the 5 Star Rating! It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your nieces wedding. The Woodcliff's Amenities as well as location provide for remarkable weddings and ceremonies. The Woodcliff is located at the highest point in Monroe County and therefore has astonishing views. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencerport
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed there last night with my sisters and cousins to celebrate a 59th birthday. Got the "Spajama" package which included 2 spa treatments, chocolate covered strawberries in the room and great pizza delivered to the room. The pool was awesome - the room was beautiful and the staff bent over backwards to please us! Great music in the bar and reasonable drink prices! A top notch hotel! Very classy! Many celebrities stay there while in rochester which says a lot for the place ! We loved it and plan to go back again !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorellen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Lorellen1957,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. I am so glad to hear that your experience on our Spa Jama Package was extremely memorable. The indoor and outdoor pool is one of the highlights throughout the summer months at the Woodcliff as well as the nightly entertainment in Horizons Lounge. We pride ourselves on the sincerity and welcoming presence of our staff so I assure you your comments have been shared with the team! We look forward to future visits and thanks again for the 5 Star Review.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in February 2014 and another week June 2014. Both times were work trips, but Woodcliff made being away from home a little easier. Great place to stay if you like clean rooms, awesome amenities, and an extremely friendly staff that goes above and beyond. This place has an excellent gym (for a hotel) and a great spa with pool and sauna. The food at the downstairs bar is really delicious and very affordable compared to other hotel restaurants.

Great people, great location, beautiful views. I'm generally a huge complainer, but I have nothing negative to say about this place. Woodcliff is a really nice resort any time of year. If I ever come back to Rochester again, I'm staying at the Woodcliff.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back of the hotel. Beautiful views from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRulsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear JRulsky,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to provide a "Home Away from Home" for you. I am especially delighted to hear that you were able to utilize our many amenities that we have on property from the Pool and Sauna to Horizons Lounge. We hope to see you again in the near future and greatly appreciate the 5 Star Review.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Outstanding facility, with staff that couldn't have been more accommodating. The room was outstanding and spotless. All sorts of amenities and looked brand new. I lived nearby when this was first built around 25 years ago, and then stayed regularly on business for several years. If anything, it is better than it ever was and must have been recently renewed and remodeled. Nice health club, with good equipment and pool. Golf course is a part of resort and fine restaurants nearby. Huge Eastview Mall is within sight. If you want to see the best food store in the country, go to Wegman's at nearby Pittsford Plaza. Almost couldn't get my wife to leave. Outstanding experience and stay. Highly pleased. We travel frequently and this was one of the best experience in ages.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Dick C,
Thank you so much for your 5 Star Tripadvisor Review. I would like to start by thanking you for the wonderful comments in regards to the attentiveness and service from our staff. It sounds like you and your wife were able to enjoy our prime location which is just minutes from Eastview Mall and in close proximity to local restaurants. In regards to our guest rooms and property we have undergone a complete renovation within the last year so the entire hotel is in immaculate condition. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times for business. The hotel is always very clean. The food is good and the atmosphere is relaxing. The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend Woodcliff as a place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jwensil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairport
4.3 mi away
The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa
15.1 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/Pittsford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Victor/Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcliff Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcliff Hotel and Spa

Property: Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Address: 199 Woodcliff Dr, Fairport, NY 14450-4204
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Fairport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodcliff Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, a premier Rochester Hotel, conference center and spa located close to the scenic Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. We welcome you with the comfort, amenities and warm, personal service that you expect from a first class hotel and spa. Located atop wooded hills in Fairport, just off I-90, Woodcliff Hotel and Spa is only 20 minutes from downtown Rochester, and offers spectacular views of the Rochester Skyline, Rochester Bristol Hills and Finger Lakes region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Woodcliff Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcliff Hotel Fairport
Hotel At Woodcliff
At Woodcliff Hotel
Lodge At Woodcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing