We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice, But lacking a little for a 4-star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairport
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice, But lacking a little for a 4-star”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The room was nice along with the amenities. The staff was very kind and professional. The restaurant staff was also very nice and the food was excellent. They even had live music that was quite professional. As for the fitness room and pool area, they were not as nice as I would have hoped. The treadmills were older and worn out. They need to replace or refurbish them. The pool area was also a little outdated. They close at 10pm and made me stop running on the treadmill right at 10pm...I thought they could have given me a few more minutes. Anyway, overall the stay was nice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Curtis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    137
    51
    18
    22
See reviews for
160
161
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Creek, New York
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Woodcliff Hotel and Spa. What a beautiful place to spend a weekend or more. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the room we had was very elegant with lots of granite and a gorgeous view. We ate breakfast there and found it tasty and tastefully presented. The fitness area is extremely well equipped and the pools very inviting. I hope to return there soon...this was a most pleasant discovery.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I treated my brother and sister-in-law to a stay at the Woodcliff for their wedding anniversary. This was the first encounter any of us had with the venue. My loved ones shared with me that they were above thrilled with the setting, amenities included in the spa package, cuisine, and graciousness of the staff under the leadership of front desk manager, Jeff Ditondo. I was pleased with the ease of the reservations and billing process and that my brother and sister-in-law were treated with such care.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khieta71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I am the Sales Manager for the Best Western Inn at The Rochester Airport here in Rochester. I had the pleasure of staying with my family August 16 & 17 at the outstanding Woodcliff Hotel and Spa. An Unbelievable experience made possible by the Front Desk Manager and his staff. Jeffery DiTondo was by far the best Front Desk Mahnager I have ever come across in all my travelling years. The hotel is exceptonal in all aspects, from the service, the room and the dining. We had three rooms and one my wife and I shared was the Southwest Suite. I cannot describe the beauty and special attention to detail this suite provided. Jeffery made us so welcome, we thought we were at home. It was a special "50th" weekend for us and by far will never be forgotten. I can't think of any other hotel in the Rochester area that comes close to the Woodcliff. Our thanks to Jeffery and his staff and everyone at Woodcliff.

Room Tip: In my satisfaction, any where you stay in the hotel, is excellent because of the unique layout of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Woodcliff was fabulous! The rooms were clean and quiet, The restaurant was great. Steak was perfect! All the Rochester NY sites nearby and plenty of shopping right down the street. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The staff are incredibly accommodating, friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and the view from this hotel is unparalleled in the Rochester area. It is clear that Woodcliff Hotel & Spa strives for greatness, and it is unquestionably achieved.

Great pool/jacuzzi for general use; excellent hours for the fitness center and pool.

Horizons Restaurant seems to me like a five-star dining experience.

Rooms spacious, exceptionally clean, well-maintained and beautiful.

10/10 would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get a view overlooking the cliff if possible :) The King Sized beds are absolutely excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneSuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear AdrienneSuter,
Thank you kindly for your 5 Star Tripadvisor Review! It is wonderful to hear such great comments about our staff and the quality of food in Horizons Restaurant. Your comments in regards to the location and the exceptional views are fitting as we are located on the highest point in Monroe County. We hope that you will return soon and thank you again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I were guests over the past weekend at the Woodcliff Hotel and Spa. We cannot give Daniel the Food and Beverage Director enough praise for his exceptional professional attention to every detail. Our dining experience was beyond our expectations and the menu out of this world.
Our experience from the moment we arrived as we were met by the friendly and helpful staff at the front door to the attentive front desk staff was tremendous.
Overall we would most definitely recommend this hotel and spa.
Wanda and Terry

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnauzerparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Schnauzerparents,
Thank you for sharing your Extraordinary Experience on Tripadvisor.com! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed dining in our Horizons Restaurant. Daniel Ambron (Food and Beverage Director) as well as our Chef strive to create the upmost in service levels as well as recently transforming our Dinner and Lunch Menus. I have shared your feedback in regards to the friendliness of the staff with the team and they greatly appreciate hearing such positive feedback. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairport
4.3 mi away
The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/Pittsford
15.1 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#3 of 12 in Canandaigua
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Victor Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester/Victor
10.0 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcliff Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcliff Hotel and Spa

Property: Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
Address: 199 Woodcliff Dr, Fairport, NY 14450-4204
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Fairport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodcliff Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, a premier Rochester Hotel, conference center and spa located close to the scenic Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. We welcome you with the comfort, amenities and warm, personal service that you expect from a first class hotel and spa. Located atop wooded hills in Fairport, just off I-90, Woodcliff Hotel and Spa is only 20 minutes from downtown Rochester, and offers spectacular views of the Rochester Skyline, Rochester Bristol Hills and Finger Lakes region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodcliff Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcliff Hotel Fairport
Hotel At Woodcliff
At Woodcliff Hotel
Lodge At Woodcliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing