We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun change of pace!”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 131 Restaurants in Farmingdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Smith Street
Description: A Fondue Restaurant
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Went here and had a good time - waitress was exceptional which always helps. Having been to Switzerland and had " original" fondue this is different for sure . Still it was worth the $100 for 2 cocktails and the complete dinner package of appetizer,entree,and dessert for 2 ppl .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina C, Manager at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. Hope you come back and visit us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Allow me to be brutally honest. The melting pot is NOT for you if you:
-are in a hurry
-are starving
-are impatient
-don't like cooking
-are looking for cheap eats
-sweat easily or don't like being hot

The melting pot IS for you if:
-you have approx 3 hours
-you are looking for a delicious EXPERIENCE.
-don't mind spending in excess of $100

This is a great birthday, anniversary, or special occasion destination. You should like your companions, because you are going to have a lot of time to talk to them. The food does come out slowly and you must do the cooking, but that's what makes it fun...and really, thats the whole point of fondue.

There is plenty of food. The food is of excellent quality and absolutley delicious. The dessert is in a class of its own.

Sit down with your favorite person, order a glass of wine and pull out your fondue fork. You will emerge happy, full, and with an awesome experience under your belt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thetravelkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina C, Manager at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your review. Please come back soon we would love to have you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our first time here after many months of wanting to go. Very nice and cozy. Big tables for large groups and small secluded tables for couples. We had the basics: Swiss fondue and chocolate dessert fondue. Both were very good. Our waitress, Megan, was great, very friendly and engaging. Also, kudos to the bartender who made fantastic Martinis and a great Sparkling Sidecar!!! It's a great date place. We will be back.

Thank 2kils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina C, Manager at The Melting Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so happy you had a wonderful experience. You can request Megan as your server when you make your next reservation if you would like. Come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You can select great salad, dinner, exquisit fondue in a fabulous ambient.
It a wonderful idea for special celebration. They gave a decoration at your table. Globes with name: happy birdthay, happy first comunion, etc.
They have special fixed menu for mother day, father day, christmas, etc....Always excelent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MariaRosario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

What can I even say about this place. Went last night for a special occasion. Arrived at 8 for an 8:15 opentable reservation. Drank a $9 glass of wine at the bar while we waitred. At 8:30 my boyfriend went over to see when the table would be ready, they said another 10 minutes. ( there were many tables open by the way ) FINALLY, we sat at 8:40, over 20 minutes past our reserved time. I was starving at this point.

The booth was cute, romantic setting. We then waited in it for another 10 minutes before we even saw the waiter. He was obviously in a bad mood and made no effort to hide his annoyance. We ordered right away because we didnt know when we'd see him again.

25 minutes later the cheese fondue arrived. The waiter sloppily threw it together and with a frown walked away. It was okay. We ate it all because we were both famished. They give you a few apples, a few pieces of broccoli, and a small bowl of 1 inch bread cubes. I ordered another glass of wine, and had to wait 15 minutes
for it.

A while later the hot oil arrives that we will be cooking our own food in. At this point cooking my shrimp myself for $20 doesn't seem like the best idea. The hot oil sits on the table boiling for about 40 minutes. FINALLY the raw food arrives. At this point it's past 10pm. We've been here for 2 hours and haven't eaten our entree yet. The waiter is again rude and doesn't explain anything.

We then have to cook each piece of food seperately and for 2 minutes each, by the time we finish it is after 1030 and we are still hungry. I would have liked to try the chocolate fondue, but I didnt want to be there until midnight waiting. We asked for the check, which arrived 2 minutes later. The only thing that came quickly.

The bill was $102 for:
- 2 beers
- 2 glasses of wine
- one cheese fondue
- 2 raw entrees you cook yourself

I will never be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 
Farmingdale, Long Island
Melville, Long Island
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing