We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice evening”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 127 Restaurants in Farmingdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Smith Street
Description: A Fondue Restaurant
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
242 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“nice evening”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

2 adults and 2 kids went here for a Sunday night Birthday dinner for my wife. Reservations were honored on time as usual. Don't get there early because they won't seat you even if they have free tables. The service was good and we received everything we asked for at the table ( more sides etc. ) quick. The quality of the food is good but the portions have shrunk, The salads especially. My main entrée consisted of a lobster tail, filet, chicken and a few shrimp. For the price of the meal you receive a so-so amount of food but you have to add the time and surroundings into the cost of the bill. The cookies and cream dessert was fantastic!This place is good for a once in a while visit or going with a large group since I noticed a private room you would be able to book for about a dozen people or so.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina C, Manager at The Melting Pot, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Happy to hear of your good experience and yes we do parties large parties all the time. We even have a room that will fit 25 or 35 people, depending on the room you choose. There is also two large tables that fit up to 14 people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Outstanding venue for upscale dining…but comes at a price.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I went with a group of 2 teens and another mom…the food was phenomenal, but it's really the atmosphere you're paying for. You'll definitely try new things, and have an interactive experience. We ordered the special, which is 4 courses. 1st is cheeses for dipping, 2nd salad, 3rd different meets and you cook them in a choice of stews…and finally dessert, and you choose which package. We spent about 3 hours in there, and we weren't taking our time either. They don't rush you, and they do take their time with you…making it a nice place to meet, celebrate and spend time with people you care. Be prepared to spend about $100+ for a couple, and possibly less if you're only going with appetizers or dessert. It's worth the price, but not something you can do all the time (unless you're rich!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Finally, Fondue!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Melting Pot should have a category of its own, but there are not many strictly Fondue houses around. Its not exactly Italian and its not exactly French. Just bear in mind that is it a bit more than mid-range in price, but it is definitely a great place for groups of friends and family occasions. Enjoy something different here.
The Melting Pot in Farmingdale is a fondue restaurant and only fondue. Everything is cooked at your table, and you do the cooking, so it you have an aversion to looking at raw meat, don't go. One more caveat: Its a bit expensive for someplace where you do your own cooking, averaging about $40.00 per person for apps and entree, no drinks.
However, its a great place for groups, and the have a number of romantic corners for couples. It is not someplace you want to go alone. The one think you cannot say is that the food is bad, because you do the cooking!
So, start with the cheese fondue. You can choose from cheddar, swiss, spinach & artichoke (don't do it) and Wisconsin Trio (go with this one). It comes to your table hot and bubbling with a tray of bread cubes, apples and and vegetables for dipping.
Skip the salad, because cheese fondue is filling. Or, if you must have salad, skip the cheese fondue - which would be just plain silly.
For your main course, you will choose from the Special (pictured below) which has everything from fish to beef to pasta. Or you can go vegetarian. Or different assortment of meats like: The French Quarter (chicken, steak and cajun sausage); The Pacific Rim (breast of duck and marinated pork) or The Seafood Trio (mahi mahi, shrimp and atlantic salmon). Each selection of fish or meats comes to your table along with a hot boiling broth in a fondue pot. Your cooking broth comes in 4 different flavors: Coq au Vin (wine, spices & mushrooms), Court Boullion (vegetable and herb seasonings), Bourgignone (distinct red wine & beef flavor) and Mojo (caribbean garlic and citrus). Then comes the fun part. You can pick your own particular favorites from the tray on the table, dip it into the broth for a minute or 2 (they are thinly sliced) and take it out steaming hot and ready to eat. And why would you do all this? Because its fun!!
The highlight here, however, is dessert. Chocolate Fondue. C'mon, no one can resist hot melted chocolate and fresh strawberries, bananas, cheesecake, rice krispies treats, marshmallows, pound cake and brownies. You can choose from milk chocolate swirled with peanut butter (my favorite), white chocolate, bananas & cinnamon flambé', yin & yang (dark & white chocolate swirl, cookies & cream and, of course, pure chocolate- milk, dark or white.
I know a number of people who do not like the Melting Pot, either because they have an issue with raw meat at the table or an issue with having to move and cook their own food. In my opinion, they provide a special, enjoyable evening in a lovely atmosphere with efficient and personable staff. They are clean and sanitary, and advise you on those issues of meat safety when your food is served. I'm going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice time, good food & fun but ...”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This review would have been a 5/5 except for one thing .. A party of 9 with reservations at 5:00 on a Sunday night with a relatively empty restaurant and the service kept us until 8:00 ... I like leisurely, but 3 hours was a bit much. The food was good & the fondue was fun. If the service was quicker ... A 5/5 would have been a no brainer ... We'll give it another shot ... If you like chocolate be prepared to enjoy!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious All Around!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Recently went with my boyfriend and the whole experience was 5 stars and amazing! We had the worlds best waiter, who was beyond friendly and funny! We did the 4-Course experience which I do recommend! We started with the cheese, than a salad, main entree and last but most certainly NOT least, the dessert. Every bite was scrumptious. Yes, you do have to cook your own food but it is far from hard! There is no doubt that we'll be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Fickenxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 
Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 
Farmingdale, Long Island
Melville, Long Island
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing