We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and kid friendly”
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
Ranked #11 of 128 Restaurants in Farmingdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Melville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and kid friendly”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

with 3 kids of 5,2 & 3 months kid friendly is as important as the food. In this case you get to have your cake and eat it too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tibor k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to serving you again soon! - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coram, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Houlihan's highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Went here for a family get together on a Friday night and had a good time. They have call ahead seating so we didn't have to wait more than 5 minutes for our table. Several of us ordered special which was flounder stuffed with crabmeat and small scallops. Special was good, tasted crabmeat but no scallops and stuffing was on the sweet side. Other entrees were enjoyed. Atmosphere was nice, conversations were easy with all members of our gathering and bill was reasonable. This is a nice place to eat, talk, just an enjoyable evening.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank blewnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed our food and the atmosphere! We look forward to serving you again soon. - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers...Good Service!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Houlihan's is a National Chain. Whenever I take people to Houlihan's we never expect fancy. We always expect--and get great, friendly service. We always order one of their Burger choices--of which there are several, along with Fries--and a cold beverage. The Bar selection and its pricing model is fair. The atmosphere at this place is lively. If your needs are great burgers and cold drinks, I heartily recommend this Restaurant. Works for families as well--as I noticed more than a few when we were there...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us, and we look forward to serving you again soon! - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, NY
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“speed it up”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I can't stand waiting an hour for a burger. Food is decent but we want to get out of there already!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank twinmommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're glad to hear you enjoy the food, but sorry about the wait! We will be passing this along to the team so we can address that. We appreciate the feedback, and look forward to serving you again soon! - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We were tempted to try Houlihan's on Wednesday, June 19, because they were contributing to the Sandy Relief Fund on that day. It turned out to be a nice experience and worth the trip. Wouldn't it be a great idea to have a large number of New York Restaurants contribute to Sandy Relief efforts like New Jersey did in the near future!
Especially good were the Bruschetta (large enough for 2 to share) and the Fire-grilled Salmon (nicely seasoned and still moist). The service was very good from our server, she was pleasant and upbeat. It would have been even better if the two hosts at the entrance were a little happier to be there and better welcome guests! We will try it again because overall they tried hard to make our experience a good one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank orchidsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex H, Public Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us. We were honored to participate in National Dine Out Day for Sandy Relief. We look forward to serving you again soon! - Alex, Houlihan's Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 
Farmingdale, Long Island
Farmingdale, Long Island
 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing