We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Craftsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Craftsman Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fayetteville
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Due to a death in the family, I found myself back at Craftsman Inn for three nights. The staff was attentive and accommodating. My room was clean and comfortable, and the folks at the front desk very gracious. While I don't anticipate being in that area again, one never knows. I would stay there again without question.

The grill next door remains consistent with food quality and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert_Ernie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    34
    23
    12
See reviews for
59
31
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

It's better than 2/5 but 3/5 is average, and this place is in rougher than average shape. It's too bad because it is kind of neat. it's well outside of Syracuse but still in town (Fayetteville) and in a setting with trees and grass. The lobby is neat - the hotel is called Craftsman and all the finishes in the lobby are arts and crafts style, albeit 80s version. Our room was pretty rough though. The tub seemed like a good sized hole had been knocked through it and some kind of patch applied. The furniture was beaten up; there was water damage on the ceilings; there was damage on some of the walls... Staff were very nice and things were clean, but it just felt like the it needs a bit of investment that it's not getting and hasn't been getting for too long.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, and about the cleanliness of our hotel. We hear you loud and clear as to the need for additional renovations and investment. We have just finished top to bottom renovations of a third of our rooms, and plan to begin on the next third in the near future. The concerns that you express are being remedied with these remodels. I hope that the next time you visit Syracuse, you will stay with us again, and see for yourself the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fayetteville hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This is my first stay at the craftsman, and like others have mentioned, I was somewhat cautious about reserving here due to the negative feedback. I was pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. It was perfectly fine. The 2 bed suite was spacious, clean and properly cared for. The kitchenette was great - with a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. All in all, great value for the price and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PumaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We truly understand the trepidations that one might feel based on some of our earlier reviews, but I assure you that we take them to heart, and that we are working hard to see that each of our guests have the same favorable experience that you had!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here about 15 years ago and was very impressed with the quaintness of the property, especially the public areas with the Stickley furniture. I think it can probably be freshened up a bit, but maintain the Stickley. Same can be said for the rooms. I was in a king room that was small but adequate. Bathroom was small but fine. The room was clean getting a bit worn. Still has a tube television. It is in a very good location, with plenty of amenities near by. a property upgrade is definitely in order.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larn796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your fair assessment of The Craftsman. We are currently well underway with a renovation project that is addressing many of your concerns, while not only preserving the Stickley charm, but enhancing it with 42" flatscreens, new Mission pieces, high grade WiFi, and totally renovated rooms. You will be pleased on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Craftsman as part of a large family get-together. Everything was great. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, the location was convenient. The staff was FANTASTIC! Everyone, from the front desk to the restaurant to housekeeping was friendly and helpful. The staff at the Craftsman really helped to make our family gathering very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyMalone, General Manager at Craftsman Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so very much for your comments. We do strive to show our guests our genuine gratitude for their patronage. We are blessed with a staff that are warm, friendly and helpful. Your recognition of their efforts is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed here a couple times now while visiting Fayetteville. The property is dog friendly, which is nice for us, but it really needs some upgrades. The carpet, bathroom, and furniture all feels very old and worn out. and the whole property just has a general feel of not being taken care of enough. Despite this, we never have any problems when staying here - the staff is friendly and always available for help.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flankthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nice and clean, quiet inn with VERY professional staff. I had booked a hotel in Syracuse but it was too far away from the college we were visiting and just did not feel secure there. This hotel was just minutes away from the college, was quiet and secure and very comfortable. The room was nice and clean, the bed was so comfortable and with luxurious comforters. Very close to a great variety of restaurants and shopping. I will definitely make this my go-to place if my daughter chooses Cazenovia College!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie216_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fayetteville
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dewitt (Syracuse)
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
6.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
5.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#4 of 19 in East Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craftsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craftsman Inn

Property: Craftsman Inn
Address: 7300 E Genesee St, Fayetteville, NY 13066-1342
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fayetteville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Craftsman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Arts and Crafts Movement blossomed at the turn of the 20th century on the tree lined streets of peaceful villages in upstate New York. The movement was a personal and architectural revolt against the ornateness of the Victorian style. This Movement sparked a period of design characterized by simplicity, honestly and integrity. Here in Fayetteville, Leopold and John George Stickley created Arts and Crafts furniture using innovative construction techniques which have endured as hallmarks of the Movement. The Craftsman Inn is dedicated to these Craftsman ideals. Look around, the designs that inspire the building, the chairs and tables, the lighting and pictures, all evoke that ideal. Our Limestone Grille was launched in 2008 as the heir to our more stately Craftsman House. The Limestone reflects the 21st century evolution of these concepts as once again a desire for a simpler, truer,more authentic approach becomes prevalent. Our dining room and lounge reflect clean, Mission style design but with warm colors, classic furnishings, and contemporary appointments. Our service staff and bartenders provide friendly yet attentive service, knowledgeable without being presumptuous, helping to create the sense of relaxed comfort we all seem to miss so much of the time. That end result is what inspires us to do the best we can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craftsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craftsman Hotel Fayetteville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing