We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Close to Home”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Blue Heron Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Findley Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Findley Lake B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Getaway Close to Home”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Blue Heron Inn over Veteran's Day weekend as a quick getaway. Tobi and Bruce opened their B&B to us free of cost as they were participating in an event offering a free night's stay to veteran's (my fiance is an Army Veteran) and their guest. It was really wonderful meeting other veteran couples, and the B&B was closed to the public while we were there, so it was great. Our breakfast was fantastic- absolutely delicious. My fiance really liked his dinner, but I got the vegetarian kabobs and was still hungry- my fiance's meal was an appropriate price but I felt that I should have gotten more. Our room was small but cozy with a pretty view of the lake. We weren't sure how to regulate the temperature and the room did get really hot, but there was a ceiling fan in our room which helped. Tobi is such a sweet lady. They also have a really cute shop in the back with all sorts of special things. While we were there we also did some tastings at a few local wineries which was really fun.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our view of the lake (we stayed in the Garden Room) but there is another room with a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnTSJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    3
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The room was over-priced (159.99+). It was not cleaned well, the decor was out-dated, the faucet in the bathroom was broken,the shower dispenser for shower gel was empty, wall paper border was peeling off, the sheets were wrinkled and stained, there was no thermometer in the room and it was so hot you could barely stand it, and there was no hairdryer! There was nothing special about it. No special welcomes or friendlieness. A waitress from the restaurant downstairs took us to our room. I would have rather stayed in a hotel.

Room Tip: We atayed in the king sized room, which was no better than any of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAK012973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowood, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Can not describe how much we loved it! Bruce and Tobi make it special with their special touches. Bruce makes an excellent breakfast each day and you can enjoy sitting on the covered porch drinking coffe and looking at the lake across the street! We ate dinner there and the ribs were wonderful! Tobi's gift shop is so unique and filled with such different gifts. We were sad to leave there and will return for another visit!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My steak priced $24 on menu was $30, burnt (req med) with a small baked potato & maybe 2 tbs coleslaw! My husband liked his ribs but only only got 3 steak fries & 2 tbs of coleslaw. The waitress was not attentive. Would not recommend.

Didn't stay at the inn.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I chose the Blue Heron Inn as a girls getaway destination based on some other positive reviews and based on the interesting story of the owners. It did not disappoint. My friend wanted a low key girls weekend for her bachelorette party. I contacted one of the owners, Tobi, to make arrangements. She not only left my friend a card and bride tiara in the room, but she also arranged a spa appointment for her at a local spa. Tobi also provided us with directions to and information on local attractions. I think this is a nice touch that is part of what makes the Blue Heron Inn special.

The Blue Heron Inn is located across the street from Findley Lake. The highlight of the Inn is the wonderful front porch that you can eat breakfast and dinner on (and can sit on while drinking wine into the evening). Breakfast is included in the cost of the stay. There is a nice menu to choose from. We did not have a bad meal while staying which included two breakfasts and two dinners.

We stayed in the Forest Grove room which was big enough for the three of us. The only issue we had was that the air conditioner was sporadic. It was sometimes very cold and other times blowing out warm air. This didn't ruin the trip by any means, but we were warm on occasion.

The Inn is close to many great attractions such as the Lake Erie Wine Trail, Chautauqua Lake, speedway, and more. We chose to spend most of our time at Presque Isle State Park near Erie, the wineries, and on the porch in the evenings. It made for a relaxing and fun getaway.

There are a few other perks to the inn. First, Tobi and Bruce also have a store in the parking lot of the inn. The store includes items from wind chimes to unique kids toys to t-shirts. There are a lot of unique goodies to take home from the store. In addition, Burch Hill farms has a small farmers market in the parking lot. They have veggies, fruit, baked goods, and more for sale. Lastly, you can take a walk around the lake for some beautiful sights and exercise.

You can't lose with the Blue Heron Inn. If you are looking for really fancy accommodations this is not your place, but if you are looking for a cute, relaxing place with charm and character you have found it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This quiet little town is great and within minutes there is so much to see and do. The owners go out of their way to make your stay special. The themed rooms are clean and spacious. The only thing missing is a television. We come back again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkschach78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My wife and I spent our 25th anniversary at the Blue Heron Inn staying in the Rod and Creel room. Tobi and Bruce were the perfect hosts and their staff catered to our every need. The Inn is in a quiet, quaint location and our room had a great view of the lake. The rooms were clean and perfect for a romantic anniversary celebration. The service was immediate and we were always greeted with a smile and cheerful conversation. One of the best things about this Inn is the food. Bruce does the best barbecue Ribs we southerners have ever had and we still have them send us the homemade sauce. We tried many different items from the menu and found everything to our liking. We strongly recommend this Inn to anyone who wants a quiet getaway, with pleasant company, delicious food and at a great value. We will definitely be going back

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnieray1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blueheron14736, Owner at Blue Heron Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Thank you for the lovely review. Guests like you make our job a real pleasure and we were honored you chose to celebrate your anniversary at the Blue Heron Inn. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again.
Many thanks,
Tobi & Bruce
BLUE HERON INN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Findley Lake
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Findley Lake
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
4.0 mi away
The Inn at the Peak
The Inn at the Peak
#1 of 1 in Clymer
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
185 reviews
18.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
18.4 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 10412 Main St, P.O. Box 588, Findley Lake, NY 14736-9709
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Findley Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Findley Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking scenic Findley Lake, the Blue Heron Inn is located in one of Chautauqua County's most scenic destinations. Casually elegant, antique-appointed accommodations with private baths & a/c set the stage for rest & relaxation. Wake each morning to a delicous full breakfast, stroll the lake & plan a day filled with boating, fishing, golfing, horse-back riding, skiing, snowmobiling, shopping, antiquing & local winery tours. The Inn is conveniently located 5 minutes from Peek'n Peak Resort, 15 minutes from Chautauqua Lake and the shores of Lake Erie. Open year-round, the Blue Heron Inn is the perfect get-away for all seasons! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing