We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"rocks and shells, ocean smells"”

Smith Point County Park
Belle Mead, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"rocks and shells, ocean smells"”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

there's a HUGE parking lot and a wonderful beach. at one side is the shimmering blue ocean, at the other, a small cliff. more rocks underfoot than sand, though, so don't take your shoes off. a lot of unique shell, such as sharks' eyes, scallops, and slippers. my daughter went into shell-hunting mode and hunched over the beach for the entire time. there were also a lot of big boulders that are fun to climb. there were many seagulls cawing at each other, a good, strong breeze, and it was a generally peaceful place to go and chillax and have fun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zhuo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“go there for the bands!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

or just go for the beach- it's a great locale! big open spaces, lots of great sand, waves, surfers- plenty of space, yet cozy with lots of tables in the food area. full bar.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank watergirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagaman, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fire Island East End”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We've been here dozens of times.....great beach, huge parking lot, very nice,informative nature display just inside the park at the federal building. The west side of the entrance is part of the Fire Island National Seashore, to the east is the county park. Camping available here with permit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KDFaustel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“RV like a rock star”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you want to camp by the beach, this is the best. We lucked out and got a full hook up spot, right on the beach, at the last minute. The people were wonderful to work with and the internet was delightful surprise. Well worth visiting. The beach was literally steps away, I didn't have to put on shoes and I was walking on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile



Stopped by Smiths Point Beach one evening while visiting my brother in NY. Live music playing and quite a few people on the beach. Walked for awhile thinking about how large the beach use to be when I was a child. Use to have to walk a mile to get to the bathrooms or snack bar all while our feet were burning. Not anymore. Kinda sad but still beautiful. Glad we went in the evening because $16.00 to park is crazy. Why don't they have a residence pass? Anyways didn't eat at the Beach Hut not stop by the bathrooms so I have no review on those areas. But I highly recommend a visit to this beach!







Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pukasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smith Point County Park also viewed

Fire Island, Long Island
Fire Island, Long Island
 
Fire Island, Long Island
 

Been to Smith Point County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing