We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun downtown eatery”
Review of The Tomato Cafe

The Tomato Cafe
Ranked #5 of 92 Restaurants in Fishkill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: www.tomatocafefishkill.com
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun downtown eatery”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our 2nd trip to Tomato Cafe as we stop in Fishkill on our trip through NY. Good food in a fun atmosphere at reasonable price. Great tomato soup (their specialty) and good Mac & Cheese. It wasn't quite like mom used to make but comfort food nonetheless. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    75
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Wonderful service standard fare great value, breakfast options available at lunchtime for late risers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta dishes, reasonable prices”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I joined my daughter, son-in-law, and our infant granddaughter for dinner here on a recent Saturday night. I have to say it was one of the more enjoyable restaurant experiences we have had since my daughter moved here in 2013. We had been here once before for a quick lunch, but this time it was an experience to savor.

The tomato soup is a rich and peppery treat, topped with a handful of homemade croutons and, since there's no cream in it, the hearty tomato flavor really stands out. The pasta dishes are excellent values and you can order a half-size portion if you're on a budget or diet. My wife really enjoyed her penne with grilled chicken and pesto, so much so that she finished it on the spot instead of bringing some home for lunch the next day as she intended. I had an excellent beef stroganoff served over noodles in a hearty cream based sauce with mushrooms and onions along with a very fresh garden salad. The house dressing is a honey vinaigrette that I can endorse. The dessert menu is a bit limited, but if you get there early enough order one of the cupcakes. They are specially made by one of the servers, big enough that you need a fork to eat one, and oh so good. I had a chocolate cupcake stuffed with raspberry puree, my wife enjoyed the lemon vanilla cupcake, and my son-in-law devoured an oreo/devil's food varietal. I tried to order another cupcake for takeout after we finished dinner, but unfortunately they were sold out for the night at 7:15 pm.

Dinner for four with appetizers, entrees, desserts and a single adult beverage came to $124 including tax and a generous tip to our server. Tomato Cafe is just a few minutes from the US Route 9 exit off I-84 and it's well worth the detour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thirdshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The building is old, the decor is old but the food was great! We had the omelettes and home fries. Food was delicious and the price was very good!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelLovers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great little place to relax and have a great bite to eat. I stopped in for a quick bite, eating by myself at the counter in the window, not expecting much. I had an absolutely delicious Cafe Grilled Cheese on peasant bread with both cheddar and gruyere (I couldn't decide which one, so the waiter suggested both!) with applewood-smoked bacon, and a cup of their truly amazing tomato soup. Looking around, other diners seemed equally happy with their selections, and everything I saw looked prepared to perfection. Looking forward to the next time I need lunch up in the Fishkill area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tomato Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Tomato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing