We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way a hotel should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Fishkill
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very nice hotel. Nice large, clean rooms. Small gym, pool, ice machines, laundry room, refrigerator and microwave in room add to the stay. Very nice staff. Well located with a few good restaurants near by and a movie theater across the highway. I stay hear because of the great hiking near by. Great way to spend the day, then grab dinner and back to the hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are pretty similar. You may want to ask for the 2nd or third floor to cut down on am t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Dan O. –


I do want to thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay. It is great to hear that you have selected us as your hotel of choice when staying in the Hudson Valley. For you to say that our hotel “is the way a hotel should be” speaks to the efficient, professional manner our staff works hard to project to our guests at all times. I really do look forward to your return visit so we can serve you as our loyal guest once again.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill – Mid-Hudson Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We only stayed one night, on the road South, but this is a clean, new HIE that has all the usual amenities and is very conveniently located to the Interstate. Local restaurants are a short walk or drive away. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. As I am brand-loyal to HIE, this hotel fully met my expectations. We recommend and would return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKinNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear PKinNB -


As our guest feedback is generally positive for this hotel, I am happy to notice that you have enjoyed your time with us as well. It is because of our meticulous upkeep of the facility that give us that "brand new" appearance, and our constant training of our staff that does produce the constant mentions of the excellent customer service. We do look forwards to the next time we can have you as our guest once again.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill - Mid-Hudson Valley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Offers a good location to the highway and surrounding area. The rooms and bathroom are on the small side and heating system was rather noisey when running. Also the hotel was slow to remove snow from the siewalk area and parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Fly_Bob,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that our location was suitable for your needs and apologize for the inconvenience the condition of the room may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

me and my family go there about three times a year. i got a room this time for my mother so she could spend time with her grandchildren in the pool. i had seem the review about the pool being cold, but it thought it may have been a personal preference. some people like the pool hot some cold. so i called up and asked them about it. they said it was working and no problems. well that was not the case the pool was very cold not heated at all. so my mother and children could not use it. they did complain, and the hotel did turn up the heat. still a pool take a long time to heat up. the next day the water was warmer on the surface. but still unusable. the hotel did give me a 25 dollar credit. but there experience had been ruined. i'm sure the pool is fixed now. if they had told me it wasn't working i would feel so much better about holiday inn. i own two small business and would never do that to my customers. other then the pool there stay was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWM2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear DWM2112,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by our pool. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We really liked the hotel. It was clean, with fresh and bright rooms. Overall, very good value for the money.

My only recommendations:

1) Improve the maintenance of the pool, as the water and room were too cold. Also, the towels were too small.
2) Please include more soap in the rooms.

Otherwise, everything including the breakfast buffet was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Larry A -


We do value all feedback and opinions provided to us by our guests. I am very happy regarding your comments about the condition of the rooms. In regards to our pool, we are having the equipment that heats our water repaired. With that said, if you choose to stay with us again, you will be able to have the full experience that is intended when our pool is used. Additionally, it is the standard at this hotel that all rooms receive two bars of soap during their stay. Any extra soap can be requested at the front desk. If you would like to speak with me directly about the issues you had experienced, you may contact me directly be calling the hotel. We do hope you see you the next time travels bring you to the Hudson Valley.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill – Mid-Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Arrival / check-in went smoothly and quickly. The room was nice, although a bit too cramped to fit in the luggage carrier. There was a handy bench near the beds to sit on and use as a changing table. The rooms were quiet, and pleasant smelling. Beds were comfortable, and there were plenty of pillows. The AC/Heater unit was easy to program for the temp we wanted. On the downside, the heavier lined curtains would not shut all the way. We checked to see if we were just doing it wrong, but no, the track wasn't built to close. ??? Assume it must have been because they would have then covered the AC/Heat unit, but couldn't they have just put in shorter curtains? The result was not being able to shut out the light, making sleep difficult because of outside lights, and not really feeling as if someone couldn't see in. Hmmm. The bathroom looked really nice. However, the shower didn't have anything to avoid being very slippery, and although I'm not generally an unsteady person, I felt the need to be extra-extra careful. Then the towel rack fell completely off the wall when I was trying to put a towel on it. I could push the screw right back into the hole, so you could tell this was not a new thing and that they need some spackle or an anchor to better secure it. Hubby went to make coffee in the morning in our complimentary pot / package, but found that the cord and where the coffee-maker is plugged in doesn't allow you to pull it out far enough out of the area it's in to be able to open it and pour the water in. <<sigh>> This started to add up to a Nice Idea, but Poor Reality result for us, and why I titled the review as I did. If it were only $99 / night, I might have expected some of these things, but for a few dollars more there are much nicer places nearby. Overall I would say it wasn't a bad experience, but I'd pick another hotel if I had the chance. Too bad, because it did look like a nice place.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor, back side of the hotel. It was quiet, although we were pretty sure there were...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Tracy B –


We do believe that guest feedback is a crucial factor in how we operate as a hotel, and I would like to thank you for providing you opinion. It is reassuring that you found the rooms quiet and the beds comfortable. I did notice that you stated that you had an issue whereas the curtains did not close all of the way. All of our rooms do have two sets of curtains (as most hotels do), the front set of curtains in the room are for decoration only, as the curtains closest to the window (the blackout curtains) are opaque and overlap each other by a few inches; they are designed to block any light attempting to come into room. Our staff did inspect the curtains in the room you stayed in to ensure that they are working correctly. Also, you did experience problems with the bathrooms. We have taken your suggestions and looked at the towel rack to ensure that it is secured to the wall. All of our showers do have the non-slip surface that is a required standard for all Holiday Inn Express hotels. However, as an extra measure of safety, we have inspected that surface in the room you stayed in to ensure that it is serving its purpose. Once again, we do take any guest comments that we receive seriously and do appreciate the information brought forth by them. We do hope that you will give us another chance when you return to the area so you can take notice our prompt response to correct any errors.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill – Mid-Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had a bit of a false start when I checked in... no one came to the front desk for a good 5 min. (it was well past check-in time...) I could hear people talking in a back office, I just could not see anyone. Finally resorted to calling the hotel. A "ring for service" bell would take care of the problem, or just a bit more attention to detail... Other than that, I was pleased. Rooms are nicely furnished, roomy, clean and have everything that you might need, incl. wireless at no extra charge, microwave, fridge, etc. There were at least two women's collegiate rugby teams there (I was in town to watch the DII Womens' Rugby "Sweet Sixteen" tourney up in Poughkeepsie at Vassar), but it was very quiet. Just a block or so off I-84, but again, noise was not a problem at all. Would stay here again. Nice area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carderock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear carderock –


Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us, we really do appreciate the guest feedback. Although I am happy that you found the rooms comfortable and well-equipped, however I am concerned about your first impression of the hotel. As this is not reflective of our normal level of service, I am taking a look at what happened that particular day to ensure the desk is fully staffed at all times, as I do not want to experience a repeat of this inconvenience. Once again, thanks for the overall positive comments about our hotel and we do look forward to you next stay with us.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill – Mid-Hudson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fishkill hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Fishkill
Courtyard Fishkill
#7 of 14 in Fishkill
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 21 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524-2239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Fishkill
Price Range: £81 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Fishkill, New York.If you're traveling on business, our hotel in Fishkill, NY, is convenient to IBM East, the Xerox training center and LAM Research and is just 15 miles from the Culinary Institute of America. If you're traveling by air, our Hudson Valley hotel is close to Stewart International airport (SWF). Albany, LaGuardia and JFK airports are also all within 75 miles of our hotel. For leisure travelers exploring the region's wineries or the Hudson River Art Trail, we make it easy to get around since we're off I-84 and convenient to both Rte. 9 and NYS 52/82. Our Fishkill lodging is a great place to stay when visiting nearby West Point Military Academy or Washington's headquarters at Newburgh. While you sample the many offerings of the Hudson Valley, let our Fishkill accommodations be your home away from home. This new hotel is 100% smoke-free and features high-speed, wireless Internet access in all rooms. Enjoy the heated pool and solarium to relax and rejuvenate after a day spent touring or hiking. Our Fishkill hotel is filled with amenities that make us a wonderful value. The Holiday Inn Express in Fishkill will make your stay as memorable as the area.Take a virtual tour of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Fishkill
Holiday Inn Fishkill
Fishkill Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing