We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Fishkill
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just fine for a short stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We overnighted here last week on our way to New England. It's conveniently located just off I-84 and it's pet friendly. Those were our two big factors in choosing this Marriott. The rooms at this facility are condo style and you can park in front of your unit which helps with unpacking / packing. Our room was certainly adequate for one night. However, the place is worn and is in need of an update. The door to our room has taken a good beating and there were caution stickers posted on the door and windows in our room about keeping everything locked up. That said, we experienced no troubles regarding safety. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. If we travel through this area again, I wouldn't rule out staying here, but I'd certainly check other options before making any decisions.

Room Tip: Our room was on the lower level and we could hear a lot of noise from the room above us. Second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogdaystraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    259
    146
    90
    54
See reviews for
417
119
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our family bought several rooms at this hotel for a wedding off site. We were lucky enough to be there for their Thursday night managers' free dinner and fed a family of 5 for free with drinks! We were very pleased with the helpful staff who managed our several trillion questions. Later one evening,our large contingent took over the common room, and the staff was very patient with us. However, having seen the inside of three different rooms, I would say there is a considerable disparity between them. Our room had a very tiny bathroom where it was difficult to stand outside the shower with the door closed. The spots on the carpeting were very unsightly. However my daughter's and sister's rooms were much newer and had a more spacious and spotless feel. I would stay there again..

Room Tip: ask for a room that has been updated on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time4Tea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nm
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The breakfast staff was awesome! Now the bad news: Second floor leaking into to ground floor room at check-in, moved to second floor. Exterior old and peeling, cigarette butts all over. The carpet is the newest thing in the room. Water pressure was good, but overall it's not the usual Marriott standard. It's old and ready to be sold.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fishkill hotels

Brentwood, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

So I have to agree with the previous reviewers because this location is in serious need of updating. I do like the condo/townhouse style of the hotel but… (For drama) the inside needs to reflect the outside. My bed was so darn squeaky it gave me a headache. My room had stale air but I was able to solve that by opening the sliding doors. The property has so much potential, the Fishkill location was my first Residence Inn with that townhouse-like style. I felt like we were at a sky resort, the town/area is so cozy. My girlfriend and I enjoyed out getaway but for a long-term stay I would opt to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at the Fishkill Residence Inn on Friday, August 30, 2013. I chose to cut short an anticpated 2-day stay to one day due to the dated and run-down conditions at this hotel. Exterior needs painting, cobweb removal and cracked concrete patched. The interior is only worse, mildew smell, old, old furnishings.....when is the last time you saw a microwave operated with a dial instead of a electronic pad? Water did not go down in the shower.....who likes to shower with water up to their ankles? Slept in my clothes and with all lights on....and still saw a giant bug skitter across kitchen floor....left as soon as possible in the morning. Didn't even stay for the breakfast. I had stayed the prior week at a Residence Inn in Rhode Island which was a delightful experience, this one was just the opposite. Marriott needs to reassess this franchise's right to call itself a 'Residence Inn'.....it is not up to their normal standards.

Room Tip: Stay at the Marriott Cortyard in Poughkeepsie instead,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We were attending a wedding across the river at a small winery. This was the site for all the guests. It could not have been more perfect for this weekend wedding event. All the consistent quality one looks for and expects with a Marriott property are here: welcoming staff, clean and comfortable rooms, nice bedding, easy breakfast, pool, indoor and outdoor gathering spaces, etc.. Best of all, you do not feel like you are in a big hotel with long hallways and endless elevators. The layout is a whole bunch of small homes, each holding 8 guest rooms. Plenty of privacy and just one flight of stairs for those on the top floor. Our first visit to a Residence Inn was a big success.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Baysidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've been here two nights and can't say how much I appreciate the cleanliness and value of this property. I really didn't want to climb stairs to my room but it is so worth it. I know many have said the property is shabby but that is not to be confused with cleanliness. I prefer a worn spot on the sofa and knowing that I don't have to clean every utensil or dish before use, I was staying at the Hyatt and it was disgusting. What a shame such a lovely property can't maintain a reasonable level of cleanliness. After 2 nights there I ran away.

As we have dogs my options were limited. How lucky we were to find the Residence Inn. I marvel at the cleanliness. Although the property is dated in many ways is immaculate. This is more important to me than the superficial updated facility. The breakfast is more than satisfactory. And to add to the list of pluses they offer socials in the evening to guest which offer food and wine and beer free of charge. The value is impossible to beat.

The ambience of the property is astounding. It's like having your own townhouse. Unlike the rooms at the Hyatt, this is like having your own home. I can't imagine any place better

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad room. Chose a room in the back of the property and coudn't be more plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fishkill hotels
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Fishkill
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#9 of 14 in Fishkill
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area

Property: Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area
Address: 14 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524-2238 (Formerly Residence Inn Fishkill )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fishkill
#6 Family Hotel in Fishkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fishkill - Poughkeepsie Area offers 139 Extended Stay Suites in a 3 star hotel. Each includes a full kitchen, sitting area for TV, and a sofa bed. Complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning in lobby area from 6:30 to 9:30. Complimentary Wi-Fi. Complimentary day pass to Fishkill Allsport Fitness Center (must be 21 years of age). Complimentary Manager's Reception each Monday to Thursday in lobby area starting at 6pm with snacks and drinks for a social hour at the end of the day. Not a "box" hotel. The property has the appearance of a condominium with 18 two-story buildings surrounding a patio with grills and an outdoor pool. Rooms types include a Penthouse Queen and Executive King, both with a loft queen bed and extra bath. All 100% non-smoking suites. Available for short term or extended stays. Wedding groups and sports teams are welcome. Corporate accounts can be set up for business visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fishkill Hotel Fishkill
Fishkill Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing