We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a place to revel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spillian: A Place to Revel
Ranked #1 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Mark and Leigh are great hosts! The Friday "fondue evening" was a wonderful way to relax with colleagues and make new friends. Each room has unique character that adds to the adventure. Recommend as the place to stay when in the Catskills.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending a weekend in this finely restored historical mansion. The hosts, Leigh and Mark, have created a warm, unique retreat for guests..clearly rising from their own deep love of Spillian and their combined artistic backgrounds. Splendid atmosphere. Nice people. Finely detailed themed rooms made it fun to choose one that was right for us. Delicious, fresh, well prepared meals. They were gracious about meeting my need for gluten-free food..which was of the same high quality as the other diners'! (GF people know that's not always the case.) This place is special! Perfect combination of Catskill Mountain rustic and elegance. And on a clear night, you can sit in the rocking chairs on the big front porch and see billions of stars! We can't wait for another opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burns157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a place you simply must see to believe! My family spent two nights in the splendor of this amazing house, where each of the guest rooms has a theme executed to the last detail. And, there are claw foot tubs in every guest bath, a real treat! The common areas are so inviting that I just wanted to curl up with a good book in the living room. The vast downstairs space is seamlessly arranged into what feels like four separate rooms; the living room, a conservatory with baby grand piano, a sitting nook with settee and coffee table, as well as a space in front of the fireplace with armchairs. If you must connect to the world outside, Wi-Fi is a modern convenience at your avail during your stay.

The natural setting must be appreciated! A walk through the nearby woods was an adventure in itself where we discovered various ruins from other residences long gone. The food served in the aptly named sunroom was delicious and made from local and wild-crafted ingredients in the onsite industrial kitchen. There’s also a grand dining room with 3 crystal chandeliers which makes one think of royalty.

The front porch features several rocking chairs and serves as the perfect spot to sip some wine or other refreshment while taking in the lovely setting. I felt as if everywhere I looked I was making a new discovery.

The owners take hospitality to another level and take a true interest in their guests. They are happy to talk about the renovation done on the property, or recommend sights to see.

If you want a retreat to someplace magical, this place will fit the bill.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjudson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We attended a wonderful weekend workshop at Spillian that was inspirational and heartening. We love the place of Spillian which is a testament to classic, yet rustic, elegance. Each room is a work of art. The hosts and owners are wonderfully down to earth, interesting interlocutors, creative and gracious. The food was wonderful. We just loved our stay. It is truly a place to revel and relax. Judith and Glen Kennedy Mazis

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkennedy264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Spillian is a wonder in the Catskill woods. The mansion is beautifully restored ....dark wood paneling with beautiful decorative paintings of flowers. The period furniture and art in every room are exquisite . It's a place to relax and let go...AND....to consume the amazing, gourmet bounty of local Catskill farmers and cheese-makers. Each room has it's own personality and particular luxury which you will be loath to leave on your visit's end...... I stayed in the Jules Verne room and fell in love!
Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jes v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights (Saturday/Sunday) in early October. We love the Catskills area and were particularly interested in seeing the fall colors in this region, a first for us. We chose Spillian for simple reasons: it was price-competitive with similar establishments; from the pictures, it had a certain charm and a canny resemblance to my grandparents house in western NC; and it was recently opened. We like “new.”

Spillian sits on a hill with a small pond at the foot, surrounded by beautiful woodlands. The refurbishment is incredible if you like such things, as do I, and both owners were more than willing to discuss in detail the process. I particularly enjoyed sitting on the covered porch as the sun set. Inside, the building is like a comfortable museum, with interesting artifacts in every corner, without a littered look. I’m a fan of hardwoods, and inside and out, the wood was a star for me. My wife, who deplores dirty motels and resorts, declared the facility “immaculate.”

We chose The Camelot Room, one of 8 themes rooms. Again, the woods were spectacular, mostly pine, with period-appropriate furniture and a great view out the over-sized window. The suite of amour was a little freaky at 2AM!

Cost for the room was $160 per night for two, on par with several other area resorts in a similar class. This included breakfast, and this is not your boxed donut and coffee breakfast from the Comfort Inn. As a vegan, I am particularly touchy about ingredients, and found vegan choices available, and ingredients for all dishes quickly repeated. The food was prepared on-site and was primarily local, a big plus to my wife and I.

The owners are omnipresent, and were very helpful in recommending places to visit locally, as well as sharing historical information on the building and area. We went to a restaurant instead of partaking in the resort’s “Soup Sundays” and were surprised to find quite the crowd when we returned. There is a hybrid ambiance here, somewhere between speakeasy and elegant. Guests of the resort and the event lazed in the living room, one of the best features, and enjoyed drinks, conversation, and the occasional impromptu piano piece from the owner.

Spillian is not a hotel, but an adventure steeped in both current and past local culture. I would return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Read descriptions on the web site and pick one that interests you. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 111buckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I spent a delightful weekend at Spillian in Fleischmanns, New York! Grand food, stimulating and congenial programs, and unbelievable architecture and natural setting! Most highly recommended! The host was amazingly friendly, imaginative and creative.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLMiller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
23.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.2 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spillian: A Place to Revel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spillian: A Place to Revel

Address: 50 Fleischmanns Heights Road, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: £97 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1882 Catskill Mountains Gilded Age summer retreat of the Fleischmanns Yeast family. This 8 bedroom historic gem has been newly restored to its original glory and will delight you and your family and friends. Every room is appointed with period antiques, tapestries and original wall murals evocative of days long gone by. Full facility rentals available for Conferences, Retreats, Weddings, Reunions and Celebrations all on 33 acres with groomed trails for hiking and camping. Come for your own private mini-retreat, join us for a workshop, or ask us about renting the entire facility for your special event. World-class programming; local spirits, fine wine and craft beer; a commercial kitchen with a brilliant chef serving local foods; yoga on the porch, and much, much more. Spillian is a place to revel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Spillian: A Place to Revel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing