We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just got back from a two day stay here-and it felt like a 7 day vacation. The B&B is located in the quiet village of Fleischmanns, but has a ton of things to do nearby. We visited the pine hill beach (which was closed due to off season, and therefore afforded peace and quiet for us and our two dogs), Belleayre ski resort-which had excellent views, and the historic town of Woodstock, which is a 30 min drive away. All in all, two days of lots to do-and this isn't even the proper season.
Drive along Rt 28 to experience some more small quiet towns (Margaretville, Arkville)-this place must be BEAUTIFUL in summer, given that the views were so great even now...
The B&B per se was nice and clean. Nothing fancy, but like another home-comfortable beds, clean rooms, and most importantly pet friendly.
Leaving the best for the last-Ben's breakfast was simply awesome. The Salsa fritata was delicious....and the overall spread was good. Also, unlike most B&Bs where I have stayed, Ben was helpful and answering questions without being overbearing, and gave us our time and privacy-which was appreciated.
I highly recommend this place for Ski trips - or hikes to the nearby mountains.

Room Tip: Get the bushkill room-its cheaper and has a bathroom down the hall-the key is that the bathroom is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

So glad you had a restful and relaxing weekend with lots to do as well. It was a pleasure having you and he pooches! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

I recently stayed here while visiting family in the Catskills. My daughter and I had a wonderful time. The room was very comfortable and the owner was so helpful. The best part was breakfast!!! Yummmmmmy! I think my family will have to get used to us stayin here instead of there place every time we visit!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYerDowneast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thanks so much! We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast. The baked French toast is our signature dish, but everyone loves the spinach quiche too. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We recently stayed at RR B & B and will be going back on our next visit to the area. The accommodations were very nice and we were treated to a nice breakfast every morning and a friendly staff.
We stayed in the retro/vintage suite which was actually a basement apartment (ground level, but low) and found it to be charming and spacious. It had full size windows and a walk out door, but it felt bsmt-ish, but not in a bad way. We'd request it again. Having a soaking tub and 2 bathrooms/2 bedrooms for a family of 4 is a luxury.
Ben was able to accommodate all our needs and went out of his way to make our stay comfortable.
It is located conveniently for skiing at Belleayre and the discount lift tickets made it very budget friendly. Our sons felt right at home and really enjoyed themselves even when weather did not allow skiing on one of our days there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thanks so much! We're glad you liked the Retro Suite. Even being in the basement, it's one of the most popular rooms in the house. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Where to start? I found River Run by randomly google mapping the area around Belleayre as I was planning a family ski trip. We'd never stayed at a bed and breakfast before but we're glad we gave it a try!

River Run is exactly as advertised: a down to earth bed and breakfast in a very convenient location to several ski spots. Although a bit dated, the place is clean, spacious, welcoming, full of charm and family history. Ben, the knowledgeable, friendly, and extraordinarily accommodating innkeeper alone would make staying at RiverRun already worthwhile, but the place itself did not disappoint.

We stayed in the Retro Suite since there were five of us (this suite takes up the whole basement, with two bedrooms: one with a king size bed and connected bathroom with a shower, the other w/ two twins connected to a bathroom with a tub. A futon in the kitchen/living room area makes it possible to sleep 5. Believe me: A room that can sleep five is hard to find!

The suite came with a full kitchen, pots, pans, a full size fridge, sink, microwave, and cupboards. There was an old crt tv and vcr in the living room (no dvd player, but we weren't too phased by this since there was plenty to do upstairs). Beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of closet and drawer space. The shower's a bit small, but it works. The sink in the twins bedroom had two separate faucets for cold/hot water, too old school so I used the one in the kitchen.

Breakfast was provided at 8am (thru 9), consisting of one "hot item" (I think it various between either a quiche or french toast - the quiche was delicious!, French toast a little sweet), fresh fruit, granola, dried fruit, cereal, danishes, muffins, bagels, yogurt, coffee, tea, orange juice, and hard boiled eggs. Note: no meat, except eggs. I know it’s healthier but I need protein, thank god for the eggs!

We stayed over christmas weekend and the place was beautifully decked out. My favorite part was the living/common room with the enormous christmas tree and gas-powered fireplace. Plenty of movies, books, various reading materials here and comfy seating. Ben even let us roast marshmellows in the fire!

Speaking of the innkeeper. I could list out all the ways he helped us out that weekend but that would be too much. From dining recommendations to making sure our heat was just right, Ben was outstanding. We chatted for a bit and he explained a lot of the oddities you find (and can see in the pictures) in the living room area. A tip: ask him about some of them and you’ll get quite a few great stories!

SUMMARY:
All in all, for those looking for a more modern feel, look elsewhere (perhaps the Roxbury, which is twice as much). For those looking for a simple and homey experience, at a place with a lot of character and great service - this is the place for you! If that isn’t enough, RiverRun also carries discounted lift tickets for Belleayre - $30 for a full mountain day pass. Totally worthwhile.

From all of us sheltered city-dwellers, thank you Ben for a wonderful stay in the Catskills!

Room Tip: i took pictures of some of the third floor rooms, I highly recommend these if you want less noise (f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theurbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank so much, and GREAT photos! You really captured the spirit of the inn during the holidays. It was a pleasure having your family here, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We live in Brooklyn and were looking for a quiet escape from the city. Neither of us had spent much time in the Catskills... and we don't ski or own a car. Through random googling, we found River Run. The Trailways bus stops in Fleischmanns, which was a big attraction. There is also a car rental (Sensible car rentals -- also recommended) one stop away in Margretsville (the rental car proprietor met us at the bus stop and drive us to the car rental) -- another plus.

The room and house were as advertised: informal and low-key. Ben, the proprietor, was always on-hand to answer questions, but never intrusive or awkward. He gave us great recommendations for hikes and food both nearby and within a short drive. Ben is also very knowledgeable about the small community of Fleischmanns, which gave us a great sense of context for our surroundings. Btw, definitely check out both the "White" and "Black" house... and the tortas at the gas station cafe.

Breakfast was great and ample. His veggie quiche and baked French toast were especially delicious.

We stayed in the Bushkill room, which has a private bathroom down the hall. This was totally fine -- and we saved a few bucks.

We would not hesitate to recommend River Run to others!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thanks so much for the review! It was a pleasure having you here over the holidays, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband, fourteen-year-old daughter, and I spent one night here. Years ago, we had owned a weekend house in the Catskills. We loved the area and wanted to return to show our favorite places to our daughter. When we made our reservations, Ben was very helpful and welcoming. He helped us find a stable, Stone Tavern Farm, where our daughter could go horseback riding. Going to that farm was an enchanting experience, in and of itself. My daughter had a great time on her ride, and my husband and I enjoyed looking at the farm animals while enjoying the fresh air and beautiful scenery.

We were familiar with the area, especially with the town of Andes, where we had owned our house. We enjoyed a delicious and informal dinner in Andes at the Cha-Cha Hut Barbecue. We also enjoyed the many interesting shops that were there. Of special interest to our daughter was Clementine, a vintage clothing shop, where she purchased a lovely blue satin dress with sequined trim.

At the River Run, we stayed in the prettily decorated Delaware room. It had a king-sized bed and a twin bed in an alcove for our daughter. It was comfortable and quiet, and all we needed. We slept like babies. One of the best parts of our stay was that Ben provided excellent and expert help when we needed it, and did not otherwise intrude on our plans. We knew what we wanted to do, and River Run was an excellent place to stay while we revisited the many places we loved. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacher1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Thanks for the review! It was a pleasure meeting you. We're glad you enjoyed the Delaware Room, and happy your daughter was so enchanted by all of our garden gnomes! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The B&B home is old and shows wear. Yes, there are small nicks, cracks and scratches in this place. You are NOT going to a polished, modernized home. HOWEVER, if you are looking for a quiet retreat, nestled in an area full of scenic beauty and quaint, inviting towns then this IS the place for you. Ben (the host) was very warm and friendly, ready to answer any questions and he was full of good information on the area. The rooms upstairs on the third floor are small, but comfortable. They share a bathroom (not too much trouble while we were there). The food was very good. The common room had plenty of games, a TV with VCR tapes and DVD's, and lots of antique items to look at. There is no parking lot, so you park on the street in front of the B&B.

The town itself is very small, but there are a myriad of places close by which provide a variety of experiences. Our favorite was Roxbury, about 20 min. away. Scenic drives were everywhere (try to find the old British telephone booth in the middle of a field)!

Overall, for the price and service you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kretgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Thanks so much for the review and the very accurate description! We're clean and comfortable, and have been described as "just like my eclectic aunt's house." Third floor rooms are great for folks on a budget, and the 2nd floor rooms each have private bathrooms and TVs. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
18.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
301 reviews
18.5 mi away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
293 reviews
7 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
241 reviews
3.1 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Pine Hill
29 reviews
6.8 mi away
Catskill Seasons Inn
Catskill Seasons Inn
#2 of 3 in Shandaken
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Address: 882 Main Street, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: £72 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills in Upstate New York. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast, located on Main Street in the Village of Fleischmanns, is close to all the Catskills has to offer: hiking, swimming, waterfalls, farmers markets, flea markets, skiing, antiquing, and more. The best hiking trails for every skill level are a short drive away. Second floor rooms have private bathrooms, third floor rooms have shared bathrooms, plus there's a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen on the ground level. Just 2 1/2 hours from NYC, and 15 minutes to the wedding venues in Roxbury, NY. Give us a call or check our website for real time availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing