We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for B&B lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stay at B&Bs. They're all different, and, even with websites and research, you really never know what you're gunna get. This is a well run B&B. The owner is fantastic. Kudos on the customer service skills. Always available, and had great tips on local places to check out (be sure to see Otter Falls or any other hidden waterfalls they recommend!). The inn itself is not pristine, but lovingly worn....picture an eclectic aunt's house. Fantastic antiques in the living rooms and public spaces (ask for a tour). Guest rooms are clean and cozy. Place could use some updating here and there, but it's fun and funky, and I am always uncomfortable in those super pristine inns and feel more comfortable in a B&B or rooming house, and this place has that feel. It's the country...and we got to stay in a relaxed, chill, laid back spot, and hike and check out farmers' markets and just enjoy nature.

Room Tip: Owner gave us a tour...all rooms are a little different! Third floor is shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thanks for the review. Yes, we are a laid back kind of place where you can put your feet on the coffee table! Kids and pets are OK too. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the River Run for 3 nights. It had no air conditioning and it was a bit run down. The wall paper in the room was not put on right, the molding was pieced together and it was in a run down part of town. Also, the town is taken over by the ultra orthodox from July 4th to Labor day. The surrounding area is beautiful. The local restaurants were great, especially the Pine Arms and the Andes. Excellent food. The Mexican restaurant in town was good and we also caught a nice country band there Saturday night and did line dancing. I would not go back..I am done with B & B's. They are creepy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed LaCabana Mexican, just a 2 minute walk from the inn and their live music, as well as the Pine Hill Arms. We do have great nearby restaurants! And all of the nearby activities in our area. Being a 126 year old Victorian in the mountains, we rarely need AC (got down to 48 degrees last night!). Not everyone is a B&B person, and I'm sorry you were disappointed in your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Charming and cozy bed and breakfast. Ben is so nice and accommodating. Great breakfast and house was so nice. Country and grandmas all in one. Near great hiking and other cute towns. Lots to do I the Catskills. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycsandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for the review! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Our room was spacious, clean and quite comfy. Our room faced the street, and despite the fact that the town has NOTHING going on, we were surprised by how much street noise there was late in the night. We didn't get up in time for breakfast, but grabbed muffins on our way out, which were delicious. We enjoyed the comfy chairs on the porch, and got a kick out of the kitschy decor downstairs. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for the review! Yes, Fleischmanns is a tiny town with not a lot, except for a great Mexican restaurant and a few little shops. Luckily we are centrally located in the Catskills and very close to some great hiking trails, kayaking and canoeing, tubing, train rides, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Being a resident of Manhattan, I like to get away to a quiet place on occasion, River Run was our choice this time and I don't regret it one bit. The more than century old house is Charmaine, cozy and it was like taking a walk back to the 1920s owing to the museum quality collection of pictures, games, nicknack's and furniture.

The rooms, and the entire house is extremely clean and the breakfast was healthy choices and fresh. Good coffee, too, thank god. The non-smoking policy works for me.

The surrounding area is some of the most beautiful mountain vistas, dotted with quaint villages and some rather good restaurants. Our parrot, Lucy, enjoyed sitting on the front porch and down by the stream.

Ben was extremely helpful with info about where to go to see sights and those quaint villages I mentioned.

We are planning to try to go back in August for a weekend visit, if all goes as planned.

Room Tip: The Delaware room is the best with its king size bed and little sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks so much for the review and glad you liked the Delaware room! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed several times at River Run last year, and plan to stay there again this year. The house is charming, and I loved to sit in the living room in the evening and read in front of the large fireplace. Breakfast is always delicious. Each day, there is one hot plate (french toast, quiche, etc.) and every one had me coming back for seconds. If you have picky children like me that only want to eat things that are known commodities for them, there is cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc. That was really appreciated, because rather than starting the day with whining, my kids managed to eat a full breakfast and hit the ski slopes fueled up. #Winning

If you're skiing, you will love the proximity to Belleayre. It's like 5 minutes up the road. The setting around the B&B is rustic. The Catskill mountains are beautiful.

In terms of noise, my experience was that the common areas are usually quiet on non-holiday weekends. Even if a couple guests are conversing, you can comfortably sit and read in the same room. One weekend (might have been President's Week, can't remember) the B&B was basically full and it was a bit more boisterous in the common area, but there are still plenty of nooks and crannies around the B&B if you're looking to have quiet time, without having to be in your room. For instance, there is a sitting area on the 2nd floor adjacent to the kitchen, and a TV/recreation room on the 3rd floor.

The owners are friendly and easy to work with when booking and upon arrival. During your stay, they will help you with any questions about the area or issues you are having. They don't hover and watch you all day, so I guess if you're looking for someone to dote on you, you might be disappointed (I saw a couple of critical posts earlier). For me, it was exactly what I was looking for.

My only critique has nothing to do with the B&B, but the surroundings. If you're looking to walk around a small quaint mountain town and go from shop to shop, that type of setting doesn't seem to exist in the immediate proximity. At least not in Fleischmanns or Pine Hill. Of course, since we were skiing most of the day, I didn't have a lot of time to drive around and find out about other neighboring towns.

For location, food, hospitality, value, and the charm of the building and its furnishings, this place is IMO a winning combination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

It's always a pleasure having you and the kids here. Thanks so much for the review, as it really reflects the spirit of the inn. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed two nights late October. Felt I was in my own home. Perfect. Though I prefer light breakfasts, lost my cool and couldn't stop. Highly recommended for the B&B crowd. First floor common areas out of a 1920's good novel (only the TV and quiet classical music background move it to late 20th C.)

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Thanks so much for the review! We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
18.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
288 reviews
7.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Address: 882 Main Street, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: £73 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills in Upstate New York. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast, located on Main Street in the Village of Fleischmanns, is close to all the Catskills has to offer: hiking, swimming, waterfalls, farmers markets, flea markets, skiing, antiquing, and more. The best hiking trails for every skill level are a short drive away. Second floor rooms have private bathrooms, third floor rooms have shared bathrooms, plus there's a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen on the ground level. Just 2 1/2 hours from NYC, and 15 minutes to the wedding venues in Roxbury, NY. Give us a call or check our website for real time availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing