We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a B&B Should Be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the River Run.
When we decided a Bed and Breakfast in the Catskills was what we were looking to experience we started researching every place we could find around Route 28. There were quite a few options. Some places were surprisingly very "Catskills Swanky". It was like the Hamptons meets the Catskills. Then we stumbled across River Run and read a few good reviews mentioning the innkeeper and the french toast.
That's when we decided "that" is what a B&B is about.
This was all we had hoped it would be. Ben (the innkeeper) was incredible. He went above and beyond the call of duty. He even made our reservations for us. It was like having a personal guide to the Catskills. He is born to do this, in my opinion. Without him the trip would not have been the same. (so be sure he is your innkeeper..it will make the difference between a good vacation and a perfect vacation)
The house was historically charming at over 100 years old.
This was the perfect mountain getaway and we would recommend this to anyone that needs to just relax and experience the Catskills.
I read a few reviews here that were very different then mine and all I can say is be sure you truly are looking for a Bed & Breakfast experience prior to booking this because if you go expecting it to be comparable to a Hotel in the city your going to be disappointed luckily for us that's our kind of disappointment!

P.S. the french toast was absolutely AMAZING! The best I have ever had!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thanks for the review and it was a pleasure having you to stay here. Yes, I suppose I am passionate about the area and want to share as much about it with my guests. Like giving them directions to a hidden local waterfall, or having home made local maple syrup (or as we call it "Tree Juice") available at breakfast. I'm glad you enjoyed a true B&B experience, and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for River Run Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The bed and breakfast was a very nice place to stay. We were in the Catskills for a wedding an stayed three nights. Ben, the proprietor, was very, very welcoming and provided a great breakfast including quiche, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, bagels, etc. The rooms were what you expect in a 120-year Victorian house. The house is decorated with items from the family. Floors creaked a bit, but added to the charm. Did not hear any other guests as expected. Fleischmanns' is not a resort town, but a few miles from a couple of nice small towns with ameneties. Very eclectic mix of people in the town. I don't agree with a previous reviewer that bed and breakfasts are 'creepy'. I don't remember seeing any ghosts!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gravesdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thanks for the review! No, we haven't had any ghost sightings here. ;-) And yes, Fleischmanns is far from a "resort" town, but is a short drive from Margaretville, Roxbury, Andes and Phoenicia, and not too far from Woodstock, where there is plenty to do. It's nice to be centrally located here in Fleischmanns. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stay at B&Bs. They're all different, and, even with websites and research, you really never know what you're gunna get. This is a well run B&B. The owner is fantastic. Kudos on the customer service skills. Always available, and had great tips on local places to check out (be sure to see Otter Falls or any other hidden waterfalls they recommend!). The inn itself is not pristine, but lovingly worn....picture an eclectic aunt's house. Fantastic antiques in the living rooms and public spaces (ask for a tour). Guest rooms are clean and cozy. Place could use some updating here and there, but it's fun and funky, and I am always uncomfortable in those super pristine inns and feel more comfortable in a B&B or rooming house, and this place has that feel. It's the country...and we got to stay in a relaxed, chill, laid back spot, and hike and check out farmers' markets and just enjoy nature.

Room Tip: Owner gave us a tour...all rooms are a little different! Third floor is shared bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thanks for the review. Yes, we are a laid back kind of place where you can put your feet on the coffee table! Kids and pets are OK too. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the River Run for 3 nights. It had no air conditioning and it was a bit run down. The wall paper in the room was not put on right, the molding was pieced together and it was in a run down part of town. Also, the town is taken over by the ultra orthodox from July 4th to Labor day. The surrounding area is beautiful. The local restaurants were great, especially the Pine Arms and the Andes. Excellent food. The Mexican restaurant in town was good and we also caught a nice country band there Saturday night and did line dancing. I would not go back..I am done with B & B's. They are creepy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed LaCabana Mexican, just a 2 minute walk from the inn and their live music, as well as the Pine Hill Arms. We do have great nearby restaurants! And all of the nearby activities in our area. Being a 126 year old Victorian in the mountains, we rarely need AC (got down to 48 degrees last night!). Not everyone is a B&B person, and I'm sorry you were disappointed in your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Charming and cozy bed and breakfast. Ben is so nice and accommodating. Great breakfast and house was so nice. Country and grandmas all in one. Near great hiking and other cute towns. Lots to do I the Catskills. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycsandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for the review! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Our room was spacious, clean and quite comfy. Our room faced the street, and despite the fact that the town has NOTHING going on, we were surprised by how much street noise there was late in the night. We didn't get up in time for breakfast, but grabbed muffins on our way out, which were delicious. We enjoyed the comfy chairs on the porch, and got a kick out of the kitschy decor downstairs. All in all, a nice stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back of the house
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks for the review! Yes, Fleischmanns is a tiny town with not a lot, except for a great Mexican restaurant and a few little shops. Luckily we are centrally located in the Catskills and very close to some great hiking trails, kayaking and canoeing, tubing, train rides, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Being a resident of Manhattan, I like to get away to a quiet place on occasion, River Run was our choice this time and I don't regret it one bit. The more than century old house is Charmaine, cozy and it was like taking a walk back to the 1920s owing to the museum quality collection of pictures, games, nicknack's and furniture.

The rooms, and the entire house is extremely clean and the breakfast was healthy choices and fresh. Good coffee, too, thank god. The non-smoking policy works for me.

The surrounding area is some of the most beautiful mountain vistas, dotted with quaint villages and some rather good restaurants. Our parrot, Lucy, enjoyed sitting on the front porch and down by the stream.

Ben was extremely helpful with info about where to go to see sights and those quaint villages I mentioned.

We are planning to try to go back in August for a weekend visit, if all goes as planned.

Room Tip: The Delaware room is the best with its king size bed and little sitting area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thanks so much for the review and glad you liked the Delaware room! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
18.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
7.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
116 reviews
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
96 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
209 reviews
18.5 mi away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Address: 882 Main Street, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: £71 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills in Upstate New York. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast, located on Main Street in the Village of Fleischmanns, is close to all the Catskills has to offer: hiking, swimming, waterfalls, farmers markets, flea markets, skiing, antiquing, and more. The best hiking trails for every skill level are a short drive away. Second floor rooms have private bathrooms, third floor rooms have shared bathrooms, plus there's a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen on the ground level. Just 2 1/2 hours from NYC, and 15 minutes to the wedding venues in Roxbury, NY. Give us a call or check our website for real time availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing