We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were in the area to spectate Border Collie Trials in Cooperstown. We researched the area and chose the River Run. We were not disappointed. It is charming and quiet. The Delaware Room was very comfortable, with enough room for us and our dog! Breakfasts were simple, but delicious, my favorite being the salsa frittata. Every morning the dish changed. The innkeeper, Ben is so pleasant and is so knowledgeable about local restaurants and hiking trails. He made our visit so easy. He even made a reservation for us, the evening we arrived. We loved sitting by the river, having our sundowner, with our dog by our side. Would recommend this B and B to anyone looking for tranquility and simple comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Your dog was so sweet! Thanks again, and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    25
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I were heading up to the Catskills unexpectedly. Because we made a last minute decision to go, calling to Bed and Breakfasts in the area they were either full or their rooms did not include a private bathroom. So, when we called River Run we were surprised that we were able to get a choice of a room.....so we did not have great expectations upon arrival. Ben, the owner has decorated the very welcoming living room and sitting room and various areas in the inn with collectibles from his family....what fun to explore and hear the stories associated with them. Our room was clean and comfortable. No air conditioning, but the ceiling fan and the cool nights made sleeping perfect. Breakfast was superb. What creative offferings. Ben and a few of the guests got us so interested in a local happening (in which they were performing) that we even headed out to a local pot luck and and their performance. We felt right at home throughout our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Delaware room and I thought it might be noisy as it was in the front of the house o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks for the review. Yes, last minute reservation are generally tough, but you got lucky as I had just had a cancellation for that room. The Delaware is great, as it's the largest room in the house (aside from the Retro Suite). And I'm so glad you got to have a true local Catskills experience while you were here. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

River Run is a very charming place; the room we had (Esopus) was big, quiet and comfortable; the breakfast was simply delicious, with a variety of food and freshly baked apples/quiches; Benjamin has been very friendly and recommended us some good trips known only to the locals; there is a quiet, nice porch where my wife and I enjoyed the late evenings. We are back in the city now, and miss it so much!!

Room Tip: The Esopus was great, I don't know about the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks so much for the review. Yes, the front porch is great for lazy summer afternoons. Also glad you enjoyed the Esopus room (it's one of the most popular as it has three stained glass windows that catch the morning light). If you're feeling like another country getaway from the city, we would be happy to host you again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the River Run.
When we decided a Bed and Breakfast in the Catskills was what we were looking to experience we started researching every place we could find around Route 28. There were quite a few options. Some places were surprisingly very "Catskills Swanky". It was like the Hamptons meets the Catskills. Then we stumbled across River Run and read a few good reviews mentioning the innkeeper and the french toast.
That's when we decided "that" is what a B&B is about.
This was all we had hoped it would be. Ben (the innkeeper) was incredible. He went above and beyond the call of duty. He even made our reservations for us. It was like having a personal guide to the Catskills. He is born to do this, in my opinion. Without him the trip would not have been the same. (so be sure he is your innkeeper..it will make the difference between a good vacation and a perfect vacation)
The house was historically charming at over 100 years old.
This was the perfect mountain getaway and we would recommend this to anyone that needs to just relax and experience the Catskills.
I read a few reviews here that were very different then mine and all I can say is be sure you truly are looking for a Bed & Breakfast experience prior to booking this because if you go expecting it to be comparable to a Hotel in the city your going to be disappointed luckily for us that's our kind of disappointment!

P.S. the french toast was absolutely AMAZING! The best I have ever had!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks for the review and it was a pleasure having you to stay here. Yes, I suppose I am passionate about the area and want to share as much about it with my guests. Like giving them directions to a hidden local waterfall, or having home made local maple syrup (or as we call it "Tree Juice") available at breakfast. I'm glad you enjoyed a true B&B experience, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The bed and breakfast was a very nice place to stay. We were in the Catskills for a wedding an stayed three nights. Ben, the proprietor, was very, very welcoming and provided a great breakfast including quiche, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, bagels, etc. The rooms were what you expect in a 120-year Victorian house. The house is decorated with items from the family. Floors creaked a bit, but added to the charm. Did not hear any other guests as expected. Fleischmanns' is not a resort town, but a few miles from a couple of nice small towns with ameneties. Very eclectic mix of people in the town. I don't agree with a previous reviewer that bed and breakfasts are 'creepy'. I don't remember seeing any ghosts!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravesdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks for the review! No, we haven't had any ghost sightings here. ;-) And yes, Fleischmanns is far from a "resort" town, but is a short drive from Margaretville, Roxbury, Andes and Phoenicia, and not too far from Woodstock, where there is plenty to do. It's nice to be centrally located here in Fleischmanns. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stay at B&Bs. They're all different, and, even with websites and research, you really never know what you're gunna get. This is a well run B&B. The owner is fantastic. Kudos on the customer service skills. Always available, and had great tips on local places to check out (be sure to see Otter Falls or any other hidden waterfalls they recommend!). The inn itself is not pristine, but lovingly worn....picture an eclectic aunt's house. Fantastic antiques in the living rooms and public spaces (ask for a tour). Guest rooms are clean and cozy. Place could use some updating here and there, but it's fun and funky, and I am always uncomfortable in those super pristine inns and feel more comfortable in a B&B or rooming house, and this place has that feel. It's the country...and we got to stay in a relaxed, chill, laid back spot, and hike and check out farmers' markets and just enjoy nature.

Room Tip: Owner gave us a tour...all rooms are a little different! Third floor is shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks for the review. Yes, we are a laid back kind of place where you can put your feet on the coffee table! Kids and pets are OK too. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the River Run for 3 nights. It had no air conditioning and it was a bit run down. The wall paper in the room was not put on right, the molding was pieced together and it was in a run down part of town. Also, the town is taken over by the ultra orthodox from July 4th to Labor day. The surrounding area is beautiful. The local restaurants were great, especially the Pine Arms and the Andes. Excellent food. The Mexican restaurant in town was good and we also caught a nice country band there Saturday night and did line dancing. I would not go back..I am done with B & B's. They are creepy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed LaCabana Mexican, just a 2 minute walk from the inn and their live music, as well as the Pine Hill Arms. We do have great nearby restaurants! And all of the nearby activities in our area. Being a 126 year old Victorian in the mountains, we rarely need AC (got down to 48 degrees last night!). Not everyone is a B&B person, and I'm sorry you were disappointed in your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
84 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spillian: A Place to Revel
Spillian: A Place to Revel
#1 of 3 in Fleischmanns
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Property: River Run Bed & Breakfast
Address: 882 Main Street, PO Box 9, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast invites you to enjoy the myriad pleasures of the inn, village and region. Our outdoor setting beckons you to explore its acre of backyard, which slopes gently to the Bushkill Stream. Enjoy the sound of the water while lounging in the hammock. A short walk brings you to tennis courts, village swimming pool, playground, and auctions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing