We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, Boring, Plain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Boring, Plain”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

Although I'm new to the B&Bs, we were fairly disappointed with the River Run. Ben is a very nice inn keeper, but the experience lacked any charm or romance that would make it preferrable to a regular hotel. It is a historic building that simply feels historic. The room was small and bland, lacking a phone, tv, and a clock. For the hundred dollars we paid, we would have preferred a bathroom and privacy.

  • Liked — Ben
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ramblerandagambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Ben Fenton, owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 September 2008
Thanks for your comments. In my opinoin, our rooms are quaint and charming. We don't pretend to be what we're not: an expensive, super-upscale inn. We advertise ourselves as a simple, clean, comfortable bed & breakfast. For value, our third floor rooms share a hall bath for $89 per night which includes breakfast. It is very clearly noted on our website that the rooms on the third floor do not have TVs. Clocks are available upon request, as noted in the check-in form (most guests didn't seem to want them when I placed them in the rooms - I found them unplugged and put in the bottom of dresser drawers). For $129 per night, you can book a larger room on the second floor with a private bathroom and TV in the room. As noted, the guests say they enjoyed the service provided by me, but were disappointed in the room. We have photos of the rooms on our website, and are very descriptive when guests call in to inquire or book reservations. In my opinion, we are a great value for a nice, simple lodging option. If you're looking for upscale luxury, we're not your spot! Thanks again for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    25
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

My husband and I spent two nights in mid-October at the River Run. It's a perfectly fine place - nice innkeepers, decent breakfast, reasonable room. I would not recommend that friends stay there if they had other options. We won't return. We were glad to find this place though - it was a last minute trip, and we have a dog that they happily accepted.

The room was rather cramped. We stayed in the Beaverkill Room - which had a queen and a twin size bed. It really didn't have room for the latter. Of the rooms we saw, the Espous looked the nicest. Our room was also not as clean as I would have liked. It wasn't really dirty - but more like what you'd expect when you visit a friend's place without calling ahead. That is, if I'm paying money to spend the weekend at a place, I want it to be cleaner than my own home. (There was a lot of dust and oddly - ladybugs - in our bathroom).

The inn is also on a rather unattractive street. The pictures on the web site suggest a much more bucolic setting. It's not very representative. Lastly, I didn't find Fleischmanns to be ideally located for our visit to the Catskills. However, if you're skiing nearby - it's probably perfectly located.

So in all - it's a fine place. If you have a dog - it's a very good option. It's not nearly as nice as some of the reviews posted here. But it's also not as awful as one reviewer claimed. I think that if you go w/reasonable expectations, you'll have a fine experience.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank clsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 February 2008
To respond to the reviewer's concerns:

1) The reviewer never mentioned any dis-satisfaction while staying at the inn.

2) We are very upfront about the room sizes on our website. We usually don't have guests with dogs in the Beaverkill room because of its' size but made an exception for these guests.

3) We do our best to keep the country lady bugs under control (monthly spraying, etc). We also have housekeepers who clean the rooms, and we will check afterward. I just wish the guest had let us know about the dust as we would have been able to address the issue with our housekeepers and correct the problem.

4) We are very clear on our website that we are on Main Street in a village setting. Fleischmanns is a village on the cusp of revitaliztion, and within a 5 minute drive of other villages and a myriad of activities.

Finally, we strive to make every guest experience a good one. We encourage guests to vocalize any feedback about the house while they are here so we might correct the situation and make their stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

I have dealt with many B&B's in my time - and more recently, for my July wedding, I spoke to /saw/considered at least a dozen properties in the Catskills area.

Hands down, Ben was the most knowledgeable about the area and the most helpful on all fronts. Period.

Whether I was looking for good places for meals, other places to house my guests, suggestions on interesting local attractions, or everything in between, Ben not only had an answer, but even anticipated my needs! Once, when my groom-to-be and I were headed out to our wedding site, he suggested a scenic short-cut...without our even asking! This is just one example of many little comments and ways Ben made himself helpful to us while we were in the midst of planning craziness. He was incredibly thoughtful.

Also the River Run is an adorable property - well-decorated and cozy on the inside, well-appointed with lots of video entertainment in the living room, impeccably clean, and last but definitely not least - breakfasts were generous and scrumptious! Also, I'm not sure if it's standard, but I recall brownies being out when we checked in...yum.

All in all, I would highly recommend a stay at the River Run. If you're looking for a memorable and comfortable stay in the Catskills area, lodging is definitely hit or miss at some of these independent B&B's - I know, because I had such a large wedding my guests stayed at practically every suitable place in the area! Not sure if it was those years that Ben spent working at the Westin Hotel (or one of those other large chains), but it shows in the absolutely impeccable service. Bravo!

  • Liked — Ben, the innkeeper. A total font of knowledge.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grateful_Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E. Patchogue, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2007

My husband and I had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend. We had a lot of things to do and were never bored.
Ben, the owner, was just so helpful in everything we did. If we said we were going somewhere, he would print out directions and he told us of many local happenings that were going on.
His inn is lovely and has a huge deck to relax on.
The breakfasts, every morning, were just the best. The last day of our vacation he even printed out the recipes for us.
We would go back again.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank gmcgowan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, N.Y.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

I saw the quaint house online looking for a resonable priced B&B near Magaretville, and fell in love with the River Run. When I called for info, Ben was so helpful with my questions, since I was booking for 4 couples with different needs. The rooms were all comfy, clean, with fans and country fresh air to cool the rooms. We all loved the stained glass accents that decorated each room, as well as the antique touches to the living and parlor rooms. But most of all, I have to say that Ben and Melissa's breakfasts were outstanding with their variety and presentation. They definitely made us feel at home. In the evening, we always rejoined on their beautiful wrap around porch, which was filled with gentle breezes and melodius sounds from the many chimes. A totally relazing experience.

  • Liked — the breakfasts
  • Disliked — no A.C. for really hot still nights
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2007

Pleasant experience with the River Run. Ben and Melissa were pleasant and full of info. Rooms were clean and maintained, showing nominal wear & tear. Linens were warm and comfy. House gets cool at night -just what you want to snuggle under the warm covers. All part of the charm of a 120 year old Victorian. Thanks Ben, we'll return soon!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rcarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Bed and Breakfast accomodations were very comfortable and charming. The hosts were friendly, patient and full of information and suggestions. The breakfasts were delicious!

  • Liked — The building was from the 1800s so the ambiance was great. Wireless Internet. Great accomdations in terms of bed and bathroom.
  • Disliked — The town is very depressed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try it - don't judge by the town.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Silverpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spillian: A Place to Revel
Spillian: A Place to Revel
#1 of 3 in Fleischmanns
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#3 of 3 in Fleischmanns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Property: River Run Bed & Breakfast
Address: 882 Main Street, PO Box 9, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast invites you to enjoy the myriad pleasures of the inn, village and region. Our outdoor setting beckons you to explore its acre of backyard, which slopes gently to the Bushkill Stream. Enjoy the sound of the water while lounging in the hammock. A short walk brings you to tennis courts, village swimming pool, playground, and auctions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing