We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Trip to the Catskills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Let me be the first to say that B&Bs are not my thing. However, Ben, the inn keeper was very accommodating and kind. We ended up having to switch our rooms because I did not want to stay in the retro suite. Ben was lovely. He gave us the option to choose from any other room available in the house. And thankfully there was no one else on the top floor of the house that would have to share the communal bathroom. Overall this is a lovely little retreat. There is on street parking, but the street seems quite and safe. I would recommend this to fellow catskill travelers.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks so much for the review. You're absolutely right: B&Bs are not for everyone. I'm glad I was able to swap rooms for you (it's about making the guest happy, right?). And that you had a great couple of days exploring the Catskills. Thanks again, and I look forward to your return.
--Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

My girlfriend and I wanted to get away from NYC for a long weekend and do something fun and relaxing (we're in our 20's work in NYC) without breaking the bank. We stumbled on River Run online and took a chance based on the good reviews and proximity to the city and skiing.

I have to say that we could not have been more pleasantly surprised! The proprietor, Ben, is just the nicest guy you will meet, He knows the area intimately and was a huge help to us in planning activities. He even went so far as to arrange some really special experiences for us such as linking us up with some of his friends in the area making maple syrup.

The inn itself is a charming old home in a quint, quiet town. Ben keeps the place nice and clean and we found the room we stayed in to be very comfortable. One of the things that set River Run apart for us is that we felt as if we were guests in our own home (there's a pantry, movie collection, etc available to use) which really helped me relax and enjoy myself.

While the BnB thing may not be for those looking for a pre-packaged type vacation, if you're the adventurous type willing to take the time to do a bit of planning upfront then I could not recommend River Run more. If you're comfortable doing a bit of driving an exploring, there are also some really interesting and fun things to do in the Catskills even if skiing isn't your thing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks so much for the review. I'm blushing a little. ;-) I do love the area, and I love hospitality. I'm so glad you got to go out to the Lazy Crazy Acres Farm sap house when they were boiling...it's such a cool experience. And yea, there are lots of cool & interesting things to do in the Catskills if you're willing to be a little adventurous. It was such a pleasure having you as guests, and I look forward to your return.
--Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I've stayed at River Run several years in a row and have never had a problem. The rooms are clean and comfortable, Ben is very attentive and the continental breakfast is delicious. The baked french toast is my personal favorite. In fact, I'm getting ready to contact Ben to book my next visit. If you're looking for a quiet, friendly B&B in the catskills, I highly recommend River Run. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I've stayed at least twice in Esopus and once or twice in Beaverkill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSG-SPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for the review. The baked French toast is a house favorite, although we do have quiche too that's great! Both the Esopus & Beaverkill rooms are great, as they can accommodate up to 3 - 4 people & have private bathrooms. Thanks again, and I look forward to your return.
--Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our second time staying at River Run and Ben never disappoints...he's an excellent host. Perfect location for skiing Belleayre (5 minutes away tops)....excellent breakfast and such a comfortable and very affordable inn to stay at. Ben will make you feel welcome whether you have 14 in your party (our first visit) or 4.

Room Tip: If you have a large party the third floor is perfect....several rooms with enough full baths to shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swells320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for the review. As you said, we're just 5 minutes (2 miles) from Belleayre Ski Center, yet you can walk down the street to dinner at LaCabana Mexican Restaurant (an advantage of being in the village). The third floor IS great for a group of 8 - 10, with a total of 4 rooms & 2 hall bathrooms. Thanks again, and I look forward to your return.
---Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stay in River Run in the winter as it offers such good access to Bellayre for skiing. While it does not offer a super smart environment that is what makes it relaxing especially especially with children as you are not worried about what might break. In fact Ben could not be more welcoming to families and skiers. Imagine going to stay at granny's house with floral wallpaper and attic-like rooms and that is what you have here.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for the review. Great sum up of the inn. Comfortable & relaxing, and family friendly is what we are. And it's not the end of the world if something accidentally breaks! I'm pretty laid back. Thanks again, and I look forward to your return.
--Ben


We stay in River Run in the winter as it offers such good access to Bellayre for skiing. While it does not offer a super smart environment that is what makes it relaxing especially especially with children as you are not worried about what might break. In fact Ben could not be more welcoming to families and skiers. Imagine going to stay at granny's house with floral wallpaper and attic-like rooms and that is what you have here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This has been our second year taking a skiing trip in the Catskills and our second yr coming to River Run. The breakfast is wonderful and there is tea in the afternoon, which after a full day of skiing is very relaxing. The owner, Ben, is very accommodating and hospitable and the house is very comfortable. We were also able to use a fridge on the second floor, allowing us to pack our lunches during the days of skiing. It is also very close to the ski hills. We have made this b&b part of our skiing tradition for two yrs now and hope continue in that!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britten313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for the review! Yes, the 2nd floor pantry is handy to store food and make sammies to take on your outings. It was great to have you here again this year, and I look forward to seeing you next ski season!
--Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed at River Run in early February and loved both the cozy and comfortable room and the wonderful hospitality. The house is furnished with a unique collection of antiques, art, and quirky little objects that give the inn a particular charm that you won't find anywhere else. The common rooms are nicely laid out with books and games and music to encourage "unplugged" entertainment and relaxation-- although there is wireless access throughout the house! Ben is a great host whose genuine concern for and attention to detail shines through especially in the delicious breakfasts he prepares. He also knows his corner of the Catskill Mountains like his own back yard, so be sure to ask him for recommendations on local attractions and restaurants. All in all, a restful and thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The Delaware room offers plenty of space to spread out and has a lovely, old-fashioned furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
1  Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Owner at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

YES! Quirky and fun is a very fitting description of the inn. Thanks for your comments, and compliments. I pride myself in knowing some very cool hidden spots in the area that I love to share with my guests. Hope to see you again soon!
---Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
3.4 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
18.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
18.5 mi away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
118 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
6.8 mi away
Catskill Seasons Inn
Catskill Seasons Inn
#2 of 3 in Shandaken
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Address: 882 Main Street, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range: £69 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills in Upstate New York. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast, located on Main Street in the Village of Fleischmanns, is close to all the Catskills has to offer: hiking, swimming, waterfalls, farmers markets, flea markets, skiing, antiquing, and more. The best hiking trails for every skill level are a short drive away. Second floor rooms have private bathrooms, third floor rooms have shared bathrooms, plus there's a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen on the ground level. Just 2 1/2 hours from NYC, and 15 minutes to the wedding venues in Roxbury, NY. Give us a call or check our website for real time availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing