We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Run B&B is a Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Run Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Fleischmanns B&B and Inns
Melrose Park, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“River Run B&B is a Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 2 February 2006

I have read a recent review of this wonderful Bed and Breakfast and I must say I am compelled to offer a second opinion. (Much more in line with the others I read prior to our stay.)

Folks who stay at River Run are interested in good clean accommodations, and a hearty breakfast to get them on their way for whatever daily activities await. We were at RR during the Holidays to ski and spend time in the area with family. The rooms were most comfortable, warm, and especially clean. The service was outstanding: from delicious breakfasts of freshly baked breads and quiches or other casseroles in the mornings, to the just baked cookies or brownies warm from the oven in the afternoon. Cold and hot drinks were always available.

The housekeeping staff was friendly and made us feel at home throughout our stay. And when we asked, it didn't take long for Ben to bring out a menu for a nearby restaurant, or to recommend a place for a quick snack on our way home. Both recommendations were excellent choices!

If one is looking for a bleak and bland room with a stark decor, I expect the coziness of Ben's unique decorator touches, and family heritage momentos for conversations and imaginations would not be appealing. For the rest of us, I say, "Let's go back soon"!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhougen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    25
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saddle River, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2006

Just spent the best weekend of my life and it was mostly due to the lovely hospitality that I received while staying at the River Run Bed and Breakfast. I went upstate to do some skiing and fell in love with the quiet, wonderfully decorated Victorian and it's owners. Most NYC residents foolishly turn right when heading out of Belleayre Ski Resort, but I felt like the smart one and made a left, entering the sleepy village of Fleichmanns. The rooms were gorgeous, the linens elegant, and the common rooms so comforable. Our hosts were gracious and bent over backwards to make me feel at home. I can't wait to come back again. (And their breakfasts were deeeeelish!)

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinisRYummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2006

Just returned from a stay at the River Run B&B. It was not what I expected. The place was so in need of repairs. We had no heat, the "cozy" fireplace was not on, the bedding was probably from the early 80's and the towels were just as old. Breakfast was a disappointment. No eggs, bacon, pancakes, waffles, etc. We booked two rooms for a Friday and Saturday night, but left on Saturday and ate the cost just to get out of there. Sorry Ben, but you really need to invest in some renovations, updates, etc. before you have people over.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverrun, Ben & Melissa Fenton, owners at River Run Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2006
This guest made no mention of being unhappy with anything about the inn during his stay. To specifically respond to his comments: 1) The heat in the house is kept at 68 degrees in the winter. We provide oil filled electric radiators (very safe) if your room is chilly. 2) As a rule, we don't leave the gas fireplace on all the time. If we notice guests in the parlor, we'll turn it on. There is also a note on the fireplace that says: If you'd like the fireplace turned on, please let us know. 3) All of the linen was purchased new 5 years ago when we purchased the inn. 4) As menioned on our website, on emails we send out when guests are interested in staying at the inn, as well as in our confirmation letter, our breakfast consists of the following: one hot dish (baked French toast, quiche, etc), fresh baked bread (banana, pumpkin, etc), English muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, dried fruit, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereals, oatmeal, orange juice, milk, coffee & tea. 5) At 4pm, the guest who booked the 2 rooms informed me that due to the forecasted overnight snow, they all were leaving and heading to their next destination. I told him that I'd have to charge him for the night unless I was able to rent the rooms. They left about 5pm, and I was unable to re-rent the rooms for the evening. If at any point during his stay he had mentioned being unhappy with the inn or his accommodations, I would have tried to rectify the situation or offered him a refund.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 September 2005

Two summers ago we "discovered" this inn in the Catskills and were instantly charmed, so much that we have returned countless times, whenever we can. Staying at River Run is like staying with friends -- but our friends never made us such delicious breakfasts, nor took time during the day to bake brownies so we could magically find them on a plate in the dining room as a late-night snack. Inn keepers Ben and Melissa are so welcoming and so generous with all guests, providing whatever you need (maps, directions, suggestions of what to do that day, extra towels to take to the nearby lake, dinner reservations) so you have a wonderful stay in a beautiful part of the Catskills. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 August 2005

A very pleasant experience. A comfortable room in an unpretentious B&B, where we were made to feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious and satisfying. We especially enjoyed the baked french toast and the quiche. Best of all was our host Ben, who was available for assistance while still affording us the privacy we appreciate. His expert help in locating hiking trails and lending us books and maps for our excursions were greatly appreciated. We both agree we would be happy to stay at the River Run again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 June 2005

My wife and I spent the holidays at the River Run Bed & Breakfast and in a word it was perfect. We have stayed at a total of twelve B&B's in seven states over the years. River Run is our favorite. The Inn encapsulates all that a bed and breakfast should be. Many of the places we have stayed at in the past have fallen short in one way or another so we were elated when we stumbled upon this one.
Upon our arrival we were pleased to be greeted in person by the innkeeper. The house is absolutely beautiful. The vibe is unpretentious and inviting. It was the first time I can say we truly felt at home.
The service is top notch but you will never feel like your being stalked. There is so much property for the kids to play and it was easy to keep an eye on them while we had our feet up in front of the fire. There are so many reasons why we loved River Run but it’s everything combined…it just feels right.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleischmanns
6.9 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
87 reviews
4.4 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
216 reviews
7.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Breezy Hill Inn
Breezy Hill Inn
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
96 reviews
3.1 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#1 of 2 in Pine Hill
27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spillian: A Place to Revel
Spillian: A Place to Revel
#1 of 3 in Fleischmanns
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Bed & Breakfast

Property: River Run Bed & Breakfast
Address: 882 Main Street, PO Box 9, Fleischmanns, NY 12430
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Fleischmanns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fleischmanns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — River Run Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning bed and breakfast in the heart of the Catskills in Upstate New York. Our comfortable and unpretentious bed and breakfast, located on Main Street in the Village of Fleischmanns, is close to all the Catskills has to offer: hiking, swimming, waterfalls, farmers markets, flea markets, skiing, antiquing, and more. The best hiking trails for every skill level are a short drive away. Second floor rooms have private bathrooms, third floor rooms have shared bathrooms, plus there's a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen on the ground level. Just 2 1/2 hours from NYC, and 15 minutes to the wedding venues in Roxbury, NY. Give us a call or check our website for real time availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your River Run Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing