We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of depressing but OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Floral Park Motor Lodge

Floral Park Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Floral Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Floral Park
New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kind of depressing but OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

From the outside, a good-looking motel on an Anywhere, USA commercial street with the charm of an auto salvage yard. Actually, there was a garage across the street. You enter and talk to a clerk of few words in a booth which looks like it belongs in a convenience store in a bad neighborhood.

The room was dark with windows at a level more at home in a basement, and had a worn-out bedspread/comforter on top which Anthony Melchiorri would have yanked off if it had been an episode of" Hotel Impossible." The bathroom smelled a bit of mildew and that comforter had a faint body odor. We promptly sent it to the floor. The refrigerator did not get very cold, and there was no microwave which is often paired with a fridge these days. The maids outside the room were noisy in the morning as well. The bed was all right. I did not eat breakfast.

The pickings in this area are pretty slim, but I have to say we were disappointed based upon the other reviews here. Maybe it is cheaper than the Radisson, but the rate was still more in line with what I expect to pay at a high quality motel chain in a small town, and this experience fell below that. BTW, the original town of Floral Park, few blocks behind the motel, is charming. It is too bad there appears to be no place to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    43
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
22
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a nice hotel at a reasonable cost. This hotel has many amenities in the area. I was recommended this hotel by a friend who lives in the area. The first night I stayed at the Radisson in Queen for the price of two nights at Floral Park. Radisson was over price with small room, no fridge, no free breakfast or parking. Here you receive all that plus Wi-Fi. I was very satisfied with my stay. It was clean bathrooms were updated and the toiletries have soap from bath and body works. I enjoyed my two nights three day stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetSugar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Reviews were right - this is the only place to stay in Florial Park NY. Hotel has two buildings with parking between the buildings and a smaller additional lot in the back as well. We did a car show at Belmont Racetrack and it is about two miles from there. Other hotels in area had so few parking spaces people were parked on the sidewalk. Glad me picked a winner. Very nice continental breakfast with lots of good pastries and bagels. Very clean place, felt right at home.

Room Tip: Three story hotel and has elevator. Great parking for any size car, suv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carshowjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redpup33
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel to be close to my family in Queens recently.
They had also stayed there during some renovations in the past few years. The reviews of nearby hotels were pretty terrible. Floral park was very nice. Decent sized room, nice bathroom, clean room. The free continental breakfast was nice too. Just a cute little room with a decent stock of bagels and cereal etc. it was a nice place to come back to after a long day out. I stayed during the heatwave too and my room was very cool and comfortable and i had control over the aircon. I'd definitely stay there again. Its not fancy but it's quiet and clean, lots of parking (free i think) and reasonable rates for the area.
My only issue was when i called from Canada the person answering the phone was kind of rude and hung up n me at first. They were fine when i checked in though. Not overly friendly but fine.

  • Liked — clean, breakfast, quiet
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank redpup33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. If you want to go to Manhattan it's good because its close to LIRR. Cost of the trip is $44 for 2 adults if you travel during peak times. It has a CVS pharmacy almost directly across the street which has almost anything you would need. The rooms are very clean. Everybody on their staff are really cordial also. It's not a bad drive to JFK from this hotel either.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights to attend a funeral and associated celebrations nearby. I grew up several miles away, but in a more suburban location. Floral park straddles the Queens and Nassau line, and hotel is right on Jericho Turnpike, with has a decided urban flair. Yet, only a block or two off Jericho feels completely suburban. I don't know the age of the motel, but it has a decided 1960s feel about it. Everything we saw was in tip-top condition. The rooms were clean, the amenities provided in the bathrooms were varied and of high quality, an iron and ironing board were provided in every room, and the small refrigerator worked. The bath/shower was easy to get into and operate, the water was as hot as you wanted, and it was easy to regulate. The continental breakfast provided in the morning offered varied, though generally overly sweet choices. The helathy choice was probably a bagel with a banana and perhaps a bowl of raisin bran. however, one also had the option of several highly sweet pastries, including chocolate donuts. I confess to having tried and even enjoying one of the chocolate donuts. Coffee was strong, hot, and good. The reception staff are behind bullet proof glass and this was a bit off putting, but I gather it is not unusual in the area. We walked the area during the day and I walked once in the evening and found it very safe. I recommend not looking across the street at the mammoth Liquidation facility, which looked like the gross between a gigantic junk yard and the world's largest thrift store. It did not exactly lift up the setting to dwell on this aspect of the location. Bottom line, of the two other nearby hotels, one the alternative hotel we had considered was unavailable because they had no hot water. This was definitely the right choice. And, at $101 per per night plus tax, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights for the Belmont Race. The hotel is nothing fancy, but everything was adequate at a great price...clean bedding, a refrigerator in the room, and the room was quite spacious; There was ample parking which was what sold me on this place, as the other two hotels in the area do not have enough parking. There's a free continental breakfast (just the basics, but in a room with seating and a TV). The best thing was the location, as it was within walking to the Belmont track, and we felt perfectly safe, both in the hotel and in the neighborhood. There was a great restaurant within walking (Nancy's, which I highly recommend). Be prepared for the bulletproof shield at the check-in desk!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floral Park
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Floral Park
Quality Inn Floral Park
#2 of 2 in Floral Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Queens
Howard Johnson Inn Queens
#1 of 2 in Queens Village
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
3.5 mi away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floral Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floral Park Motor Lodge

Property: Floral Park Motor Lodge
Address: 30 Jericho Tpke, Floral Park, NY 11001-1702
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Floral Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Floral Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Floral Park Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Floral Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floral Park Motor Hotel Floral Park
Floral Park Motel
Floral Park Hotel
Floral Park Motor Lodge New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing