We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the pros and cons”
Review of Super Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super Lake Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Travelled with son for one overnight stay before flying overseas. We arrived at 11 PM from LaGuardia. Taxi driver did not know location of this hotel but we had the address and a map. Cost was about $20US for about a 15 minute ride.

No airport shuttle available to the hotel. But, the hotel provides a convenient, flat rate taxi from the hotel to JFK for $22US or to LaGuardia. It is a Chinese operated taxi but the driver speaks English. (I speak Chinese so had no problem).

PROS: Got reduced room rate at senior's rate (aged 50 and up). This is a basic hotel located in Chinatown, but quiet, clean and comfortable and popular with Asians (judging from guests in the breakfast room). Our room, with two full (double), pillow top beds was spacious - lots of room for luggage. Room looked just like hotel photos. So, I do not understand the previous reviews about small rooms (maybe a one-bed room?). Flooring is wood with area rug around beds.

You must insert room card to get "power." This process is very common in hotels throughout Europe and Asia to save energy. So, room may be hot when you return.

Air conditioning worked well. Free WIFI slow but OK. Free local and free US long distance calls a real bonus. Microwave and small in-room fridge also good (and clean).

Breakfast is basic continental with boiled eggs, and some items had "run out" by 9 AM. Breakfast room is very bare bones, clean, no decor - so just eat and run.

Staff stored our bags in a spare room adjacent to the check-in desk at no charge. We took the #7 metro/subway (or called "train") into Manhattan to Grand Central Station. The last stop on the line is Times Square. The walk to the metro is 10 minutes and the trip took about 45 minutes. Train was very packed even during non peak periods. The area is quite safe during daytime. Prince Street from front door of hotel looks commercial - warehouses and parking lot across street.

CONS: Too far to Manhattan and tourist attractions. We stayed at the Red Roof Inn, Manhattan on a previous visit. (Very good). That location is more convenient for sightseeing but at a higher price.

Lobby does not look like photo. There is no real lobby and staff at check in are quite casual but helpful and their English is good. There is no "concierge" but staff can provide good information for getting around.

Our room did not have a balcony but we did have a view of Manhattan and LaGuardia airport.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank valueaddedCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

Nice clean motel. Good rates, nice staff, rooms are great, doesn't take but a few minutes to cool the room down didn't figure out how to control the thermostat but just push the small the on the plug to turn it off for a little while. No big deal. Close to CitiField for the ball games and the 7 train to Time Square. We will definately be staying there for our next trip to see a ball game.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank halfpint6799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rriflushing, Manager at Super Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Hello HalfPiny6 Guest!

Thank you for the great comments you made about our Red Roof Inn in Flushing, NY! We are very proud of our front desk team and also our housekeeping staff. We are very glad you had a very enjoyable stay here. Our hotel is still very brand new, we opened just in the fall of 2010 and as you know very close to the Flushing, NY Chinatown.

I'm glad you were pleased with the rates we offered. For a big city and great location, we definately want to focus on great value for our customers here at Red Roof Inn.

I am sorry you experienced problems with the thermostat system in the room. It's somewhat new technology along with our Go Green Initiative of energy saving features in the room. My staff would be glad to show you all the neat operational features of your room when you come back and see us again.

I know you came to see us for the ball game at Citi Field, in fact, I hope you were able to enjoy the great view of the ballpark from your room! The holidays are coming up in NYC, I hope you and yours will find the chance to come visit again in the near future. We've recently expanded our continental breakfast selections.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,

Jean Yuan, Assistant Manager
Red Roof Inn Flushing, NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We had to make a last minute reservation on the night prior to the marathon and did not know what to expect when we called the Red Roof Inn. All of the reasonable hotels were sold out, so we didn't think we'd be able to get a room for the night since the Red Roof offers low price rooms. Lucky for us, the lady on the phone was friendly and helpful and we were able to reserve a room within minutes. Check-in was swift. The room we stayed in was small but clean, cozy and modern. The bathroom was excellent and had a great shower. The view from our seventh floor window was a nice touch as well. I would definitely stay at the Red Roof Inn -- Flushing again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serakwiatek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The good news is: This is about the cheapest advertised price brand name hotel that you can find in the area via web aggregators. It is in a safe neighborhood with lots of cheap good Asian food nearby. It is four short blocks from the end of the number 7 train which goes to Times Square. The desk staff is gracious. This is a new building and the rooms are very clean. As a result, this property is free from the bedbug epidemic in older, more central properties. The neighborhood is quiet and safe and many opportunities for cheap massage are nearby. From my room (704) I had a very nice view of the city.

The bad news: Hotels.com advertised a complementary shuttle from LGA. I see that they already have taken that notice down. It is only a $15 cab ride, but I waited in line for 80 minutes to get that cab. The wireless is free but profoundly unreliable; I had to steal from someone nearby. That view? Well it will cost you, because you have no control over the AC and the afternoon will raise the heat well over 110 degrees. If you take your key out of the in-room slot, the AC goes off. If you leave it in while you are out, housekeeping will take it out for you. It takes a good six hours to cool the room down, and then you cannot turn the AC off. There are no extra blankets.

Also, be aware that Hotels.com will do a bait and switch on the price. I ended up paying $50 per night higher than the advertised fee.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tedgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

At first glance, the room looks modern and clean. But as i walked in and actually looked, it became clear that they dont clean the room properly. The floor wasnt vacuumed, because we found water bottle and toys on the floor from previous owners and crumbs. And also found metrocards in the drawers. It was obvious that they didnt vacuum or dust the tables, otherwise they would easily see the stuff on the floor.
The inside of the microwave and fridge were dirty as well and sticky. they shouldnt include that in the room if they have no intention of cleaning it.
The back wall in the shower had stains, which would have been easy to wipe off, but they obviously didnt. Even during the few days we stayed there, they still didnt clean it.
For a hotel that just open, its already starting to be bad. It wont last long. The rooms could only get worse.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flashzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Go to NYC multiple times a year. Used to stay at Sheranton FLUSHING, but too expensive. Found this one this year and took a chance to give a shot. It turned out a really big surpise. The whole building is very clean and well orgnized. People are very friendly and helpful, very different from a lot of other NYC people. Room we stayed has elegant moden design, vanity, toilet, TV, and funiture. Bamboo hardwood floor looks very moden and elegant. The bedsheet and towels are so clean. It is worth evey penny we spent. We had told a lot of friends about this spot. So take your chance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorecuriousmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed in this hotel in august, hotel is not finished yet, also hotel area is not good. Our hotel room was dirty on arrival, had not been cleaned in fact all area inside hotel was dirty. The air conditioning unit could not be turned off and was too cold. There was no coffee/tea machine in the room, which is advertised on the website. However, the room had a fridge, microwave but these couldn't be used as there was no cooking utensils (cutlery, plates etc...). The TV channels were very basic. The breakfast was very poor, and the eating area was also very dirty. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estepa536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flushing hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#8 of 18 in Flushing
303 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada Flushing Queens
Ramada Flushing Queens
#11 of 18 in Flushing
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#5 of 18 in Flushing
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#7 of 18 in Flushing
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flushing Central Hotel
Flushing Central Hotel
#10 of 18 in Flushing
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flushing Hotel
Flushing Hotel
#16 of 18 in Flushing
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Lake Hotel

Address: 3631 Prince St, Flushing, NY 11354-4008 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Flushing New York - LaGuardia Airport)
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Flushing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super Lake Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Flushing is located in the heart of downtown. We are minutes away from USTA National Tennis Center (home of the US Open), Shea Stadium, downtown Manhattan and LaGuardia Airport. Guests may relax at the Botanical Gardens, Flushing Meadows Park, or enjoy a city tour of Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Flushing Hotel Flushing
Super Lake Hotel Flushing, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing