We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flushing Central Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Howard Johnson for one night in between flights and it was OK. We were greeted upon arrival by a very friendly man at the front desk and were allowed to leave our bags there while we went into the city for the day. Staff however for the rest of our stay were very unfriendly!

Rooms were average, not bad but nothing special. Our room was facing a really busy street with buses coming and going what seemed all day and night. Breakfast was very basic and area to eat it tiny!

Walk to the station is quick and the trip into the city takes just over 30 minutes.

We did stay at another hotel in the area the night after and there really is no comparison- so perhaps that swayed my perception- but we won't go back unless no other options are available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoFlushing, Manager at Flushing Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the unfriendly service from our staff during your stay. Your experience with our property was not the quality of service that we have promised to provide to our guests. Our promise is something that we strive to very guest every day. There is no excuse that our staff did not fulfill that promise in your case. Please accept our apologize. We would like to provide special rate on your next visit to our property. We look forward to the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was visiting New York to watch the New York Mets and found Manhattan hotel prices prohibitive so we decided to stay in Flushing, one stop on the 7 Subway from CitiField. This part of flushing is very Chinese, lots of Chinese markets, stores and restaurants, certainly more authentic than Chinatown. The hotel is located a short walk from the Subway just off 38th Avenue. The hotel manager was fantastic welcoming us every time we came into the hotel and the other staff were also friendly and welcoming. The room was quite good, bed, modern TV etc. and good bathroom. The hotel is under the flight path so can be quite noisy depending on which direction the planes are landing from. There is breakfast available in the Lobby but get down early! Wi-Fi is free but was a bit slow. Flushing is on the 7 Subway line which runs right into Times Sq. on Manhattan. I felt very safe in the area and was quite happy walking around at night. An excellent Budget option if visiting New York and handy for the Mets and Tennis at Flushing Meadow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoFlushing, Manager at Flushing Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your stay at our property. Thank you for taking your valuable time to write comments about your stay. We are pleased that you had a nice stay with us. Please feel free to advise us if there is anything to improve our service, amenities... We are looking forward to seeing you here on a MET match or the US Tennis Open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HoJoFlushing, Manager at Flushing Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at this Howard Johnson for a few days right after Labor Day (2013) to go to the US Open. I booked my room at most a week in advance. It's a 20-25 minute walk to the Tennis Center. The people who work at this lovely little hotel (32 rooms) are as nice as can be. The Chinese atmosphere is endearing. Even Chinese satellite TV. But really, quality TV wasn't on my agenda. I stayed here solely to go to the tennis tournament. I got to go to a couple nice little Chinese restaurants. What a great experience! The whole stay. The rooms are wonderful and the beds are comfortable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. One of the regular staff members tending the front desk even hand-drew me a map to walk to the Tennis Center. This place is a gem. All but one of the rooms simply has a large bed for two in it. A husband and wife going to the US Open? Book it! You're a short walk to the subway (the end of the line for the #7 train) and a 40-minute ride to Times Square to make your trip more varied.

Room Tip: There's only one room with more than one bed and it's right by the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Only a short walk to the subway (end of the line for the #7 train Flushing Main) and one stop to the tennis made this convenient and the price was right. We didn't have great expectations but were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed this small hotel. Staff were very friendly and we felt safe coming back even after midnight in this bustling Chinese neighbourhood. Great all day coffee and the breakfast of boxed cereals, bananas, bagels and toast was adequate. Room was small but clean and bed was super comfortable. We had a good little coffeemaker and fridge in the room, plus a room safe. Wifi worked well. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skimarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flushing hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Flushing Queens
Ramada Flushing Queens
#11 of 18 in Flushing
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flushing Hotel
Flushing Hotel
#16 of 18 in Flushing
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#9 of 18 in Flushing
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#5 of 18 in Flushing
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Flushing/LaGuardia Airport
1.5 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flushing Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flushing Central Hotel

Address: 135-33 38th Ave, Flushing, NY 11354-4416 (Formerly Howard Johnson Flushing)
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Flushing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range: £96 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flushing Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flushing Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Laguardia Airport East Hotel Flushing
Howard Johnson Flushing
Flushing Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Flushing
Flushing Central Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing