We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless you are hard of hearing....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flushing Central Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Reviewed 11 September 2007

My first and probably last time at this hotel. Don't take me wrong.
The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate my needs. The rooms are nice and clean. Bathrooms are smart and clean. Free Wireless Internet. Breakfast... well, it is simple fare and free, however, they only have two tables, and one of them is outside the lobby.

The hotel is just two blocks away from the Subway 7 Flushing station, and four blocks from the LI Railroad station as well. So, transportation-wise is very convenient, with Express service into town in the morning and back in the evenings.

The problem is NOISE... The rooms lack heavy draperies, and only have mini-blinds. The windows have thin glass, therefore, inside the room is going to be noisy! Across the street of the hotel, there is a bus layover area. The buses begin to arrive very early in the morning! Moreover, the hotel is on the landing path to La Guardia... and, oh, yes, you would never know how many planes land at La Guardia!

I asked to be changed to a room in the back of the building. As I said, the staff was accommodating, but the difference in noise level was minimal.

Unfortunately, during my stay, the St. George's Church bells (Across the street from the HoJo) were malfunctioning, and they rang with a full Westminster chime every quarter on the hour... starting at 9 PM, until midnight!! Certainly, this was not the hotel's fault, however, the lack of sound insulation in the rooms, ended adding injury to insult.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 4Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2007

I have no idea what the other two are saying: this was dismal! The rooms were tiny and not very clean at all. Would NOT recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank lawmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2006

Most of the airport hotel is very boring, no where to go. HoJo Flushing La Guardia East located at a busy retail and shopping area. We enjoy a lot of small shops, asian cusinie and shopping at Macy's Department 2 blocks from the hotel.

The color tone of the room is very modern and soho stye. It is very charming and attractive. Room amenities are sufficient.
The rate is lower than the other hotels such as Sheraton and Best Western. The hotel's atmosphere are more warm & friendly. It is worth to give it a try!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jlloveesps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
111
Reviewed 8 January 2006

A friend and I planned our first trip to New York for the new years. Due to some circumstances we had to change our housing situation and one of the places we discovered was this hotel in flushing (also known as the imperial hotel). We booked on orbitz so we got an internet special for the rates. As much as we wanted to stay in a hotel in the city, our budget wouldn't really allow us so staying in flushing was the next best thing. We heard all these horror stories about hotels in the city and we were a little apprehensive about the imperial hotel but the moment we stepped into the lobby we were impressed. It was very clean and organized. The front desk people were very helpful and sincere. There are about 8 floors with 4 or 5 rooms per floor. The rooms were a good size (fit 2 people comfortably) and very clean. I think the only problem we had with the room was that there wasn't much water pressure in the shower. Other than that, they offer complementary continental breakfast in the morning (which is just a few muffins, danishes & boxes of cereal) but free nonetheless. And there is one computer that has internet access in the lobby. THe staff is bilingual (english & chinese) and very considerate. There is always someone at the lobby desk to assist you or just chat with you.

The area where the hotel is located is near a main street (incidentally called Main St) full of little shops and asian restaurants. The subway (purple line 7) is about 2 blocks away and takes around 35-40 mins to times square. Also it is about 10-15mins away from La Guardia airport.

Overall, my friend and I enjoyed our stay and we would definately stay at this hotel again if we were to visit ny.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GemWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las plantas altas te mantendrán alejado del ruido nocturno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank kldallacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoFlushing, Front Office Manager at Flushing Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flushing hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Flushing Queens
Ramada Flushing Queens
#11 of 18 in Flushing
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flushing Hotel
Flushing Hotel
#16 of 18 in Flushing
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#9 of 18 in Flushing
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#5 of 18 in Flushing
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Flushing/LaGuardia Airport
1.5 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flushing Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flushing Central Hotel

Address: 135-33 38th Ave, Flushing, NY 11354-4416 (Formerly Howard Johnson Flushing)
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Flushing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range: £96 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flushing Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flushing Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Laguardia Airport East Hotel Flushing
Howard Johnson Flushing
Flushing Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Flushing
Flushing Central Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing