We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the title says...”
Review of Just Like Mother's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Just Like Mother's
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Polish
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just like the title says...”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Have had breakfast there a few times with my husband... delicious. It's well made, hearty, varied. Love that it has a splash of Polish influence as well (well more than a splash). :-) Really delicious, and the setting makes you feel like you're at someone's home.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank climbinggirlnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another find in Forest Hills”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I lived here in this neighborhood for many years but never frequented this establishment. With so many restaurants available, I just never bothered to walk the extra few blocks to dine here. This was a mistake. We were a party of 4 who had dinner which consisted of delicious soups, some polish specialities like perogies, and some speciality dishes. All very comforting. Mixed crowd, some seniors, some families, and your light bite young patron who read the paper with no pressure to leave by the wait staff. Much like in an eatery in Europe. Service was efficient, business like, and a limited staff was there that particular week night. Worth a try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hemlockforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool Spot”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

If you are looking for something you wont find somewhere else come check this place out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good polish food”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I come here once a month, and love the food. I am Polish, and this food reminds me of Poland.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marta784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“found roach in kibasa omelette”
Reviewed 13 November 2009

So i take my mom to this place on here birthday and at the beginning everything is good and we get our food and we are enjoying life, until i look and see my mom gagging into here napkin.
I ask her what happened and she points at her plate and there i see a fried little black cock roach. We could not believe our eyes.
So i tell the girl and she apologizes. And we have lost our appetite.
Then 5 minutes later she come back with a check !!!!!!! I'm like you gotta be kidding me !!! You want me to pay for our food. Here response was that she will not charge us for the plate that had the roach but would have to pay for other food.
I about lost it. So i showed the picture of the roach that i had took with my iphone to everyone eating at the restaurant and walked out.
I could not believe that she had the nerve to charge for our food after my mom find a roach in her food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Navyboy439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Just Like Mother's also viewed

Forest Hills, Queens
Forest Hills, Queens
 
Forest Hills, Queens
Forest Hills, Queens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing