We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting for a Romantic weekend.”
Review of Inn at Lake Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Lake Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Forestburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Red Hook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a Romantic weekend.”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Inn at Lake Joseph was simply amazing, beautiful landscape and property, ambiance of our room and main house was fantastic. We stayed in the Dogwood and the room was eloquently decorated in a country motif and extremely immaculate. Full delicious breakfast menu and make your own lunch was very refreshing and at no extra cost with our stay. Reminded us of a Bed and Breakfast. Our visit was in April so it was a bit cool but the hiking and boating was terrific. Plenty of sites and adventures near the Inn to enjoy, we stopped at the Monticello Casino on our way home which was a short distance away. Ivan the Inn owner and our hostess Michelle were amazing and gracious individuals. Thank you for making our visit so enjoyable, we will definitely will be back for a return visit. Highly recommend the Inn for a romantic escape from every day life.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry_knapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    46
    11
    16
    20
See reviews for
38
271
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I were looking for a bed and breakfast near enough to NYC to make it worthwhile for just one or two nights and we came across the Inn at Lake Joseph. We've now gone twice, both times in the winter, and had very pleasant experiences both times. The rooms are well-kept and romantic. We were able to go snow shoeing and winter hiking in the trails around the inn, which was a nice surprise. The only downside is that you have to drive quite a ways to get good food--although we had a wonderful dinner at Piccolo Paese, which I would highly recommend for a nice dinner. The breakfast in the mornings is very pleasant, although one of the owners has a proclivity for making small talk/telling jokes during breakfast, which was not really our thing since we were more looking to get away as a couple (that's definitely a personal preference though, don't let it stop you from going!).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I just spent a long weekend here and we had a great time. It is an old inn with a lot of history. Remember, old Inns are different from modern High Rise city hotels, so adjust your expectations accordingly.

They put out a great and varied breakfast. You can have just toast, juice and coffee, or go all out with an omelet, french toast, bacon, hash browns, and more. They also put out pastries, fresh fruit, and yogurt, along with a large variety of teas. Another nice feature is that they offer a self-serve lunch, that you can have when you want. They have cold cuts, a variety of bread, salads, lettuce, tomatoes, etc. The pastries are still out, sometimes they had soup. Also iced tea. All is included in your room rate. With the amount of food they provide, you don't have to do too much eating out.

The main house has several common areas where you can spend time reading (their book shelves are stocked), playing chess or board games (provided), along with a pool table. The enclosed veranda (where you'll eat breakfast) is also available throughout the day.

We didn't do much outdoors, so we didn't take advantage of the cross country skis or snowshoes that they have available at no charge. With the weather, we also couldn't use the pool or the lake.

Overall, it's a great place. Are there some issues due to its age? Yes there are, but nothing major. The owners are very good at keeping up with maintenance and cleanliness. The Inn has a great history, a lot of character, and is very charming. If you equate that sentence with 'old', then maybe this place isn't for you.

Tip: Go to their website at www.lakejoseph.com and be sure to check each room description carefully. Some have a full kitchen, some have a fridge/microwave, some have neither. Some have a couch, some have 2 club chairs. Some have a 1-person Jacuzzi tub, some have a 2-person Jacuzzi tub. Think about what's important to you and to your time away and be sure you choose your room accordingly.

I'll leave you with my high recommendation for The Inn At Lake Joseph. My husband and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There's a main lodge with several rooms. This is the building where you'll also have breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Inn. We felt welcome by Innkeepers, the place is very well kept. Our room was the Dogwood, we & our dog LOVED IT!
We walk to the lake & also did the Foundation Trail if was fun & enjoyed the snow all around.
We went to Horse back riding at Bridle Hill Farm which was a great experience. It's about 40 min from the Inn but the way to get there is nice!
At night we enjoyed The Fire Pit with a very nice couple we meet!
We would love to come back in another season to enjoy the Lake! This time was frozen!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omaha16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I just returned from a three day weekend at The Inn and couldn't recommend this B&B enough. At the outset, it is on the pricey side but we've paid the same for other places and felt like we got robbed-- not here. Two things you have to keep in mind, one of which is that it is expensive. The other thing to keep in mind about The Inn is it is rustic. It's in good shape and well maintained. This is a place for a relaxing romantic getaway and not for a party weekend. We were greeted by one of the three innkeepers who explained the grounds and how The Inn worked showing us a 24-hour "mini-kitchen" that has light snacks available and a little vending machine bar (very reasonably priced). We had a room that was in The Cottage which had two other rooms in the building. There was terrific hiking trail on the grounds (stumbled across a herd of about 10 white-tailed deer) and a scenic lake (we went in the winter so we didn't use the lake at all). Breakfast, which was included, was great and included a terrific selection. For dinner, you need to either cook in your room if your room has a kitchen, or go to one of the local restaurants, recommended or otherwise. We went to two restaurants that were surprisingly good (I say surprising because the neighboring community is definitely not touristy). All of the proprietors of the restaurants and The Inn were very gracious and we met each and every one of them. If you're desperate for a dance club, Monticello racetrack is about 10 minutes away and supposedly has a dance club, but we didn't go.

The room we had, The Laurel, was clean, spacious and perfect for a long weekend. The weather on the weekend that we went was not too good so we spent more time in the room than we otherwise would have. We had a fireplace, jacuzzi for two and a refrigerator. The terrycloth/cotton robes were a nice touch.

We're keeping The Inn in mind for our next romantic getaway in the spring or summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJH815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed at the Inn 2 weekends ago. I was a little nervous because of the mixed overall reviews for the property, and was pleasantly surprised. No - this is not a Four Seasons or W hotel. If you want those, go find one. This is an old (1800's) inn that has been through growth and evolution over the decades, while retaining it's old charm. We stayed in the main building which is 100% authentic - with thick plaster walls, cozy and quirky rooms and a great gas fireplace in the room. There was a big snowstorm expected, so we had calls from the lodge staff to ensure we would get there safely, they plowed the drive so it was easy to park, and really made us feel welcome. You're simply not going to get that at a modern hotel. Our trip was in winter so we did not use many of the leisure facilities, but they really have thought of everything - right down to a telescope and star chart. We spent one complete afternoon in our room, wrapped up in front of the fireplace and relaxing. And there is nothing we would have changed about it.

The sleep number beds are also great - very comfortable when you get the right number for you.

The Inn really cares about feedback and asked us if we had any suggestions on checkout to improve the experience (we had none). I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it for a weekend romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Stayed in Meadowlark. Very quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raverusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Do not go to this Inn. Despite all of the positive reviews, this place is not what is advertised...Luxurious???? There is nothing luxurious about this place. The room and the Inn is outdated and had a musty odor. To top things off, I had to boil water to put in the 2 person whirlpool bath as the water that came out of the faucet was tepid at best. Not my idea of luxurious, or romantic for that matter. The guest in the room downstairs from us had their TV turned on full blast. We came here to relax. Maybe read a book. I couldn't even hear myself think as their TV was so loud. The guests next to us sounded like they were constantly moving furniture around. When the Innkeeper came to our room to check out the noise level, he claimed he couldn't hear anything, that it was probably the wind, and suggested we turn our TV volume up to drown out the TV downstairs! Seriously?? For over $400 a night, I shouldn't have to boil water to enjoy a bath, nor should I have to turn my television up to drown out another guests. After staying for approximately 5 hrs, my husband and I left to drive home in the dark, forfeiting over $400. Happy Anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivan066, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
We regret that this guest had what appears to be a miserable time at our inn. As the reader might imagine, we’re in business here to give our guests great amenities and the tools for memorable experiences, not to chase them away before they even stay with us for one night; and we’ve been pretty successful at it for almost 30 years. The experiences this guest shared with us during her short stay here are still somewhat of a mystery.

At the risk of invalidating her, I can only share with the reader our experience of what occurred.
Some time after they checked in, she called to tell us that there was noise from a loud TV in another room and that she heard banging like furniture was being moved around. We immediately went to her room, but were unable to hear any disturbing noise. In any case, we asked the guests in 2 nearby rooms to please reduce the volume of their TV’s, as they might be disturbing other guests. About 30 minutes later she called again, and told us they were leaving the Inn. I returned to their room. This time she said she not only was hearing TV and the banging of furniture, she was also hearing small children running and yelling; yet we were unable to hear anything disturbing, and there were no small children staying at the Inn.

As for the hot water and odor problems that the guest mentioned in her review, she didn’t share those issues with us at the time. We can only assume that the water and odor issues occurred earlier in the day, and we would have been happy to make those things right if they had let us know what was happening. We do make every effort to be sensitive to guests’ needs, but we can’t help them if they don’t tell us they’re having problems.

The guests were charged for one night of their 2-night stay, and were given a credit toward a future night’s stay (on a space-available basis), as is our usual policy when someone cuts their stay short. We realize that these guests say they would not want to return, but we would ask them to consider this thought, which we’ve expressed on other occasions: Although no destination is perfect, we have earned the reputation of being responsive to our guests’ needs and requests, in addition to offering one of the most desirable getaway destinations in New York State. For almost 30 years, this reputation has been reflected in dozens if not hundreds of impartial guest reviews, as well as many articles by experienced professional travel writers throughout the country. Again, we’re sorry these guests were disappointed, but perhaps they might consider a second visit to experience what we are really all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestburgh
6.8 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
5.1 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
274 reviews
17.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
636 reviews
12.2 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
46 reviews
18.1 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lake Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lake Joseph

Property: Inn at Lake Joseph
Address: 162 St Josephs Rd, Forestburgh, NY 12777-6230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Forestburgh
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forestburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Lake Joseph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, with working fireplaces, whirlpool baths and private sundecks, is located in Upstate New York on a 250-acre private lake. Like resort lodging, Inn at Lake Joseph provides a variety of summer and winter recreational facilities, including access to a health and fitness spa. But unlike larger hotels, with just 18 guestrooms, a luxurious, yet informal, casual country retreat that assures guests a relaxing, private, rustic mountain lake environment awaits. Very much like the Berkshires, White Mountains, Adirondacks and Poconos, the Catskills surrounding the Inn offer spectacular scenes of lakes and rivers, as well as hiking trails with views of majestic peaks and isolated waterfalls. However, unlike these other regions, The Inn is no more than 2 hours from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Lake Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lake Joseph Hotel Forestburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing