We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Dogs Only”
Review of Inn at Lake Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Lake Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Forestburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2008

I rely heavily on the TripAdvisor reviews so I went ahead and booked a two night stay at this B&B. I can only say that these rave reviews bear little or no relation to the reality of this inn.
The non-working elements were; the air-conditioning, the shared computer. The staff consists of two people who openly bickered with each other in the shared kitchen over many issues.
Hidden charges: add 10% on top of any room rate to get the real room rate. The rationale is that this will cover the tips that you would pay the staff (both of them). Also, no matter what your experience you will pay for two nights.
We checked out after one night and the total bill made the nightly rate just short of $700.00. For that room rate I want to have a really great place.
This is not a really great place.
First of all it is almost exclusively for dog owners and their extended dog family. Dogs are everywhere you look including the pool and the lakeside and their refuse in under foot at all times. I had the bad judgment to wear suede shoes in a light green color which are now soaked in dog stool and dog hair.
Our complaints about the room (on a 90 degree day, it was hot without the air conditioner) were met with, "We have cups of ice in the kitchen." You could not sleep in the steaming heat.
This was not acceptable, making me wonder who on earth is writing these glowing tributes over and over.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AllenNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanForestburghNY, Owner at Inn at Lake Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2008

First, we did, indeed, have a non-working guest computer that had been put out of commission by a severe storm a day or two earlier. If any of our guests needed to check email, print boarding passes, etc., we were happy to make our main computer available to them. These guests just needed to ask.

As for the air conditioning, we can only think that the guests were unable for some reason to turn on the a/c, and a simple phone call to the innkeepers would have taken care of that problem.

With regard to our staff sounding like they were bickering, knowing the relationship they have with each other we do find this surprising. Nevertheless, we apologize on behalf of our entire staff. The more important issue is, however, that these guests don’t appear to have come into any real contact with our staff and innkeepers, who are really very friendly and enjoy being helpful.

The ‘dog stool’ topic is another example of lack of communication. Early this summer a pair of Canada geese nested near our lake, and left some calling cards. We told our guests both verbally and in writing when they checked in that it was not ‘dog poop’, but ‘goose poop.’ Most guests, both dog owners and non-dog owners, were understanding of this minor inconvenience.

As to the guests’ assertion that they paid almost $700 for a one-night stay: our policy is for a minimum 2-night stay during various times of the year, and we publish it both on our website and in our confirmation letter. It isn’t an unusual policy, by any means, and many properties require the same commitment. It the room can’t be re-rented because of a cancelation, we do charge our guests for both nights; however the charge for the unoccupied night is applied toward a future stay on a space-available basis with no time limit and is in gift certificate form so it may be transferred to another as a gift.

The final comment about being offered cups of ice in response to complaints about the room is a little bizarre.

We would like to leave you with this thought. We have earned the reputation of being responsive to our guests’ needs and requests—that’s why our hospitality is usually highly rated and we have so many good reviews on Trip Advisor as well as other websites.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2008

Had an amazing time on my honeymoon here they had a welcome package waiting
when me and my wife showed up after hours everything was clean and
comfortable it was also inviting like a country inn should be the breakfast
was made to order and the staff answered any questions i had right there.
Plan on coming back here for many anniversarys.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navyman2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

This is a lovely Inn hidden off Rte 42 in a still economically depressed area of the Catskills. Origonally built as a recouperative facitilty for ailing Dominican Nuns in a woodsy setting, it feels peaceful, relaxing and uncrowded even when booked to full capacity. Many guests brought their dogs which were for the most part, well behaved. My wife and I love dogs and had no problems with the occasional caynine outbursts. Breakfast was an opportunity to schmooz with other guests and the custom made omlets, breads and fruits were delightful. The innkeepers were wonderfully helpful and informative and our room (Chestnut) was clean, rustic and charming. We took advantage of the short hike down to the serene lake and rowed a boat for a while. Then we took the walking path through the woods for about a mile before relaxing at the quaint pool for a read. My wife and I enjoyed our stay here and will probably return again when we have a reason to be in this area again. We found no really fine dining in the immediate area but if you're OK with average to medeocre, there are some choices.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ditdoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My fiance and I booked the Eagle's Nest, hoping for a nice weekend escape in the Catskills. When we arrived, we realized the Inn is not in the mountains at all, but nestled in the impoverished ghost town of Monticello. The owner of the Inn was very rude to us upon our arrival and we were turned off by the fact that "lunch," which is included in the price, consists of cold cuts kept in old tupperware bins in the communal kitchen. The breakfast, which was prepared, was also a let down. I had poached eggs that tasted like a dirty frying pan. This place seems to attract middle-aged couples feeling nostalgic for the Catskills of their youth, and may be a good place for a group to rent a cabin for the weekend. I do not recommend this place for young couples or anyone looking to get a nice vacation for their money. The Inn at Lake Joseph is shockingly overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank darby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

The Inn is truly magnificent from the excellent accommodations and period furnishing to the wonderful and friendly staff. Everything was exactly as described on the website if not more so. Stepping into the 135 year old Inn itself was like stepping back in time.

This is Paradise among the Catskills. A great place
just to lounge and unwind or use as a "home base" for the many nearby things to do and see in the area.

While it was our first time it will not be our last. In
fact, we're already booking our return. Thank you Ivan & Ru Weinger, the owners, and Debbie along with everyone else
that made our "weekend get-away" a memorable experience. Don't change a thing!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank glong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

What a fantastic Inn, when you first come up the driveway the beauty of the main house takes your breath away! We had a wonderfully relaxing time. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, we would like to make it a annual trip!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 612gemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Just returned from a wonderful and quiet weekend..We chose the Inn based upon Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The grounds are extensive and well cared for, our room was well appointed and tranquil. We were welcomed graciously and everything we needed was quickly and efficiently obtained.
It's the beauty of the natural setting, the ability to relax and feel removed from New York City that makes this place so special.

Lots of great rooms to choose from-and you can bring your dog..Just wish they served an evening meal-It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tituspaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestburgh
6.8 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
5.1 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
305 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
446 reviews
12.2 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
51 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lake Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lake Joseph

Address: 162 St Josephs Rd, Forestburgh, NY 12777-6230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Forestburgh
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forestburgh
Price Range: £195 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Lake Joseph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, with working fireplaces, whirlpool baths and private sundecks, is located in Upstate New York on a 250-acre private lake. Like resort lodging, Inn at Lake Joseph provides a variety of summer and winter recreational facilities, including access to a health and fitness spa. But unlike larger hotels, with just 18 guestrooms, a luxurious, yet informal, casual country retreat that assures guests a relaxing, private, rustic mountain lake environment awaits. Very much like the Berkshires, White Mountains, Adirondacks and Poconos, the Catskills surrounding the Inn offer spectacular scenes of lakes and rivers, as well as hiking trails with views of majestic peaks and isolated waterfalls. However, unlike these other regions, The Inn is no more than 2 hours from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Lake Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lake Joseph Hotel Forestburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing