We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST Places I've Stayed that is Dog Friendly!!!!!”
Review of Inn at Lake Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Lake Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Forestburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you like rustic atmosphere, and want the charm of the great outdoors, with all of the comfort and ammenities of a B&B or Lodge -AND you have a dog, than you will absolutely love the Inn at Lake Joseph. We wanted for absolutely nothing - food was fabulous, and they had options available throughout the day. Packed a picnic lunch and took the row-boat out in the lake for a romantic afternoon. Hiked with the dog and he loved it - I have the best pictures at sunrise at the shore by the boat docks. So beautiful as the fog lifted off the lake and the sun hit the fall colors in the trees.
Breakfast - well - the selections were more than I've ever had at this type of establishment - and ingredients were very fresh and of great quality. We stayed in one of the rooms not in the main house - with a private deck, kitchen, soaking tub and a fireplace! We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the cottage rooms - The Hemlock - was perfect - couldn't have picked a better r...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Lake Joseph
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

My dog Lulu needed a vacation! She sees me traveling around the world every month and finally put her paw down and barked the order: Find me a great place that likes dogs!

So, I went into action and my wife and I found the Inn At Lake Joseph to visit last weekend. We picked the Willow unit and packed the car for the 3 hour drive to Lulu's big adventure.

A couple of things to know... When you ask your partner to CHECK THE WEATHER, make sure that they are not checking your local weather (our Long island weather was in the 60's), however Forestburgh NY was another story! Very cold, windy and not lake or pool weather. So that said, we were glad we took warmer clothing.

What a great place. I had not been to this area in the past and was a bit skeptical as driving into Monticello was sketchy. The area looked a bit downtrodden and depressing. However, further down the road was the secluded and lovely Inn. Everything from the check in onwards was great. Nice people, a beautiful old Inn and nice grounds.

We stayed in the Willow room which was well appointed and comfortable. The gas fireplace was a nice touch, full kitchen and comfortable furnishings. The potential for this Inn during warmer weather is exciting and we are 100% planning to return!

Lulu enjoyed her stay and we are all looking forward to returning when the weather warms up. I highly recommend this place as a nice place to chill out and enjoy nature.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVENSNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed over valentine's weekend at this place, and we can't say enough good things about it. First of all, the town have had over 3' of snow which made our trip even more memorable ( I love love love snow). The main house where we stayed at is located across the street from the lake Joseph( hence the name), they serve and amazing breakfast at the dining area where they had a bird feeder on which we saw blue jays, cardinals, woodpeckers and other birds everyday during breakfast. Throughout the day we enjoyed snowshoeing thru the trails around the premises( which was amazing!!)and we saw other couples who were also staying at the Inn doing cross- country skiing with equipment provided by the Inn at no extra cost. The room was spotless, with a jacuzzi tub in front of the window overlooking the snowy area. We like the fact that this place is focused towards adult guests, so it is quieter. Throughout the day we were able to munch on prepared salads and sandwiches made in house for guests, although they are located within close distance of different restaurants. Overall a great experience. Michelle was very accommodating to any and every request we had, and everyone there made our stay a truly memorable one. Definitely would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to unwind that is close enough to nyc. We will be back in the summer with our dog- it is pet friendly-

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipasaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We wanted a quiet place to read by the fire (each room has an in-room fireplace) and relax. Inn at Lake Joseph fit the bill perfectly. We went in the dead of winter, so it was incredibly quiet both at the inn and in the surrounding towns. This was nice, as it was what we were looking for, but keep that in mind if you're looking for a lot of activities--many things shut down between January and April. The inn is secluded and peaceful, and they have cross-country skis and snowshoes you can use if you're interested in those kind of activities. Breakfast comes with the room, and was made-to-order: omelettes, pancakes, etc. Very good. There's a "help-yourself" lunch with sandwich ingredients and salads. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate is available in the kitchen at all hours. There's a small group of people working there and they're very hospitable and friendly.

It was so quick and easy to get to from NYC, and I'm definitely planning to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skittles10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My boyfriend got us a room through Travel Zoo and we spent one night at the Inn. Our stay was lovely. Michelle and the rest of the staff are terrific and we had a relaxing and peaceful two days.

We stayed in the Mallard Room and had a beautiful and spacious room with a fire place and great bathroom. The first floor was cool to explore and we enjoyed the library, the billiard room and the game room. After finding a near-by Italian restaurant with good food, great service and great prices, we came back to the Inn, borrowed Scrabble and retired to our room with a bottle of wine.

The made-to-order breakfast was great and we loved the help-yourself lunch. It's not something I'd pay extra for, but it was included in the room price and it was fun making our own sammies and grabbing some prepared salads and hanging out in the glassed-in veranda.

We were there in the winter so we weren't able to take full advantage of the beautiful grounds, though we took a lovely walk to the Lake and hung out on the lounge chairs discussing our good fortune. We hope to get back during warmer weather to take advantage of all of the outdoor activities they have to offer. This is definitely a great place for a romantic get-away!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mallard Room in The Lodge (main building). It was spacious, quiet and clean with a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wife and I spent a snowy wintry weekend with our dog. Idyllic, quite, remote spot; warm, comfy rooms, toasty fireplace, fun whirlpool tub, friendly, welcoming staff, delicious, hearty breakfast. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband, dog & I had a great weekend at the Inn at Lake Joseph. We came in the middle of winter, so we could not partake in a lot of the activities, but we were able to enjoy the quietness of the property in its entirety. The inn is absolutely adorable and our room, Laurel, was perfect. We had a full kitchen, gas fireplace and very private terrace with lounge chairs & a BBQ. We cooked dinner both nights we were there! Breakfast is served in the main house and great. Lunch is available on your own and the fridge is stocked with deli meats, bread & salads... as well as some desserts & beverages. I would suggest bringing some additional food & beverages for lunch, snacks and dinner as well. We got a couple massage in our room at the recommendation of the Inn which was really nice. The Inn staff was extremely friendly and hospital. Our dog had the best time running off leash in the woods which is something she does not get to do often in the city. She got a little nervous when left alone in a strange place and was barking a little... something to consider since the walls can be thin. My one complaint was that the room was very expensive... particularly for winter when there is very little to do onsite. I would like to come back in the spring/summer, but can't even imagine what the price will be then! Overall, great time and property.

Room Tip: The laurel room is located in the cottage which houses only 2 other rooms. Definitely recommended!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpc1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forestburgh
6.8 mi away
Ramada Rock Hill at Sullivan Center
5.1 mi away
Best Western Monticello
Best Western Monticello
#1 of 3 in Monticello
301 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Catskill Mountains Resort
Catskill Mountains Resort
#2 of 5 in Barryville
50 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
8.1 mi away
The Cottage in the Pines
The Cottage in the Pines
#1 of 2 in Sparrow Bush
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lake Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lake Joseph

Address: 162 St Josephs Rd, Forestburgh, NY 12777-6230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Forestburgh
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forestburgh
Price Range: £191 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Lake Joseph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, with working fireplaces, whirlpool baths and private sundecks, is located in Upstate New York on a 250-acre private lake. Like resort lodging, Inn at Lake Joseph provides a variety of summer and winter recreational facilities, including access to a health and fitness spa. But unlike larger hotels, with just 18 guestrooms, a luxurious, yet informal, casual country retreat that assures guests a relaxing, private, rustic mountain lake environment awaits. Very much like the Berkshires, White Mountains, Adirondacks and Poconos, the Catskills surrounding the Inn offer spectacular scenes of lakes and rivers, as well as hiking trails with views of majestic peaks and isolated waterfalls. However, unlike these other regions, The Inn is no more than 2 hours from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Lake Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lake Joseph Hotel Forestburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing