We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel itself is fine. Average value for the money but clean with a well appointed room. The bathroom was so-so with a very low ceiling. When I stepped into the bathtub I could have easily touched the ceiling and I am of average height. To turn on the shower you had to turn a knob located on the bottom of the faucet. My room had no instructions about this (though I understand other rooms did) and it took me a few minutes to figure it out. My problem with the hotel was the staff at the front desk with the exception of a gentleman named Donny. I have never encountered such an apathetic crew. For example, at check-in I was not told about how to access the wi-fi. When I realized there were no instructions in the room or on my check-in folder, I went downstairs to speak to the desk clerk who never bothered to tell me that she had written the access # for the wi-fi on my check-in folder. I went back upstairs and there was indeed a number on the folder (with no indication of what the # was for). When I entered the number on the log-in page, I got a notification that the number was invalid. That evening, I was perusing the brochures for local attractions and one caught my attention. I asked the desk clerk on duty how far the attraction was and got an "I don't know." from her. I have traveled extensively and most desk-clerks are familiar with local attractions and if they aren't, they make an effort to obtain the info by either asking another employee or using their computer. This was the first time I have ever received an "I don't know" as a response to a reasonable query. Breakfast in the morning was a typical deluxe continental breakfast and was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear JLW05,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay. It is nice that our breakfast options were sufficient enough for your needs. However, kindly accept my sincerest apologies if the level of service you received from our hotel staff was a disappointment. We've taken note of the points you have raised and this shall be addressed with them to ensure similar incidents are avoided in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    62
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
36
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel as we were dropping our son off at West Point. Well run Holiday Inn Express with a nice breakfast. The topper though was the indoor pool and sauna. After a couple of days of driving, with a couple more to get back home, it hit the spot and helped my wife and I relax. Check-in was easy and checkout was even easier. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrocket69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came back to Highland Falls from CA for my 50th high school reunion. I enjoyed staying at this hotel because I'm originally from Fort Montgomery. It's the best hotel in the area, for a reasonable price. The staff is wonderful and attentive. The rooms are very accommodating. Convenient breakfast, just enough to get you started. Take it from a native!

Room Tip: Hudson Valley River trains make some whistle noise which can't be avoided. Light sleepers might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Having been coming up here for years, this is probably the best hotel you are going to get in this area. Rooms are nice has a fridge, microwave, coffee and cable. Breakfast was typical for this chain, premade omelet, bacon, pastries, fruit, yoghurt. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VATravel36
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a decent hotel in the West Point area. The staff is very attentive and courteous and the rooms are pretty spacious and comfortable. I was a little disappointed with the old fashioned window air conditioner. Most hotels have upgraded to at least have digital controls on the wall instead of having to guess with the dials on the unit itself. Internet was pretty good. The free breakfast is nice, but after a couple of days, you do get tired of instant eggs and pre-cooked bacon, but hey....it's free!!
Overall it is a nice place and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel when attending a wedding at West Point. The hotel itself was very nice and clean, the rooms and bed were very comfortable and the staff members we dealt with were all very pleasant and helpful. There is a pool on site and the breakfast was pretty basic. We selected this property because of its proximity to the wedding venue, however....there is really nothing else in town to do. I think it is a perfect place to stay if you have a reason to go to the academy for an event.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0c026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here when dropping our son off at USMA. From start to finish...a great stay! Staff was extremely courteous and responsive. Rooms were modern and clean (great TV selections, comfy beds, dark at night). Close proximity to West Point made for a quick travel time. Breakfast in the morning was fairly extensive for a complimentary (only recommendation is getting more seating area). Many healthy choices along with solid bacon and eggs.

We will definitely be back many times in the coming years!

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Montgomery
2.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
7.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Address: 1106 Route 9 West, Fort Montgomery, NY 10922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Fort Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point-Fort Montgomery is located on the scenic Hudson River less than 5 minutes from West Point - the premier USMA, the Historic Ft. Montgomery Battlefield Site, Bear Mountain State Park & Constitution Island. Holiday Inn Express welcomes you to Fort Montgomery. Visit West Point, NY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following West Point events: West Point Graduation, Reception Day, Acceptance Day, Army Football Games. Your comfort is important to us. This Holiday Inn Express hotel is 'Your Home Away From Home' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Point
Holiday Inn Fort Montgomery
Fort Montgomery Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing